We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge in a magnificent setting”
Review of Ecocamp Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ecocamp Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We did the epic adventure patagonia with ecocamp. The accomadations were unique with luxurious individual domes. The food was gourmet with three individual choices for dinner. our guide and services provided were outstanding as was our total experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdustrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your EcoCamp trip! Thank you for your comments.

Best wishes in your future travels,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 593 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ecocamp before and after our 7 day Paine Circuit Trek. After walking 30+km a day, any bed would have been nice, but the EcoCamp exceeded all our expectations.

The staff was warm, knowledgeable and welcoming. The location was spectacular. The Torres were behind the camp, making a stunning evening view. The food was gourmet and the wine was plentiful. The domes and the entire vision behind the EcoCamp is admirable. They have created a sustainable, minimal impact camp, without sacrificing luxury. If only parks in other parts of the world could follow their lead and use some of the same principles. Staying was true luxury in the midst of one of the most beautiful landscapes I've seen.

The trek itself was strenuous, but worth every ounce of effort. The backside of the park, where crowds are thinner was beautiful, serene and filled with flora and fauna. Our guides (Roberto Carlos and Danny) knew all the plants, birds and had enough excitement in them to keep us going even when we were tired.

I wholeheartedly recommend EcoCamp to anyone considering a trip to the park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, happy to hear you had such a great time on the Paine Circuit and thoroughly enjoyed EcoCamp & its concept!

Very best wishes,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Cascada organised our trip to Patagonia and as part of this we stayed at Ecocamp. Compared with tents on the Paine walk it was comfort heaven and a great way to ease into and end 6 days of exposure to the rugged grandeur of this amazing region. Plenty of hot water for showers; great food, amazingly tolerant staff (there were some great nights singing in the bar) and comfortable warm beds. This is not the Hilton folks (stay in the Torres Hotel down the road if thats your need) but if you want a unique travel experience with some wonderful guides and an astonishing natural landscape Ecocamp is where you should be. All needs are catered for: from the full "circuit" to parts of the "W" and day walks visiting caves and seeing the local flora and fauna. A great time.

Room Tip: Shared facilities or en suite. You get what you pay for. We had the latter and did not find the fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDBBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Glad you had such a great time, thank you for your feedback - an absolute pleasure to read!

All the best,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed at eco Camp this past month. The experience was wonderful. I read some negative reviews on here before I went and had a gut feeling this place was just wrong for those people. There was never a shortage of food, the guides and people working were kind, helpful and cool. I think if you are used to a hotel and want that generic experience then stay at the lodge in the park. If you are looking for a unique, authentic experience then stay at Eco Camp and let it all go!
In one way the feeling is similar to staying at someone's home, everyone dines together, shares stories..., you feel part of a community. There are also plenty of that make it feel like a boutique resort. The food, lodging, location, bar, communal areas are all exceptional.
We stayed in the standard dome, no heating but great blankets.. slept like a rock, especially after the long hike and great dinner/wine.
I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldemar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience, we really appreciate your comments and are so glad you had the EcoCamp Experience we carefully design with our guests in mind!

Looking forward to welcoming you back one day,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just got back from completing the Paine Circuit at Torres del Paine. I went with my wife and 16 year-old daughter. We spent three nights at the ecocamp and 5 nights in tents on the circuit. Everything about the trip was fantastic. When i booked the domes were sold out so we spent the first night at Ecocamp in a tent, the other 2 nights in a standard dome, I strongly recomend the dome if available. The ecocamp has great food, a bar and hot showers. The trek itself was great, you have porters to carry everything but your clothing layers and snacks/camera in a day pack. The guides we had(Roberto Carlos and Danny) provided non stop service. The hiking itself is strenuos, 32 k the first day, you need to be able to hike all day up and down hills to enjoy this trip. we all loved it, the scenery is spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments, glad everything was fantastic!

We’ll hopefully welcome you back to Chile one day for more scenic hiking,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In February 2013 we spent fur nights at the Ecocamp as part of a 2 week trip through Patagonia. Everything was perfect....dome tents, food and guides. It was really the highlight of our trip. It was so nice to come back "home" to a wonderful room and fabulous dinners. I can't say enough. Very professional. I would recommend spending the extra for the domes with the ensuite woodstoves and showers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavakids2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for the paradisiacal feedback and lovely photos! Glad your dome, food and guides were perfect and you found everything so professional and wonderful. We’d love to welcome you back again one day, in the meantime happy travels!

Warm wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently returned from Cascada's 9 day Torres del Paine trek which is actually a 7 day trek and 2 days of travel to and from Punta Arenas. I upgraded to a standard dome for the 3 nights spent at Eco camp. I found Eco camp to be a really wonderful place, domes and shared bathrooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friedly and helpful and the food is really good. My experience on the actually trek was not as positive. The communication as to what to bring was non existent and the information on the web site is incorrect. For example, on the web site it states you will received two 20 liter bags that the porters will carry when in reality you only receive one. The tents at the camps were filthy, improperly pitched and my tent at camp Grey was patched with duck tape, needless to say not a water proof patch so I slept in a wet tent. We felt our head guide was basically annoyed by our presence, he even left us behind during a dangerous river crossing. The assistant guide was the complete opposite, really helpful and kind. Overall I'm not sure i would recommend Cascada as your tour guide option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your wonderful review of EcoCamp and also your comments about the circuit which are regrettable and clearly need addressing. You should have received a pre-trip information pack after booking detailing what to bring, according to your sales consultant this was sent to you on December 12th along with booking instructions. In terms of the dry bags yes you should have received two 15 liter bags (with up to 5kg/11lbs to be packed in each) as clearly stated on the website, however I’ve been informed that in your case the guide for reasons as yet unknown decided to allocate one per person. We apologise for this and will be investigating why this decision was made. I’m told the night was very wet at Grey campsite and that duct tape covering miniscule holes is usually an effective solution, but clearly this needs reviewing in light of your comments, as does the cleaning issue which has never surfaced before because we’ve always maintained very high standards of cleanliness. In terms of your head guide I offer our most profound apologies, we pride ourselves on our high guiding standards in terms of safety & enjoyable company and we will be speaking to him to see why his behaviour was so out of character. I’m glad your assistant guide was helpful & kind and a good representation of the kind of guides we employ.

Overall we apologise for your Circuit experience and are very disappointed to receive the first negative feedback we’ve had from over 150 participants so far this season. I only hope that your positive EcoCamp experience acted as compensation for our very unexpected circuit shortcomings, which we will now be thoroughly investigating.

With best wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
19.4 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,225 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
481 reviews
10.4 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
245 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecocamp Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocamp Patagonia

Address: Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $230 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecocamp Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoCamp is situated in the very heart of Torres del Paine National Park and provides the region’s first fully sustainable accommodation, complete with green technology. You enjoy guided treks and wildlife excursions by day and share evening meals with new friends, before falling asleep gazing up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling. Wake up in the middle of the Patagonian wilderness in a cozy geodesic dome, with a panoramic view of the majestic Torres del Paine, ready to pick up the hiking trail!EcoCamp Patagonia is a tribute to Kaweskar dwellings and way of life. The basic premise in designing the EcoCamp was to maintain the nomadic spirit of Patagonia’s ancient inhabitants. EcoCamp Patagonia is the 1st sustainable accommodation south of the Amazon, and the only one of its kind in Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ecocamp Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecocamp Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Ecocamp Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing