We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torres del Paine Circuit & Ecocamp”
Review of Ecocamp Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecocamp Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Torres del Paine Circuit & Ecocamp”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We did the Torres del Paine Circuit in December 2013 guided by Roberto Carlos and assisted by Christian Barra, both of whom were very professional in their approach and with safety always in mind. This was a tough trek and should be attempted by people in a good state of physical fitness and discipline of mind. This was much harder than we expected having previously completed Kala Pattar & Gokyo Ri in the Everest area and Annapurna Circuit - Nepal and also Mt Kilimanjaro in Tanzania - all of which had their varying degree of difficulty. However, not as difficult as the Circuit. Special thanks to Christian the assistant guide who was always there to support us and who showed great compassion and understanding of our situation.

Ecocamp - we found the staff to be courteous, friendly and always prepared to assist with any requests. The food was plentiful and of good quality and a good range of fillings for sandwiches for ones lunchbox when going on a trek. The facilities were clean and tidy, plenty of hot water for showers with soap, shampoo and conditioner provided even when camping.
We got to know Rene the on-site camp Manager who we found to be accommodating and always concerned about the welfare of the people staying at the camp. Rene is a great ambassador for the company.

Room Tip: Travellers can choose between camping in tents, standard domes or suite domes which face Las Torres.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Great to hear your feedback, congratulations on completing the Torres del Paine Circuit! We will pass on your comments about the professionalism guides, fantastic that you felt in such good hands. Good to hear the staff were friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the food and facilities. We will pass on your kind words to Rene the “ambassador”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    93
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
74
274
71
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Starting with the booking agency Cascada Travel, high praises for the integrity and hard work of Cecilia. Our daughter was able to join us literally at the last minute and somehow Cecilia got it all coordinated including the bus transfers from Argentina to Chile.

The photography of animals is unreal and their excursions get you there: flamingos & parrots (I'm not kidding), those llama creatures nursing their young, geese, ducks (many types), eagles, condors, hawks, bright red breasted birds, ibes, horses, (if lucky puma), fox, caracara, etc.

The nature walks, bike rides, boat trips, hikes, and treks are all led by knowledgeable guides or you can choose to go out on your own at your own pace.

What makes this place so special is the commodore around the breakfast table, dinner table, bar, and yoga class (great after a hard hike). You all eat together at dinner and hear about the guides explain the trips planned for the next day. Long trips tend to leave early in the morning and shorter trips later so there are usually two breakfast times for meeting and chatting with your new trip buddies. You simply do not get that level of mixing and conversation at a hotel. The people that come here are generally like you: adventurous, positive, and do not take themselves too seriously.

Special thanks to the guides: Flash, Sabastion, Diego, and others that were so fun. Also thanks to the camp boss for being so accommodating with our daughter. And yes, our daughter was able to get on the same bus on our return to Argentina.

P.S. Eco Camp is flexible. Our daughter prefers her tent (away from snoring and noises). She was allowed to join us for meals and slept in her tent nearby. She only had to pay for the meals, which were quite reasonable. They even had her give two talks on one of the trips since her PhD was in the bio-geology and an expert in the stramatolites and trilobites they were visiting.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the deluxe domes. Perfect if you have a hard time sharing a bathroom ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback, we are so glad you had such a great trip and your daughter was able to join too! The "community" aspect is something we hope sets us apart, so thar's great you enjoyed eating all together. We will pass on your kind words to the guides.
Saludos from Chile!
Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in December 2013 with a friend.

Positives - Great location. Unique lodging. Adequate excursions. Beds are comfortable.

Negatives - Barely edible food. Poor breakfast and lunch selection. Superficially clean domes (rugs were never cleaned during our stay; accumulating dust/debris). Fireplace was put on at random; sometimes on when cold; one day was on when warm outside, leading to a very stuffy dome. Guests should have the option of choosing another excursion (if there is guest consensus); you are stuck with specific excursions on specific days. Staff is unfriendly; we had to go out of our way to get information/service.

Would not recommend this lodging. Try your luck at Las Torres Patagonia (close by).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nr456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed the superb location and unique accommodation at EcoCamp. We work to deliver the highest quality of food given the remote location of the National Park. You can ask to have you stove lit at any point as the temperatures change dramatically in the park. It is very rare we hear comments about unfriendliness, there must have been some misunderstanding - we are looking into this further. Very best wishes, Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Considering the outrageous prices in the park, this was on par, but we were shocked at what we got for it. I feared it would be a rip-off but was so surprised by how luxurious the suite dome was, amazing bed, fireplace, heated bathroom with hot shower, and romantic ambience. It was worth every penny. Dinner at $30pp was also worth it, and comes with a bottle of wine for 2. The dining service was as a group, but we checked in late and had to jump in as everyone was eating dessert already- but we sat with another nice couple and talked for hours. We were sad to go. The only trouble was finding it. There weren't any signs, even when you pull into the small driveway. So we were at the bottom of the hill, driving around the refugios and Hotel Las Torres, but eventually figured out there was no other way but up the small dirt switchback. There are amazing views of the Torres right from the suites too! Breakfast with fresh juice, pastries and cheese was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello, many thanks for your kind words about our suite domes - we are so happy you found them so luxurious and romantic! It is also good to hear that you thought the food was good value. We are sorry you had trouble finding Eco Camp, but once we hope you agree the location is part of what makes it so unique!
Saludos,
Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everything was perfect, best place we stayed in Torres Del Paine park. Food was delicious and price much better then the other hotels in the park. Right next to the main hiking trail and much better view then Hotel Las Torres. We stayed at 3 other hotel in the park and we liked this one million time better then the others. Tip: if you request driving direction, they will send you an email with them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello! Many thanks for your feedback, we are so pleased you liked EcoCamp so much. We will pass on your kind words about the food to the chef! The views are indeed incredible. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Very best wishes,
Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We did the 7 day W trek and stayed in a superior dome. Best hiking we have done anywhere in the world. Each day of the trek was different in the scenary but equally pretty. We enjoyed meeting other world travelers and not having to worry about any details--just enjoy the scenary. We even enjoyed being off the digital grid for a week.

All the domes were nice and comfortable. The superior dome was much larger, had electricity, gas heating and a shower and a bath.

Food was great and our guide Lucho was wonderful. Amazing trip and would recomend to anyone who enjoys hiking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Communications Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our superior domes. The hiking in Torres del Paine is indeed amazing and the community aspect is one of our unique points!

We hope to welcome your friends in the future!
Best wishes,
Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Junction, OR
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Overall, we spent four nights at Ecocamp as part of hiking the W circuit. We arrived late in the afternoon and spent one night then headed up into the mountains and spent the next two nights at refugios. We returned to Ecocamp and spent three more nights, hiking to the towers one day, out into the lowlands one day and then headed off the last morning for our next adventure at Easter Island. I will admit when we first arrived I was a bit concerned. We were travelling in early November and the weather was initially quite cold with a fierce wind blowing. We stayed in a standard dome which has no heating and I was concerned we would be cold at night. However, once we crawled into the super comfortable bed, equipped with flannel sheets and a wealth of blankets, I couldn't have been warmer or more content. Looking through the skylight at the mountains was delightful and being able to watch the sun set and rise from the comfort of the bed was a luxury. The standard domes share a set of bathrooms that were kept spotlessly clean. The showers were hot and large fluffy towels were provided. When we returned to Ecocamp after hiking for three days, the weather had changed and the sun had come out. The domes get hot during the day but why anyone would want to be inside when the weather is glorious is a mystery. By the time we were ready to go to bed, the dome had cooled off and we slept great. If you come with the right attitude and willingness to experience something different, you will most likely love Ecocamp.

We found the food at Ecocamp to be just fine. Breakfast consisted of cereal, yogurt, breads, scrambled eggs, fruit, juice and coffee. It was always well prepared and plentiful. We packed our own lunches for hiking and a wide array of sandwich materials were available. For dinner we had our choice of three appetizers, three entrees and three desserts. We thought the dinners were inventive and ample and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Paying more for a superior dome with its own heating system and bathroom is a matter of choice. The one cold night, we stayed very warm and snug under blankets. The shared bathroom/showers worked fine for us. We didn't spend much time in the dome other than to sleep. There are plenty of indoor and outdoor sitting areas at Ecocamp if you find time on your hands.

Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased with our Ecocamp experience. Torres del Paine is a fantastic area and Ecocamp seems in alignment with the environment.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the standard dome, but if you want a private bathroom and a heating system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your feedback, we are so happy you enjoyed your four nights at EcoCamp and that you were warm and content!

The skylights in our standard domes provide unique stargazing from the comfort of your bed - that’s great it was a highlight for you.

Our chefs work hard to prepare food in this remote park - we will pass on your feedback about the food being inventive and enjoyable!

Very best wishes,
Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
19.4 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,156 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
453 reviews
10.4 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
227 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecocamp Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocamp Patagonia

Property: Ecocamp Patagonia
Address: Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecocamp Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoCamp is situated in the very heart of Torres del Paine National Park and provides the region’s first fully sustainable accommodation, complete with green technology. You enjoy guided treks and wildlife excursions by day and share evening meals with new friends, before falling asleep gazing up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling. Wake up in the middle of the Patagonian wilderness in a cozy geodesic dome, with a panoramic view of the majestic Torres del Paine, ready to pick up the hiking trail!EcoCamp Patagonia is a tribute to Kaweskar dwellings and way of life. The basic premise in designing the EcoCamp was to maintain the nomadic spirit of Patagonia’s ancient inhabitants. EcoCamp Patagonia is the 1st sustainable accommodation south of the Amazon, and the only one of its kind in Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ecocamp Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecocamp Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Ecocamp Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing