We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveler rating
493
101
30
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
101
30
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suite dome standard dome eco camp wildlife safari superior domes w trek private bathroom punta arenas pisco sours luxury camping chilli wood stove puerto natales before dinner national park alfredo flora and fauna
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 647 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just got back from completing the Paine Circuit at Torres del Paine. I went with my wife and 16 year-old daughter. We spent three nights at the ecocamp and 5 nights in tents on the circuit. Everything about the trip was fantastic. When i booked the domes were sold out so we spent the first night at Ecocamp in a tent, the other 2 nights in a standard dome, I strongly recomend the dome if available. The ecocamp has great food, a bar and hot showers. The trek itself was great, you have porters to carry everything but your clothing layers and snacks/camera in a day pack. The guides we had(Roberto Carlos and Danny) provided non stop service. The hiking itself is strenuos, 32 k the first day, you need to be able to hike all day up and down hills to enjoy this trip. we all loved it, the scenery is spectacular.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments, glad everything was fantastic!

We’ll hopefully welcome you back to Chile one day for more scenic hiking,
Gemma, Ecocamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In February 2013 we spent fur nights at the Ecocamp as part of a 2 week trip through Patagonia. Everything was perfect....dome tents, food and guides. It was really the highlight of our trip. It was so nice to come back "home" to a wonderful room and fabulous dinners. I can't say enough. Very professional. I would recommend spending the extra for the domes with the ensuite woodstoves and showers.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavakids2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for the paradisiacal feedback and lovely photos! Glad your dome, food and guides were perfect and you found everything so professional and wonderful. We’d love to welcome you back again one day, in the meantime happy travels!

Warm wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently returned from Cascada's 9 day Torres del Paine trek which is actually a 7 day trek and 2 days of travel to and from Punta Arenas. I upgraded to a standard dome for the 3 nights spent at Eco camp. I found Eco camp to be a really wonderful place, domes and shared bathrooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friedly and helpful and the food is really good. My experience on the actually trek was not as positive. The communication as to what to bring was non existent and the information on the web site is incorrect. For example, on the web site it states you will received two 20 liter bags that the porters will carry when in reality you only receive one. The tents at the camps were filthy, improperly pitched and my tent at camp Grey was patched with duck tape, needless to say not a water proof patch so I slept in a wet tent. We felt our head guide was basically annoyed by our presence, he even left us behind during a dangerous river crossing. The assistant guide was the complete opposite, really helpful and kind. Overall I'm not sure i would recommend Cascada as your tour guide option.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your wonderful review of EcoCamp and also your comments about the circuit which are regrettable and clearly need addressing. You should have received a pre-trip information pack after booking detailing what to bring, according to your sales consultant this was sent to you on December 12th along with booking instructions. In terms of the dry bags yes you should have received two 15 liter bags (with up to 5kg/11lbs to be packed in each) as clearly stated on the website, however I’ve been informed that in your case the guide for reasons as yet unknown decided to allocate one per person. We apologise for this and will be investigating why this decision was made. I’m told the night was very wet at Grey campsite and that duct tape covering miniscule holes is usually an effective solution, but clearly this needs reviewing in light of your comments, as does the cleaning issue which has never surfaced before because we’ve always maintained very high standards of cleanliness. In terms of your head guide I offer our most profound apologies, we pride ourselves on our high guiding standards in terms of safety & enjoyable company and we will be speaking to him to see why his behaviour was so out of character. I’m glad your assistant guide was helpful & kind and a good representation of the kind of guides we employ.

Overall we apologise for your Circuit experience and are very disappointed to receive the first negative feedback we’ve had from over 150 participants so far this season. I only hope that your positive EcoCamp experience acted as compensation for our very unexpected circuit shortcomings, which we will now be thoroughly investigating.

With best wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Ecocamp, coming from the U.S. We wanted to maximize our opportunity to have some good weather for our hikes and excursions. As it turned out, we had 3 good days of weather and 2 not so good. In fact 4 nights there would be ideal, if the weather cooperated.

The accomodations were very nice - we stayed in the "suite dome" and enjoyed the ambience. The food at Ecocamp was great. Everyday we made our own lunch to take with us and at night we had a gourmet meal with wine.

The service of the staff was very good and the guides for the hikes and excursions were very good as well.

For something different than what you typically do when traveling, I would recommend Ecocamp. It is expensive, but then it's a long ways from civilization and it must be very costly to operate Ecocamp. I would call it one of those "once-in-a lifetime" experiences.

Room tip: The suite domes are worth the extra cost.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartlandWisMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed 6 nights at EcoCamp in your Suite dome, soaking up EcoCamp’s ambience, gourmet meals with wine and enjoying making your own packed lunch each day! Thank you for picking up on our high operating costs, we appreciate your understanding and are very happy that you found our service to be of a deservedly high standard as well as our guides and excursions. Unfortunately you can never predict the weather in Torres del Paine so always best to come for a day or two extra just as you did to make sure you get a clear day with that jaw-dropping view of the Towers!

Thank you for your review!
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was one of our favorite parts of an extensive Patagonia tour. The Suite Domes are very comfortable, heated with wood-burning stoves and lovely appointments--all organic of course! We rented a dome WITH bathroom and shower. There are others more basic and cheaper, but we're not that into roughing it. The stove, bathroom and shower were important to us. This adds expense, however. The food was very good in our opinion and there's always a vegetarian choice. There were wonderful outings each day, either trekking, biking or others, and we adored the staff--our "counselors". We admired and cooperated with all of their efforts to be "green". If you go, bring your own plastic bottle for carrying water around while hiking. The ones they have there are only glass and add a lot of weight to your pack. It's a bit of an effort to get there but, if you aren't a fussy person, you won't regret it. We stayed 3 days which was just about right. I wouldn't call this the epitome of "glamping", but in the dome suites it's pretty comfortable. The service is very laid back by a young staff. It was fine for all of us, and we're in our 70's and well traveled.

Room tip: I believe all of the Suite Domes have a great view. We were in #1, which was terrific.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we’re very happy to hear that EcoCamp was one of your favourite places on your Patagonia tour! Glad you found your Suite Dome comfortable & well decorated and enjoyed the wonderful view of the towers! Also glad to hear you enjoyed the food (including vegetarian choices) and the daily trekking & cycling excursions. That’s wonderful you adored our staff and cooperated with us in every effort to be green, thank you.

Our very best wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews