We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable place to stay.”
Review of Dial House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downham Market
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dial House
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable place to stay.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights while we were moving into a new house in Downham Market. The room was first rate, far superior to a so-called first class room we had in a hotel in Amsterdam. The en-suite was very stylish and the power shower lived up to its name. The breakfast set us up for the rest of the day and it proved a safe haven to which we could return after the stresses of a day two spent dealing with solicitors etc. You could not have wished for more charming hosts and I would recommend Dial House to anyone.

Room Tip: Early booking advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The quality of the rooms and breakfast is excellent and I support all other reviews in this regard. Beware that you are not provided with a key. This was no problem on the first night but on Saturday morning we had a walk around the town before heading off for the day, despite talking to the landlord about this before we left, we were locked out, I hadn't taken my car keys, fortunately my wife had.
Tea and coffee were in the room but when we asked for more on day two we were told this was not usual practice!
Some road noise from quite early morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logistical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This B&B would put many 5 star hotels to shame with the warm welcome, delicious breakfast - including the incredible 20+ fresh fruit mix - and room facilities which leave guests wanting for nothing. This was our second 3 night stay as we regularly visit the area and we are pleased to have found such an excellent place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellamax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've got to admit I don't normally stay in B&Bs but my friend arranged this for me. Well I will really have to rethink that in future as this was truley Excellent.

Beautiful room with lots of well thought out little extras. Shower is one of best I have ever used.

Breakfast was amazing- I wish I could of eaten it all. Starting with a 16!!! fruit salad, then an excellent fully cooked breakfast.

Wonderful friendly hosts- I look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a grade 2 listed building and as such you would would find it hard to find a straight wall, floor or door frame, even wooden shutters on the windows, this all adds to the charm of this B&B. In our room all the funiture is quality and modern with double bed and double reclining sofa. Our room had a power shower and modern sanitaryware. Paintwork and cleanleness was emaculate.There was a survival kit of so many essentuals that you might forget to take with you on holiday and then go and buy, ie first aid kit, tooth brushes, shoe cleaning, sewing kit, manicure kit, torch, toiletries and lots more..There is a wide choice for breakfast. off road parking and a short walk to shops and supermarket. If there is a down side we did not find it, well recomended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

we stayed at the dial house in november this was our 1st experience of b&b and it was well worth it the breakfast was enormous,the room was large and everything was very homely and bob and jackie were extremely friendly and helpful.we expect to go back to downham market again and if we can we will certainly try and get booked in there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent five days at Dial house and could not have been looked after better. The breakfasts were outstanding and the rooms extremely comfortable. It was lovely to have the fruit at breakfast (some home grown)and also the locally sourced produce. The little courtyard garden is a delight. We would love to stay there again, as we felt so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downham Market
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Swan Inn
#6 of 6 in Downham Market
3 reviews
4.9 mi away
Timbers Country Lodge
Timbers Country Lodge
#2 of 2 in Fincham
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House

Property: Dial House
Address: 12 Railway Road, Downham Market PE38 9EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Downham Market
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Downham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Dial House Downham Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing