We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Indian restaurant in Norfolk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the Downham Tandoori

the Downham Tandoori
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Probably the best indian restaurant in the west norfolk, family run restaurant since 1996. FULLY LICENSED BAR, FULLY AIR CONDITIONED
Welney, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant in Norfolk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is the only Indian restaurant I would ever use as it's the best by far and the staff are all really friendly and helpful the food is amazing and all at a very good price

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    43
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

On 4th March myself and 10 friends visited the Downham tandoori for some it was the first time for me l just love the place.
By the end of the night the ladies had enjoyed a wonderful meal great service. As always this restaurant gives 100%
Thank you

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank georgia525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

we have been going to this restaurant for about 4 years now, never had any reason for complaint always good food and polite service be it take away or site down.love the bombay potato madras hot,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent service and great food. The service is excellent from the minute you walk in the door. Although it was fairly quiet when we went the atmosphere was very good. The food is great and very reasonably priced. I would have liked my curry a little bit spicier than was served but I'm sure if I'd have asked for it hotter they would have sorted it for me, it was just my personal preference. The naan bread is the best I've ever had. A great place for a get together with friends and family or a date night. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kazzerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Whenever we are home from Australia a visit to the Downham Tandoori is a must! Fantastic food and service,very friendly and the staff never forget us no matter how long it is between visits!
Finding an Indian restaurant that compares "down under" has been a major challenge!!! - one that we haven't managed yet, which makes coming home all the more special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lardars3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Downham Tandoori also viewed

Downham Market, Norfolk
 
Downham Market, Norfolk
Downham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to the Downham Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing