We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
546
104
31
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
546
104
31
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suite dome standard dome eco camp wildlife safari superior domes composting toilets w trek private bathroom punta arenas pisco sours wood stove chilli yoga classes puerto natales before dinner flora and fauna sandwiches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 707 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2016

We chose the Wildlife Safari package at Ecocamp and stayed in Suite Domes.

The Suite Domes were lovely, with woodburning stove. I had the best sleep on my whole Patagonian trip at Ecocamp. Food was very good except for one minor translation issue: "Oysters Ragout" should have been "Scallops." There was no shortage in packing for daily lunchboxes. Dining with other guests and meeting your fellow travelers is a lot of fun at Ecocamp.

Guides and staff were very helpful, and so was the guest services manager. The "easy" daytime excursions were probably about the equivalent of moderate U.S. hiking due to steady inclines/declines. The strong Patagonian winds and regular micro-climates could make this challenging. We had some 70 year olds on our "easy hikes," and while they did fine, the hiking is NOT the equivalent of US "easy" grade hiking. Many of our fellow travelers commented that Ecocamp could do a better job describing the distances/elevations of their excursions and offer more variability. They like to keep to their daily rigid offerings and schedules (e.g. hurrying to get you to the evening ferry on time).

A shout-out to the Yoga teacher who very nicely makes adjustments based on the level of participants in the class.

However, we did not see as much wildlife on the walks as expected, and no puma despite reported sightings in the proximal days. The wildlife and Mother Nature are uncontrollable variables. We met a couple who had stayed at Ecocamp before us and they reported the active hikes in difficult weather was just miserable.

One negative: the bus that took us from EcoCamp to the border was leaking condensation on the heads of its passengers. The driver drove very quickly due to this, which was quite another adventure all together. Also, our scheduled time of departure was before breakfast. The 13-hour drive in also seems unncessary, with the stop at the Milodon Cave. I suspect this is a test walk for the guides to assess the group's fitness. The 6-hour drive back via the Castillo border is more reasonable.

NB: Bring your own trekking poles if you want them. We were advised that the rental ones are poor-quality and dilapidated.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank local t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Hola,

Thanks for your comments! We are glad to hear you had such a great experience in the heart of one of South America's finest national parks. Our domes are the good place to make new friends among fellow travelers with common interests and there is no doubt our friendly staff help to feel happy to be part of the community. Nature is indeed unpredictable and wildlife can be easily to spot or hard to spot depending on many conditions; that's probably what makes the place even more exciting! As for the poles, we indeed recommend our guests to bring their own poles whenever possible. We hope to welcome you again in Torres del Paine!

Saludos,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016

There are certainly a number of ways to experience Torres del Paine, and hiking the W trek with Ecocamp turned out to be fantastic way to experience the park. We booked the 7 day trek, whereby you stay 4 evenings in the Ecocamp domes, and 2 evenings at the refugios (hostels). We had a suite-dome which was super charming and unique, and the view of the TDP from the dome makes it feel that much more special. The guides and staff were very helpful and attentive. All together, a well organized and pleasant experience and would definitely recommend.

The refugios you stay in during the multi-day trekking excursion are very basic and, to be honest, I wasn't looking forward to a shared room with 6-8 people. But after some time together trekking in such a beautiful location, you bond with your fellow trekkers and it becomes a camp-like experience and was actually quite fun. Make sure you a bring a quick-drying towel (we picked one up in Puerto Natales) as you'll need it during the 2 evenings at the refugios.

We also booked the big-ice extension at the Perito Moreno glacier. Definitely worth seeing and, at the end you get to drink whiskey with 300 year old glacier ice! Best whiskey ever! The border crossing into Argentina is slow, so just remember it will take 6 hours to get to El Calafate.

We also spent a few days in the lake district (Frutillar) to see the awesome volcano (Osorno). The German influence around this area is interesting and worth a visit. I would visit the lake district before the trek, because you can't fly from El Calafate to Puerto Montt directly, which means we had to take several buses to get back to Punta Arenas before catching our flight to Puerto Montt. One word of advice, there is really not much to see or do in Punta Arenas.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarkNelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Hola!

Thanks for your comments. We are always pleased when our guests tell us they love their travel experience! The view is indeed breathtaking and we believe EcoCamp has the perfect location for those willing to experience the wilderness of the park without losing sight of the towers. Thanks for your hiking tips; we hope to welcome again at EcoCamp!

Saludos,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2016

We stayed at a standard Eco camp dome for three people which had an open (inside the dome!) upper deck with a bed in addition to the real wood fireplace and queen bed on the ground level. Very intimate, comfortable even though cold outside. The "window" has great view of the famous mountain ranges. Going to the toilet and shower which is attached to the dome but right outside the main entrance means a bit of coldness before the hot shower. The separate dining hall for all campers is very comfortable with grand views of the outdoor mountain ranges. Simply luxury in a wild, natural, most beautiful environment. Fantastic service with attention to details. The eco friendliness on the detailed design and operations is to be commended. Great hikes/ around the area. The air was soooo fresh and untinted. You do pay for all this.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragondragon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2016

Hola,

Thanks for your feedback! We are so glad to know you spent such great days in the wilderness of Torres del Paine. It seems the dome you are describing is a Suite Dome Loft, with the upper deck and more space which makes it the perfect alternative for families and friends! As for the cold, there is also an additional propane gas heater in the toilets. We hope to welcome you again in Patagonia!

Saludos,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile


Wow what to say about Ecocamp. Ecocamp is in the heart of Torres Del Paine national park. We used cascada as our travel agent. Cascada was excellent and helped us organize and book our tour. We did the 7 day W trek tour, private with an extra day on the trek. We loved Ecocamp. For us it was perfect. The staff go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect and they genuinely care about your experience. The staff really tried to get to know you, felt homey. We have never been to a place quiet like this and hope to return one day. They have many different tour options and you don't have to necessarily hike. We felt very taken care of- really didn't have to worry about any of the logistics!

They are many different options for domes. We stayed in the suite dome number 6 first night and superior dome number 1 when we came back from the W- both with ensuite bathrooms. The suite was awesome and if it is within your budget I would highly recommend it as you get a cool window to look out and a fire stove. The superior was also nice and had a heater instead of a stove and no large window to look out but you could see the stars at night through the top windows. I would recommend asking for one away from the dining hall.
Ecocamp was incredible. Let's start with the food. Breakfast consisted of eggs, meat and cereal served buffet style. They also had delicious cakes and lots of stuff to put on your cereal. Lunch was box lunch make your own with a large selection and even had veggie options. They always had good snacks for the lunches. Prior to dinner you had the briefing (when you learn about the next day's activities- we really liked this) which came with pisco sours and appetizer which consisted of cheese and meat. Dinner is spectacular and you get to choose between different options with there always being a veggie option. Everything was so fresh.
Our guide for our trek, Cata was great and if you can request her- I would highly recommend her. I feel like I learned so much about the area, culture, plants, animals and geology. She even brought a mini-telescope. She was very patient and really looked after us on the trek. She made the trip even better.
The trek itself was 5 days in total. 3 nights in the Refugio's and the other nights at Ecocamp. We like hiking from place to place and really getting away and further into nature. I would highly recommend requesting a private room which we did get 2 of the 3 nights. Shared bathrooms. There were showers at all of them. Dinner and boxed lunch were included which was ok some of the food better than others. We were so hungry after hiking all day it didn't matter what we ate. They were able to accommodate vegetarians.
The W trek was incredible with each day better than the next. We got very lucky with the weather - snowed when we arrived which was Christmas 2015. All the other days were sunny except one day which was rainy and cloudy but luckily no wind. This is unusual weather from what we are told. As the conditions are so variable.
We would highly recommend Torres del Paine. This was our second trip - we came back as the first time the weather was terrible. We would love to return and perhaps trek the O circuit. We would definitely stay at Ecocamp again - very special place.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Heathergator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Hola,

Thanks for your feedback. How amazing it is to know you enjoyed every moment at EcoCamp and on the hike! You said everything: Patagonian weather is unpredictable and you have been lucky to experience so many sunny days. However Patagonia is always beautiful whether in the Sun or in the Rain and I would highly recommend you to do the Paine Circuit – a once-in-a-lifetime experience indeed! We hope to welcome you again at EcoCamp Patagonia.

Saludos,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2016

I realized the W trek with Cascada Travel and it was an amazing experience. The Ecocamp hotel is very beautiful and comfortable. There is a full integration with the environment and respect for nature.I stayed in a Domo Suite accommodation with heating and a private bathroom. Structures clean, tidy and a privileged insight into the towers. The guides and staff are extremely nice, caring and attentive. The meals are excellent, with diverse and sophisticated options. The tours were carried out with the guides Alejandro and Diego, professionals with experience and knowledge of the region. There were about 80 km of trekking with care and essential tips to reach the end! Really recommend the Ecocamp packages!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndreKSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Guest Engagement Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Hola,

Thanks for your comments. We are always pleased to know our guests can have a life-changing experience at EcoCamp, in the heart of one of South America’s finest national parks. We are dedicated to providing service excellence to our guests and our passionate staff will barely disappoint anyone with such a dedication. We hope to welcome you again at EcoCamp!

Saludos,
Timothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews