We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and great people”
Review of Ecocamp Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecocamp Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The setting was beautiful, and the evening simply stunning under the Torres del Paine.
Staff at the ecocamp and our guides were brilliant. Extremely helpful, knowledgeable, considerate and approachable. The food was excellent as was the accommodation. The communal dining atmosphere was excellent.
This is a place we would love to come back too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlennH266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Glad you had such a great time, thank you very much for your comments!

Hope to welcome you back again one day,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 580 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We did the W with Cascada and Ecocamp a month ago and it was the best experience ever! We stayed in a superior dome and were really pleased that we forked out the extra $ for it! Really appreciated the gas heater, en suite and the electricity points!

Trekking in Torres del Paine was one of the best walks we've ever done. Our guides Roberto Carlos and Pablo were simply brilliant. They took care of all our groups needs and questions with consumate ease and patience. We never felt like we had a single thing to worry about, be it at Ecocamp, the Refugios, or on the trek itself. Couldn't recommend a more capable dynamic duo!

Staying at Ecocamp was a brilliant experience. From the location, the communal domes, to the warm and attentive staff. The food quality was unbelievably good too. And that's starters, mains and desserts all.

We'd recommend Ecocamp to everyone. The awesome guides, the staff and of course the amazing domes... It's worth it for the view of the towers alone! :)

Cudos to all the staff at cascada/ecocamp. Seamless care from booking, pick-up, trek and departure.

Most of all, to our guides Roberto Carlos and Pablo, you guys rock!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of the W Trek with us! So glad you enjoyed everything and will pass on your appreciation to Carlos & Pablo!

All the best,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a place! Great food, company, and service in an unforgettable location. Fantastic! Views of the stars and the mountains in the clean Patagonia air. Stay here for the trip of a lifetime. The staff are amazing, too

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Glad you had a fantastic time! Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The setting could not be more beautiful, simply stunning under the Torres del Paine.
Staff at the ecocamp were brilliant. Extremely helpful, caring, considerate and approachable.
Food also excellent. The communal dining atmosphere was excellent especially for someone traveling alone.
Just be mindful that the standard domes haven't heating so out of summer you will need thermals at night.
If you're looking for a great base to explore and hike from with great service and food then look no further!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments, it sounds like you had the perfect EcoCamp experience we design for all of our guests which includes making sure our solo travellers feel at home!

Happy future travels,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed before and after trekking the circuit of Torres Del Paine with PNG Trekking. The domes were the perfect starting and finishing point. Warm, cozy and comfortable. Wonderful to be able to gaze up to the stars from the comfortable bed protected from the weather behind the walls of the dome.

The food was plentiful and freshly prepared.

The water had pressure and was hot. The bathrooms were kept clean. The toilets became quite smelly at times but I think that was through the inability of some of the guests to work out how to use them correctly being composting toilets.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and professional. In particular Li Andro in the restaurant/bar area who excelled in his service to all.

We have wonderful memories of our trek and stay in this area. Would not hesitate to return if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandshelley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Glad you had a great time at EcoCamp on the circuit! Thank you for your very positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back one day!

Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at EcoCamp while doing the "W" trek; booked thru a US company (Adventure Life) although I could just as easily have booked directly thru Cascada Expediciones. The place so exceeded my expectations I can't say enough good things about it. The accomodations were unique, they were warm and cozy and the location was spectacular. The food (Bountiful breakfasts, a vast selection of lunch choices, delicious pre dinner happy hour drinks and food, and no less than 3 entree choices each night for dinner) was absolutely amazing....I actually managed to gain weight even though we hiked 12 to 24 km each day for several days in a row. The staff/chef graciously accomodated all of our group's dietary requirements and requests (dairy free, gluten free, vegetarian), even baked gluten free bread for one person!. The main domes and bar area were fun cozy places to hang out before or after meals.

I stayed happily and comfortably in the standard dome, some people upgraded to the more expensive option with heaters and private bath but I didn't feel that was necessary. The beds were comfortable and there was a huge pile of warm blankets; it was just a little difficult to get out from under them in the cold mornings! The shared bathrooms had more than enough very hot water and excellent water pressure, with biodegradable soap, shampoo & conditioner supplied.

Our guide Eduardo was very experienced and knowledgeable; he answered our multitude of questions and set a good steady hiking pace for the group. His English was excellent.

On our last night or two in EcoCamp, several new people/groups arrived. Unfortunately, it got much noisier and the facilities suffered....NOT because of EcoCamp staff/service, but because the people were rude, inconsiderate and sloppy...the bathrooms became much dirtier between daily cleanings, people didn't follow the EcoCamp "rules" about use of the composting toilets etc., and there was a lot more loud talking at all hours outside the domes. I don't fault EcoCamp for any of this, but know that if you have inconsiderate guests sharing the place while you are there, you may not have the same peaceful and/or clean experience. As another reviewer stated, Ecocamp has created a sustainable minimal impact camp without sacrificing luxury; people need to respect and comply with their principles/methods/rules if they are going to stay there!

I would recommend EcoCamp lodging and tours to anyone without reservation...it was an incredible place to stay and overall a great experience.

Some minor things to be aware of:

Be sure to bring a headlamp and/or small battery powered lantern as there is not really any light source in the domes (I had only one small LED light in mine); you will also need/want a headlamp or flashlight for nighttime trips to the bathroom. There was minimal light in the bathrooms at night - so it was best to shower during daylight hours.

There were a few outlets available in the main domes for you to charge cameras, phones, etc. but they are shared with everyone...there were no outlets in the domes themselves...so we did have to take turns at the outlets and you couldn't always charge your electronics when you wanted to.

The domes can be noisy (wind, rain, and people talking!)...they are still basically tents!. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: I felt that the standard domes were perfect, but consider an upgrade if you prefer not to share a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RachelW879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your excellent feedback (we're glad you had such a great time!) and your tips for other travellers!

Very best wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We did the epic adventure patagonia with ecocamp. The accomadations were unique with luxurious individual domes. The food was gourmet with three individual choices for dinner. our guide and services provided were outstanding as was our total experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdustrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your EcoCamp trip! Thank you for your comments.

Best wishes in your future travels,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
19.4 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,176 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
458 reviews
10.4 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
231 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecocamp Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocamp Patagonia

Address: Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $194 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecocamp Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoCamp is situated in the very heart of Torres del Paine National Park and provides the region’s first fully sustainable accommodation, complete with green technology. You enjoy guided treks and wildlife excursions by day and share evening meals with new friends, before falling asleep gazing up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling. Wake up in the middle of the Patagonian wilderness in a cozy geodesic dome, with a panoramic view of the majestic Torres del Paine, ready to pick up the hiking trail!EcoCamp Patagonia is a tribute to Kaweskar dwellings and way of life. The basic premise in designing the EcoCamp was to maintain the nomadic spirit of Patagonia’s ancient inhabitants. EcoCamp Patagonia is the 1st sustainable accommodation south of the Amazon, and the only one of its kind in Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ecocamp Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecocamp Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Ecocamp Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing