We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible sunsets in Patagonia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estancia Cerro Guido
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“incredible sunsets in Patagonia”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay at Cerro Guido during our winter holidays. What a splendid scenery ! The staff was very helpfull and really cared. The estancia is still working and we had the pleasure to visit the sheep shearing shed just before the work started. We recommend to take a horse tour, even if you never tried it before (but not a full day for inexperienced bottoms) ! This is a great way to see the plaines and connect with the environment. Our guide picked a small emuchick and the kids were absolutely smitten about it. There is a good winelist too ! Thumbs up for this estancia !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanou020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

By a great stroke of luck, my husband and I found ourselves heading to Patagonia to celebrate our 10th anniversary.

We knew we wanted to spend several days exploring Torres del Paine, so I did extensive research on where to stay in or near the park. While my husband and I enjoy the outdoors, we're not very camping-savvy. We prefer to head indoors after day-long hikes. The reviews of the hotels in the park seem to be mediocre (at best), except for the luxury hotels that are out of our budget.

We're convinced that Cerro Guidio was the perfect lodging for us. The estancia offered amazing views of the vast landscape and the towers (Torres del Paine). We greatly benefited from the advice of the staff. We found the grounds to be interesting and peaceful. The chef, Francisco, prepared wonderful meals for us, including box lunches for our hikes, using ingredients from the garden that was adjacent to our room. The wine produced by the owners of the estancia is very good (EQ and Coralillo). The interior spaces were well-appointed...wonderful palettes and textures that complimented the views.

The lodge offered minimal Wi-fi which was exactly what we needed. We were able to call home (check on our young kids) by going to the office building.

Cerro Guido is out "in the middle of nowhere", which is exactly where we needed to be for a few days. The park is about 45 minutes away. We rented an SUV in Punta Arenas and drove into the park 3 days. Note that the closest gas station is in Puertes Natales (2 hours away), so plan accordingly.

In summary, this was one of the most magical, remote, and peaceful places we've ever been. We feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay on this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have to say that Cerro Guido feels like the furthest away place you can be, and one of the most beautiful I've been.
They picked us from the airport in Punta Arenas, and then there was a long 5 hour drive to the Estancia. Despite the distance, we immediately felt very welcomed, the staff was ver helpful, had a child seat in the car specially for our 2 yr old son, and even had a packed light lunch for us.
The estancia itself is quite impressive, with magnificent views of Paine Grande, almirante Nieto and Torres. We took the premium program, so we enjoyed all the program activities (trekking, picnic, glaciers, etc) having always with us our private driver and guide. They were very friendly, always very open to stop anywere for a photo or to watch a guanaco, chulengo (baby guanaco), condor (we saw many!), etc, and I have to say that they were also particularly good with our child, even singing with him.
Although the place is not specifically child friendly (in the sense that there are not activities specially designed for them) I would call it child flexible, specially because of the staff being open to any requests, heating his food, or preparing something for him. We had no problem with our boy runing around, and we could modify any of the activities to our needs.
The food is very good, fresh and tasty, with a 5 course meal every night, which might be a little to much for some, but for us was perfect. the views from the restaurant are impressive!
A very good wine variety is also available (and included) - the owner of the estancia its also a winemaker, and owns a winery in central chile.
On our last day, we even enjoyed a drive across the pampa, towards sierra baguales. an amazing adventure in (yet again) the middle of nowhere.
It is worth saying that the estancia its outside the torres del paine park, about 1 hr drive, but it is absolutely worth (and I think the weather is a little bit better). In 10 years, you might not be able to stay in a real and working estancia, while there might be even more hotels within the park.
A special mention to Clo, the pet sheep!

Room Tip: The rooms are all spacious and cosy, and as far as I saw, non of them have a view to the park (the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernardit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wow! what a place! Views for miles across the plains and over to Torres del paine. You can drive 60km around here without seeing another vehicle. Its a working farm of 100,000 hectares and (I think) about 50,000 sheep. When we were there the sheep shearing was underway and we got to watch the incredible skill and physicality of the shearing. We also went out on horseback with the gaucho and his son - they are happy to take complete novices for a 2 hour trek and we certainly felt very comfortable and well looked after. Half day and full day treks are available for experienced riders. Later we experienced an 'asado' - a huge open-fire barbecue where whole sides of lamb are cooked on spits by the gaucho.
The rooms are a good size with king size beds. Unfortunately we had to change rooms on arrival as the toilet was blocked in ours, but this was resolved immediately.
The food is of a high quality with some limited choice of main courses and otherwise a set menu. One thing I didn't particularly like was the lack of flexibility - after several days of eating big meals I really didn't want a 4 course meal but it seemed to be take it or leave it. At least for lunch they accepted my request for a salad, though they did bring soup as well! All the staff were exceptionally friendly and quite a few spoke fluent English which made things easier. Would have stayed here longer if we could....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I have traveled a lot and stayed in many different hotels around the world, but nothing compares to our stay at Cerro Guido.

Located on a working ranch, Cerro Guido has numerous sheep, horses and cattle on its many acres and boasts amazing views of the Patagonian steppe and Torres del Paine. It is outside of Torres del Paine by about 45 minutes (which was an easy drive for us--we did it 3 out of the 4 days we stayed there), so it seems to have better weather than the hotels within the park. We stayed in the Guest House and enjoyed nice big rooms, hardwood floors, a large en suite bathroom with a nice big tub, and a wood-burning fireplace (which we used most nights). The Guest House has a beautiful sitting area and dining room, keeping the style of the original home. The Administration Building has WiFi in the lobby.

The Kaw Restaurant was one of our favorite aspects of this hotel. The views of Torres del Paine are just amazing, and the food was among the best we've ever had (many different courses, fresh meats, fresh produce grown on-site). The wait staff was just wonderful. After hiking in the park, we always looked forward to another delicious meal at Kaw Restaurant.

The staff is helpful and friendly. We did 2 hours of horseback riding through the property, which was one of the highlights of our trip. We also were very fond of the pet sheep that was snacking on the grass out front of the Administration Building.

I can't speak more highly of Cerro Guido and the experience we had there. A lot of the hotels within Torres del Paine cost a lot of money for just mediocre service and small, rundown rooms. Just a short drive away is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The experience of staying on a working estancia is unparalleled and we were very sad to leave. We would gladly return.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have fireplaces--request one of those rooms and definitely use the fireplace if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandgirl3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We absolutely loved Estancia Cerro Guido! The hotel has 15 rooms (5 rooms in the smaller building and 10 in the larger building), in historical buildings that have tons of character and all the comforts you'd expect and require during your stay. We arrived on a rainy day and enjoyed the fireplace in our room and big bathtub in the late afternoon, after some soggy hiking in the park.

The food was exquisite - a dinner with a set menu (three options to choose from for the main dish) that was delicious and included guanaco ravioli, roasted patagonian lamb or congrio. The breakfast was a buffet with waffles, toast / breads and cereals, which suited us just fine.

We also did the tour of the Estancia (which was part of the package at Estancia Cerro Guido), which was incredibly interesting. We especially loved the tour of the sheering building, which still uses 100 year old technology.

After having lived in Chile for over 2 years and toured the country extensively, you really recognize quality when you see it - this is definitely an awesome place to stay to get a different view of Patagonia and Estancia life, and the highlight of our trip to Patagonia. It is worth going a little bit out of your way to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeylandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was the highlight accommodation in Patagonia. I was on a week-long horseback riding trip -- tough country and sometimes windy or rainy days -- and the fireplace in the room was most welcome for sore muscles and tired people. The grounds were extensive -- it's much larger than a B&B but had the same kind of feel to it, with very comfortable and soft beds and beautiful rooms. The views from the ranch were incredible. The food was tasy. We were also given a tour of the ranch, including its giant sheep sheering facility. It was a fun place to be and I am sorry we were there for only one night. I'd highly recommend this as your base for exploration. It is on the more expensive end -- but you get what you pay for -- and if you've come all this way, you may as well splurge!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
30.5 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
810 reviews
18.4 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,156 reviews
31.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
453 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
30.4 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Cerro Guido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cerro Guido

Property: Estancia Cerro Guido
Address: Route 9, Km 360 | Torres Del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Cerro Guido 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estancia Cerro Guido (Hotel Cerro Guido) - Torres del Paine - Chile Located on the edge of Torres del Paine National Park, Estancia Cerro Guido has a wonderful view of the National Park, the Paine Massif and the mythical Sierra Baguales, invites you to come and visit these imposing landscapes and, through the culture and traditions, experience the way of life in Chilean Patagonia. Accomodation, Lamb Barbecue, Horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Estancia Cerro Guido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia (Lodge) Cerro Guido Hotel Torres Del Paine
Estancia Cerro Guido Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing