We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Ecocamp Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecocamp Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in a suite dome. What a great experience! I went and back and forth as to whether to spend the extra money for the heat and in dome bathroom in the suite dome and am very glad I did as it cool and damp at times. The activities were as described, well planned and the guides were really great. We especially enjoyed the communal meals and met people from all over the world. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Great you enjoyed your family holiday in one of our suite domes! The communal meals are one of our unique points - so glad you enjoyed meeting people from all over the world. Keep recommending us, we appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back one day.
Saludos,
Gabriela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 593 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at Ecocamp as part of our 7 day W trek. As some previous reviewers have said, Ecocamp really is a special experience. We were in one of the non-heated domes but found it incredibly cozy and surprisingly warm. The bathrooms/showers were really nice...having a steaming hot shower after a long cold wet hike felt really good. The food overall was quite good...I especially liked breakfast and dinner. For lunch they put out sandwich makings that you can take with you for the day which was okay overall, but as a vegetarian the choices were somewhat limited. The staff was super friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. In particular our guides on the W trek were awesome. Loredona was our assistant guide and Roberto was our head guide...they did a fantastic job! If you can stay at Ecocamp as part of your trip to Patagonia, you will be treated to a unique experience you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 904JesseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Congratulations on completing the 7-day W trek - we are so happy to hear you had such a special experience at EcoCamp. Thank you for your comments about vegetarian options, we will mention this to the chef and try to increase the supplies. We will also pass on your thanks to our wonderful staff (especially guides Loredona and Roberto) for being so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! Please send your friends down to Patagonia to experience the unique and unforgettable EcoCamp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Ecocamp is on the one hand adventure pure, on the other a great outdoor experience without missing comfort and some luxury. The rooms are spacious, the beds warm and comfortable, the sanitary units clean and with ample hot water, and the food is heavenly. What also makes this place special is its people: highly motivated, very friendly, very knowledgeble, and last not least highly convinced of the fascinating concept of this place.

Room Tip: Yoga lessons are given for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterp_knobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hello! Great tip about our free yoga lessons - hope you enjoyed the new dome. Adventure coupled with comfort is what we aim for! We will pass on your lovely comments about the staff, we are very proud of their motivation, friendly ways and knowledge. We hope to welcome you again some day soon.
Saludos!
Gabriela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The EcoCamp really was something special! We stayed in one of the Standard Domes (shared bathroom, no heating) as the other ones were hardly affordable (the only downside of this place). For the total luxury package, you can book an ensuite dome with a fireplace. But our dome was great nonetheless as it featured a large window right above the bed (perfect for star-gazing). The shared bathroom facilities were also done up nicely with warm showers and eco friendly toilets. But the most amazing part were the "community domes", where we would get together with other travellers for breakfast and dinner as well as our briefing sessions for the next day's hike/activity. The food was excellent and there is a great little bar next door (inside another dome). You will also experience very knowledgable and friendly guides during your stay. So, if your budget allows it, this is the place to be. We would love to go back there one day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCBester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hola! Thank you for your feedback - we agree, EcoCamp is indeed special! Great you enjoyed stargazing in one of our standard domes. It is wonderful to hear that you loved the Community Domes and found the food excellent. We will pass on your feedback about the knowledgeable and friendly guides. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Very best wishes,
Gabriela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at EcoCamp in October, 2013. We booked a Wildlife Safari and stayed in a suite dome. Our review is based on this, as I do not think we would not have enjoyed the more basic standard domes and their communal facilities.

It turned out that October was the right time for us to go as there were limited numbers of people staying in the area allowing for a more private and exclusive feel. Later, you have to share the camp and park with the masses with large groups from all hotels crossing each other's paths. This would have diminished our experience.

We flew into Punta Arenas and were picked up at the airport by the driver, Marcelo, who was a lovely man, very knowledgeable about the park and Patagonia and an extraordinary driver. Marcelo was the only driver we had for our trip and we felt safe at all times. Driving conditions in Patagonia are difficult and I would not recommend driving yourself unless you are extremely competent and can handle the car moving around due to high winds.

Lunch to and from the park was provided at Aldea restaurant a few houses down from the EcoCamp office in Puerto Natales. It was excellent on both occasions.

EcoCamp is well located on a hill within the Park in close proximity to the start of hikes to the major destinations of the towers and French Valley. The views are spectacular.

The suite domes are large, private, insulated and have their own bathrooms and fireplaces. The dome was one of the highlights of our stay. We enjoyed it so much we had a day off the hikes to spend a quiet day in the dome stoking the fire. Don't be afraid to do this - it was heaven and we were provided with a delicious lunch.

The food at EcoCamp is a moderately mixed bag but good overall. A word of warning: the beef I had came well-done, which may be the default and as such it may be wise to specify how you want your meat cooked. Lunches for hikes are do-it-yourself wraps and trail snacks and unremarkable. It is worth pointing out that EcoCamp has, by far, the best coffee in Chile.

The activity options are likely standard for most/all hotels. The guides are uniformly excellent. I would think this is reflective of the standard within the park rather than just EcoCamp as the guides often change hotels from year-to-year and they all have to pass stringent tests. You are provided with 2 activity options on a daily basis: soft and more difficult and you make your choice the day before. If you want a guided activity, you cannot vary from the choices provided even if the weather might be inappropriate for the options given. This is a point of difference from some other hotels. For example, at Tierra Patagonia you can choose whatever activity you want on any given day in conjunction with your guide (who has the local knowledge and takes the weather into consideration.) We found this limitation frustrating as on the perfect day for a hike to the towers this option was not on offer yet it snowed on the day it was. For those who have a reasonable level of fitness it might pay to do your own thing if the options on offer for a particular day are not satisfactory.

Weather at this time of year, at least, is highly variable. Good hiking shoes and some waterproof clothing are essentially.

Overall it was an incredible experience and I do not think we would have enjoyed ourselves as much at a different hotel (Awasi had not opened at the time.) The other hotels we considered before going, Tierra and Explora, are far from the entry point for the hikes to the towers/French Valley, which would mean more time spent commuting. If you do not mind the lack of flexibility in guided activities or are prepared to do your own thing, then a stay at a suite dome at EcoCamp is an incredible experience and highly recommended. If crowds are not your thing, then go early or late in the season.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, privacy and comfort then choose a suite dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay in our Suite Dome. We will pass back your feedback to Marcelo the driver, great to hear you found him so knowledgeable. We are very proud of our location at the heart of Torres del Paine national park (and how this gives our guests immediate access to the main hikes) and are happy to hear you loved the spectacular views.
Very best wishes,
Gabriela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have been here with my girlfriend in March '12 and had the best time ever. The crew is very friendly, helpful and I thin they actually enjoy helping the guests. Offcourse we where here cause of the W-trail and Ecocamp was our last stop before going back to Puerto Natales. Reason why the title of this recommendation is heaven after hell is that we came from Los Cuernos which was a dump and overpriced. But enough about that cause Ecocamp is one of the greatest lodges I have ever been: the food, staff and most of all the location was great with spectacular views at the Torres. Must do!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinkert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased to hear you found the staff so friendly and helpful. It is wonderful to hear that EcoCamp is one of the greatest lodges you have ever been to - we agree, the view is amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ecocamp on our honeymoon in a Superior Dome and did the 5 day W trek. Our days were packed and the food was much better than expected for being hours from civilization. Our guides (Alejandro and Alexis) and hiking group were great. Torres del Paine was an amazing and beautiful place. There is no place in the world like it. I'd recommend this for anyone looking for an active but comfortable outdoor experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eggstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hola! Thank you for your comments, great to hear you had a wonderful honeymoon at Ecocamp and the food exceeded your expectations. We wish you a long happy marriage and hope to welcome you back for one of your anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
19.4 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,223 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
479 reviews
10.4 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
245 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecocamp Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocamp Patagonia

Address: Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $230 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecocamp Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoCamp is situated in the very heart of Torres del Paine National Park and provides the region’s first fully sustainable accommodation, complete with green technology. You enjoy guided treks and wildlife excursions by day and share evening meals with new friends, before falling asleep gazing up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling. Wake up in the middle of the Patagonian wilderness in a cozy geodesic dome, with a panoramic view of the majestic Torres del Paine, ready to pick up the hiking trail!EcoCamp Patagonia is a tribute to Kaweskar dwellings and way of life. The basic premise in designing the EcoCamp was to maintain the nomadic spirit of Patagonia’s ancient inhabitants. EcoCamp Patagonia is the 1st sustainable accommodation south of the Amazon, and the only one of its kind in Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ecocamp Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecocamp Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Ecocamp Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing