We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Downham Market
Certificate of Excellence
Soham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we stayed at the castle hotel by accident as the andel lodge had let us down by giving the room we had booked to someone else , and we couldn,t fault anything with the castle hotel , the breakfast was really good everything was really fresh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deananddebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
43
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is a coaching inn and the walls are decorated with photographs and memorabilia relating to the history of the area. We stayed for 2 nights using the hotel as a base from which we could visit family and friends and visit West Norfolk attractions. We had a family meal on the first evening. The food was well cooked with the starter and desert menus being particularly good. The bedroom was large and well appointed furnished in keeping with the age of the building. The service was excellent and atmosphere very good. This was the first time we stayed but we will return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

just would like to start bye saying a very big thank you to all staff at castle hotel

we went there for a weekend break and could not fault anything cannot see how anybody could fault this place .local people in bar where nice to and made us very welcome what a great place to take your partner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

With 11 other guests I chose the Castle for my 50th birthday meal and was hugely impressed by the quality of the food at exceptionally reasonable prices. This is a real culinary gem that has been overlooked by people of the town I think... Lovely cosy bar too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Visited the castle because we like fishing in the area. The hotel is ideally situated for this. It so nice to stay in a hotel which is not part of a plastic chain. The food was great and the staff were so friendly. I would recommend it to anyone. It nice to see all the old photos in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitten18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Castle for a long weekend and were overwhelmed by the Décor of the place and the warm welcoming, friendly staff. The food was exceptional offering many alternatives for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located in the heart of a quint town and 30mins from the coast we had plenty to do. We have already booked another weekend back at the Castle as it didn’t disappoint and would highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The whole place was grimy and in need of redecoration - the sink was cracked and chipped, stale water which is what you were supposed to use for tea/coffee YUCK not drinkable - en suite was too small to use - damp patches on the ceiling such a shame staff were friendly and helpful but grossly overpriced for such a tatty place - we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hugh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downham Market
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,043 reviews
10.6 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
63 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
160 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: High Street, Downham Market PE38 9HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Downham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Downham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Downham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing