We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edible”
Review of gulshan tandoori

gulshan tandoori
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Aberdare
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Edible”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Quite an average Indian restaurant. Only went there due to the lack of alternative, but definitely won't be back. Overcooked tasteless chicken and the standard choice of dishes, no good vegetarian options either. The place is empty at dinner-time, but we were told by the locals that it gets busy at night when the pubs close. Well, maybe that's the right time (and the right state!) to visit this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet night at the Gulshan”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Did not make a booking for Saturday night as we intended to eat early 7pm.
Walked in at 7.10pm to find the place deserted! We were the only diners.

We were warmly welcomed & shown to our table.

The food we ordered was ok, nothing spectacular, but quite edible (although my portion of curry was quite small).

All in all acceptable meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgethemidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Saturday Evening”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

When we visit my children in Aberdare we make a point of visiting the Gulshan. They are always very friendly & the food is good. One day the Grandchildren, aged 1 & 2 will grow up & hopefully make slightly less mess! Good night

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“GOOD AUTHENTIC FOOD”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first time going to this restaurant enjoyed the food very much, staff were very friendly if we are ever in Abadare again will certainly go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Honest Indian food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Look beyond the bars on the windows and the faded interior, this is a gem of a restaurant. Not first choice for a romantic dinner perhaps, but the food is always good and the staff friendly. When I'm in Aberdare I often work late, so this place is ideal as it's open until midnight during the week, even if you're the only person left!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed gulshan tandoori also viewed

Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
 
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 

Been to gulshan tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing