We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Ecocamp Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ecocamp Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a place! Great food, company, and service in an unforgettable location. Fantastic! Views of the stars and the mountains in the clean Patagonia air. Stay here for the trip of a lifetime. The staff are amazing, too

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Glad you had a fantastic time! Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    93
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
74
274
71
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The setting could not be more beautiful, simply stunning under the Torres del Paine.
Staff at the ecocamp were brilliant. Extremely helpful, caring, considerate and approachable.
Food also excellent. The communal dining atmosphere was excellent especially for someone traveling alone.
Just be mindful that the standard domes haven't heating so out of summer you will need thermals at night.
If you're looking for a great base to explore and hike from with great service and food then look no further!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it sounds like you had the perfect EcoCamp experience we design for all of our guests which includes making sure our solo travellers feel at home!

Happy future travels,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed before and after trekking the circuit of Torres Del Paine with PNG Trekking. The domes were the perfect starting and finishing point. Warm, cozy and comfortable. Wonderful to be able to gaze up to the stars from the comfortable bed protected from the weather behind the walls of the dome.

The food was plentiful and freshly prepared.

The water had pressure and was hot. The bathrooms were kept clean. The toilets became quite smelly at times but I think that was through the inability of some of the guests to work out how to use them correctly being composting toilets.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and professional. In particular Li Andro in the restaurant/bar area who excelled in his service to all.

We have wonderful memories of our trek and stay in this area. Would not hesitate to return if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandshelley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Glad you had a great time at EcoCamp on the circuit! Thank you for your very positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back one day!

Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at EcoCamp while doing the "W" trek; booked thru a US company (Adventure Life) although I could just as easily have booked directly thru Cascada Expediciones. The place so exceeded my expectations I can't say enough good things about it. The accomodations were unique, they were warm and cozy and the location was spectacular. The food (Bountiful breakfasts, a vast selection of lunch choices, delicious pre dinner happy hour drinks and food, and no less than 3 entree choices each night for dinner) was absolutely amazing....I actually managed to gain weight even though we hiked 12 to 24 km each day for several days in a row. The staff/chef graciously accomodated all of our group's dietary requirements and requests (dairy free, gluten free, vegetarian), even baked gluten free bread for one person!. The main domes and bar area were fun cozy places to hang out before or after meals.

I stayed happily and comfortably in the standard dome, some people upgraded to the more expensive option with heaters and private bath but I didn't feel that was necessary. The beds were comfortable and there was a huge pile of warm blankets; it was just a little difficult to get out from under them in the cold mornings! The shared bathrooms had more than enough very hot water and excellent water pressure, with biodegradable soap, shampoo & conditioner supplied.

Our guide Eduardo was very experienced and knowledgeable; he answered our multitude of questions and set a good steady hiking pace for the group. His English was excellent.

On our last night or two in EcoCamp, several new people/groups arrived. Unfortunately, it got much noisier and the facilities suffered....NOT because of EcoCamp staff/service, but because the people were rude, inconsiderate and sloppy...the bathrooms became much dirtier between daily cleanings, people didn't follow the EcoCamp "rules" about use of the composting toilets etc., and there was a lot more loud talking at all hours outside the domes. I don't fault EcoCamp for any of this, but know that if you have inconsiderate guests sharing the place while you are there, you may not have the same peaceful and/or clean experience. As another reviewer stated, Ecocamp has created a sustainable minimal impact camp without sacrificing luxury; people need to respect and comply with their principles/methods/rules if they are going to stay there!

I would recommend EcoCamp lodging and tours to anyone without reservation...it was an incredible place to stay and overall a great experience.

Some minor things to be aware of:

Be sure to bring a headlamp and/or small battery powered lantern as there is not really any light source in the domes (I had only one small LED light in mine); you will also need/want a headlamp or flashlight for nighttime trips to the bathroom. There was minimal light in the bathrooms at night - so it was best to shower during daylight hours.

There were a few outlets available in the main domes for you to charge cameras, phones, etc. but they are shared with everyone...there were no outlets in the domes themselves...so we did have to take turns at the outlets and you couldn't always charge your electronics when you wanted to.

The domes can be noisy (wind, rain, and people talking!)...they are still basically tents!. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: I felt that the standard domes were perfect, but consider an upgrade if you prefer not to share a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelW879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback (we're glad you had such a great time!) and your tips for other travellers!

Very best wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We did the epic adventure patagonia with ecocamp. The accomadations were unique with luxurious individual domes. The food was gourmet with three individual choices for dinner. our guide and services provided were outstanding as was our total experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdustrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your EcoCamp trip! Thank you for your comments.

Best wishes in your future travels,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ecocamp before and after our 7 day Paine Circuit Trek. After walking 30+km a day, any bed would have been nice, but the EcoCamp exceeded all our expectations.

The staff was warm, knowledgeable and welcoming. The location was spectacular. The Torres were behind the camp, making a stunning evening view. The food was gourmet and the wine was plentiful. The domes and the entire vision behind the EcoCamp is admirable. They have created a sustainable, minimal impact camp, without sacrificing luxury. If only parks in other parts of the world could follow their lead and use some of the same principles. Staying was true luxury in the midst of one of the most beautiful landscapes I've seen.

The trek itself was strenuous, but worth every ounce of effort. The backside of the park, where crowds are thinner was beautiful, serene and filled with flora and fauna. Our guides (Roberto Carlos and Danny) knew all the plants, birds and had enough excitement in them to keep us going even when we were tired.

I wholeheartedly recommend EcoCamp to anyone considering a trip to the park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, happy to hear you had such a great time on the Paine Circuit and thoroughly enjoyed EcoCamp & its concept!

Very best wishes,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Cascada organised our trip to Patagonia and as part of this we stayed at Ecocamp. Compared with tents on the Paine walk it was comfort heaven and a great way to ease into and end 6 days of exposure to the rugged grandeur of this amazing region. Plenty of hot water for showers; great food, amazingly tolerant staff (there were some great nights singing in the bar) and comfortable warm beds. This is not the Hilton folks (stay in the Torres Hotel down the road if thats your need) but if you want a unique travel experience with some wonderful guides and an astonishing natural landscape Ecocamp is where you should be. All needs are catered for: from the full "circuit" to parts of the "W" and day walks visiting caves and seeing the local flora and fauna. A great time.

Room Tip: Shared facilities or en suite. You get what you pay for. We had the latter and did not find the fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDBBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Glad you had such a great time, thank you for your feedback - an absolute pleasure to read!

All the best,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,153 reviews
19.3 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
808 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
450 reviews
10.4 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
225 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecocamp Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocamp Patagonia

Property: Ecocamp Patagonia
Address: Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecocamp Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoCamp is situated in the very heart of Torres del Paine National Park and provides the region’s first fully sustainable accommodation, complete with green technology. You enjoy guided treks and wildlife excursions by day and share evening meals with new friends, before falling asleep gazing up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling. Wake up in the middle of the Patagonian wilderness in a cozy geodesic dome, with a panoramic view of the majestic Torres del Paine, ready to pick up the hiking trail!EcoCamp Patagonia is a tribute to Kaweskar dwellings and way of life. The basic premise in designing the EcoCamp was to maintain the nomadic spirit of Patagonia’s ancient inhabitants. EcoCamp Patagonia is the 1st sustainable accommodation south of the Amazon, and the only one of its kind in Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ecocamp Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecocamp Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Ecocamp Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing