We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
546
104
31
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
546
104
31
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suite dome standard dome eco camp wildlife safari superior domes composting toilets w trek private bathroom punta arenas pisco sours wood stove chilli yoga classes puerto natales before dinner flora and fauna sandwiches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 707 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner on a Wildlife Safari package. Absolutely LOVED it and would go again. The structure of the camp was such that we got to know people we went on treks with and have made some lovely friends that we hope to stay in touch with.

This place is about human connection and a shared loved of the environment.
Everything in the camp has been done with care and intention. So much so, that if you appreciate art, you may particularly love the layout of this place. It is all a work of art and earthy design.

Note: This is not a regular hotel. It is, indeed, a camp, designed to help you be present and connect with people and nature. If you want 4-5-star comfort, WiFi and don’t really want to talk to people, then this is probably not for you.

Having said that, I thought the standard dome was very cosy, beds comfy and the showers in the bathroom block were hot & fully adjustable (in fact, better than many hotels I’ve been in). The domes hold their heat until late at night, so it was fine without heating. There are beautiful hand-knitted blankets you can use as an extra layer.

It is expensive but there’s a LOT of people working very hard to make each day fun, adventurous and memorable.

Guides take you out, providing information about wildlife, history and the environment. One of our guides carried flasks of tea for our lunch on our walk. They love what they do and don’t just treat you like a tiresome tourist. They keep an eye out for pumas (!) and make sure everyone is ok. They will help in any way they can and accommodate people’s needs to help people enjoy their day out.

Drivers provide transfers to and from Punta Arenas and patiently drive people around for many, many hours, stopping for wildlife.

Camp staff make REALLY delicious meals, provide snacks and (DIY) packed lunches for hikes, provide yoga classes, run the bar, clean the accommodation, maintain the place and run reception. It’s a big operation, with people arriving/leaving and going off on hikes every day.

Meals are done in a few sittings so that the food is super fresh and hot and you can discuss your day with the people you shared it with. A variety of wines are provided with meals. Each day before dinner, you meet your guide in the bar to discuss the next day’s activity options, accompanied by a lovely snack plate and a drink (pisco sours are good!). After dinner there may be music or you can sit in the library and read or socialise.

Being not-so-fit and also well over the age of 29 (!), I did the ‘easy’ hikes and tours each day and just loved the experiences. The park is just *breath-takingly*
beautiful. I would happily have stayed longer and was very sad to leave. The camp’s accolades are well-deserved.

This is a really special place and a unique, memorable way to experience Patagonia.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kaarpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Hola,

Thanks for such an amazing, complete feedback. It could not describe the experience we want every traveler to have better! We hope to welcome you again in Patagonia soon.

Best,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2019 via mobile

My partner and I stayed 4 nights at the Ecocamp in December. We absolutely loved it. The domes were very sweet and beds extremely comfortable. The lovely hot showers in the shared bathroom were fantastic at the end of the day's activities. The guides were fantastic, very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Roberto was our favourite. The bus drivers were also great. And the food was delicious. I loved having breakfast with our group and guide in the morning and dinner with them that evening. It meant we got to meet lots of people in a way we may not have otherwise, and great to debrief about the day with those we had shared it with. We were initially drawn to Ecocamp because if it's commitment to minimal environmental impact and saw evidence of this all around. Thanks for an amazing stay. We were very sad to leave the camp and the park.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 986susanr986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Hola,

Thanks for your feedback! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and could connect with fellow travelers in our Community Domes - Definitely a key aspect of the experience at EcoCamp! We also passed on your comments about the guides to our team of guides (including Roberto). As for the sustainability, we are proud to be a a model of minimum footprint in a fragile place like Torres del Paine. We hope to have you again at EcoCamp!

Best,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

I don't think I can overstate how special Ecocamp is. We did the 7-day W Trek and had one of those handful of life experiences that truly stands out. We arranged our trip through Cascada Expediciones and from moment one it was well organized and well executed. Ecocamp is just so cool! The domes are very comfortable and our nights in a Superior Dome stand out as perhaps our most unique accommodation ever. Wood burning stove while listening to the rain fall. Super comfortable. Dinners were gourmet with a great wine selection. Drinks in the Community Dome and nature photography viewing. Our trek was fantastic. Our guide Jossi was excellent and took special care to ensure our success.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCHIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Hola,

Thanks for your (positive) comments. We are delighted to read you had such a unique experience both with Cascada Expediciones and EcoCamp! We believe the remoteness of our location means the quality of the human experience, the comfort and the operations must be even better. We hope to welcome you again in Chile!

Best,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2019

Stayed here for the W trek, organized through Adventure Life. Overall, the facility was top notch as well as the food and the guides. The price may be high compared to other trips - however, you won't be disappointed with the accommodations.

I had the standard dome; my companion had the upgraded suite.

First, my dome. It had enough space (was by myself but easily could fit 2) - sufficient to use to sleep. Bathroom and showers were a short walk away. Only issue was the door did not seal properly - used a towel to minimize the opening between the door and the frame. My companion's suite was extremely nice - with its built in bathroom and shower, and large walkable space, I was envious. Highly recommend if you are a high maintenance traveler.

With any guided trekking options, what makes or breaks a trip is the attention and enthusiasm given by the guides. Our guides - Rodrigo and Claudio - were exceptional and we were extremely glad to have had them during the trip. They were entertaining, explained everything, helped all of us out with little things here and there. If you happen to get them - I guarantee your trip will be memorable and excellent.

Note - I have done other treks (Mt. Kilimanjaro, Everest Base Camp, Machu Picchu) - each has its own flavor and characteristics and level of comfort. The W Trek through EcoCamp is on par with other great experiences I've had with other trips.

Room tip: Suites are larger and have its own bathroom and shower
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ydrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019

Hola,

Thanks for your positive comments - We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic trek and stay with us. We have been working hard these past few years to offer the most memorable experience both on the trails and inside the domes, and all hikers know food is sacred! As for the dome, we are pleased to know you enjoyed the Standard Dome and passed on your comments about the sealing of the door to our maintenance team. Both our Welcome Dome and maintenance team are always available at EcoCamp to immediately solve these small issues. We hope to have you again soon!

Best,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

It has been over two weeks, and I’m still reliving the amazing experience of our 7-day Wtrek at Ecocamp Patagonia, organised by Cascada Travels.

Ecocamp itself is a great experience, such an ideal place to round up our trekking adventure, in the most satisfying way. What a great way to chill out with trekking mates and guides at the end of a gruelling 10 hrs hike, with welcome glass of pisco sour each night, followed by creatively designed 3 course dinner cuisine. I stayed in the superior dome, which offered great ambience, comfortable heating, streaming hot water and most comfortable beddings. All the staff from dining to front desk to maintenance were super friendly, and went out of their way to ensure our needs were met.

But I have to give tons of credit to our two superb guides Felipe Sunkel and Pablo Mas, for realising and enriching our amazing trekking experience in Patagonia.

Felipe, the lead guide, is always confident, and his jovial attitude just brings up the team’s can do spirit, and gives us the confidence we can make it as a team of 7 of varied trekking experience on the Wtrek, especially to Torres Del Paine. We met with hikers who commented that we have a very experienced guide in Felipe, and that we totally agree.

Pablo Mas, another excellent guide, touched out hearts with his genuine care & concern for the group, ensuring we have proper understanding of the usage of poles, equipments etc, sharing his enthusiasm on the plants, flowers and animals we see on the trek, complementing Felipe’s geology knowledge on the terrain. Truly appreciated his measured steps up and down the difficult part of the slopes for us to follow, and constant check back to ensure we are doing ok.

Together, Felipe & Pablo’s genuine interest in our team, our culture (coming from Singapore), their sharing of their experiences and joy in trekking, simply made the whole trekking adventure a much richer, rewarding and really fun experience for all of us.

The amazing sceneries speak for itself! Truly truly awesome place to go and visit.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Media & Content Coordinator at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2019

Hola!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Torres del Paine! The 7 Day W Trek is truly a special experience and we are so glad that you had a good time. We hope to see you again in the future!

Saludos,
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews