We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely food”

the Downham Tandoori
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Probably the best indian restaurant in the west norfolk, family run restaurant since 1996. FULLY LICENSED BAR, FULLY AIR CONDITIONED
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely food”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My friends live near here so I thought I would check it out with them good food and wine a bit pricey but I guess the service made up for it never the less good place to eat

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomjonesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    45
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Norfolk”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This curry house is constantly superb in all aspects. Great food, great service and always a friendly welcome. We are regular customers since discovering this little gem we do not visit other Indian restaurants as they would not compare. If we want a curry no matter where we are we wait to come home to the Downham Tandoori. highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant is great the staff, the food and the prices it is recommended to book though as they are busy most days my mum lives in the village and we go every time I visit and would recommend to anyone :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fabulous food, friendly staff, we never go anywhere else. Would recommend to anyone. You can either have a sit down meal or take away, both great. Staff always happy, food always tastes fab.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss any opportunity to eat here - amazing.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Have been regulars for many years visiting either as a couple of our family of 6. Returned last night after quite a break only to find things even better than before! Menu choice is extensive and reasonably priced and staff willing and able to advise on choices to suit our tastes. Food was fresh and delicious - the best you can get anywhere! Staff as usual charming and attentive but unobtrusive. Lovely. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TrevorandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Downham Tandoori also viewed

Downham Market, Norfolk
 
Downham Market, Norfolk
Downham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to the Downham Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing