We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”
Review of Hotel Lago Tyndall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while we were exploring the park. I had done a fair amount of research and we opted for one of the efficiency cabins on site. My expectations were not high but it suited us. FIrst it is a great location for the price. We paid $150 per night and since we could cook our own food, not only did we eat better but it was much cheaper. It is about 5 minutes from the south entrance to the park. Right now the road is closed from Puerto Natales so you have to enter from the other side of the park but we were aware of this, and the gas situation, so we bought a plastic jerry can in Punta Arenas and had extra gas. We probably didn't need it. We didn't have much interaction with the staff except when we went to the lobby to use the internet since we had no signal at our cabin. We arrived really early but they let us use a cabin to change and store our food until we could officially check in.

So our cabin had a small kitchen with a large fridge, and 4 burner small gas stove. It had enough pots and kitchen things for us to cook with. It was old but was relatively clean for its age. It had two bedrooms with 2 single beds in each. They were comfortable but we were tired from all the hiking. The bathroom wasn't wonderful but the toilet worked and the shower was fairly new. At first the cabin was cold and the water was lukewarm but my husband bumped up the water heater temperature and we had nice hot water and that helped keep the cabin warmer since it was heated that way. It would not pass any insulation tests and you could see gaps in wood on the front door and there were drafts. One of the windows leaked a bit when we had a huge storm with tons of wind and rain but all in all it was as we expected.

The view is amazing from every window and we were not there to hang out in the cabin. Its not cheap but nothing is in the park which is fair enough. I am not sure I would have wanted to stay in the hotel proper but we were satisfied with our cabin for what we wanted. Torres del Paine is amazing and that was the purpose for the trip!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajy733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

The experience with this hotel was simply "horrible"! We arrived in the evening because the road to Puerto Natales was closed and we were tired, hungry and needed a place to stay for the night. We arrived at 9.30 PM and asked for a room only for 1 night. They requested 167 dollars (official rate, but everybody in Torres Del Paine applied a lower than official rate). We requested a small discount as it was unexpected and the price was high and then it was already evening and we wanted only to sleep and leave the early morning day after. The people were really unpleaseant and the manager, understanding our weak position and the fact that we had no alternatives just said (with a smiley-foxy face): "I am sorry it's high season and we are fully booked" (faulse, it was not full high season, and anyway it was not fully booked). We had to accept and we requested for the dinner (we were starving). 68 dollars for 2 in a buffet which was very very poor and almost empty because at the end. So we tried to ask a small discount at least on dinner rate, and the guy with the same smiley face said: I am sorry it is not possible, we are fully booked. We were really upset but we accepted and went to the room to leave the luggage. The room was small and seemed the ones you have in a hostel (I was used to stay in the hostel but not for 167 dollars!!). Finally, although we were desperate, we decided to leave the hotel for 2 main reasons: the price was not acceptable for that room and the behavior of the people was really horrible. We have been lucky and we found another much better hotel with more kind and reasonable people. Accomodation is everything, nice place, nice services, nice people! DO NOT GO!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gianluca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Horrible place!
One of the worst hotel experiences of my life in one of the most incredible landscapes in the world.
The road to the hotel was closed which meant an additional 150km each way in a region without gas stations and they don't inform you about it. Then they try to sell you gasoline for 3 times the normal price.
They tried to overcharge me at all times. At the restaurant (food was horrible) they tried to charge me in USD with a very bad exchange rate and on top of that they were charging me the wrong prices!!!
When I was leaving the hotel they again tried to overcharge me for my stay. And then I was rude.....

Room Tip: As far as I gathered from other travellers all rooms and cabins are dirty and with problems regardin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alfredo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in one of the cabins, the weather was spectacular. Computer in reception was very slow, but wifi ok.

The best thing was the view of Torres del Paine massif, same view as on the front of the green Austral Cervesa can.

Staff are friendly, food plentiful (need to preorder lunch) but our cabin heating was mediocre.

Room Tip: The cabins are self contained and quaint, but had to ask for basics, e.g coffee, tea and milk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulpower2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went to Torres Del Paine in the winter as that was the time available. The cabins here were the only place available as all other lodging is closed for the winter, so we signed up and took our chances. This review is a bit long but I want to cover a few points about travel here in general and the cabins

It is a total of 350 Km drive from Punta Arenas where you fly into. We rented a car, and I would recommend it for the freedom it provides.

Stop in Puerto Natales and fill up. It is 250 km north of Punta Arenas, 90 km from the newer southwest entrance to the park and 120 Km from the east side entrance. There are no gas stations in or near the park.

We also stocked up on food in Puerto Natales as in the winter at least we hand to provide all of our own food. There are plenty of markets in PN and many take credit cards

The turn off to Lago Tyndal is to the left and just short of the southwest entrance to the park.

We were greeted by Jose Luis, the facility manger. He is one of the most gracious hosts you will ever encounter. He attended to our every need and went far above the call of duty to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Although not cheap by any means, from what I could gather these are far less expensive than the several lodges in or near the park.

The cabins are a bit worn, but once inside they are very cozy. The two bedroom cabin was warm and there was plenty of hot water when needed. The rooms have twin beds. We had all the cookware we needed. As it was winter, for two days we spent a lot of time in our "home" hoping we didn't come all this way to not see anything but sleet and rain! We were accompanied when outside by a couple of people friendly dogs.

The winds are very strong down here, so at night the cabins shake, but are quite secure. It adds to the full Patagonia experience.

The clouds blew away on day three and we saw Torres Del Paine in all of its glory and had the park entirely to ourselves. It is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. The view from the cabins is awesome.

If you want to explore the park for a few days you will need to return to Puerto Natales to refuel the car. The drive to and from is almost as beautiful as the park itself, so not such a bad thing.

Unless you require luxury, I would highly recommend Lago Tyndal as your home base to explore this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2nights while in the Torres del Paine National Park. We had one of the bigger rooms on the second floor of the main building which offered wonderful views of the peaks. The dinner was decent. The internet connection at the lobby was patchy and there is only 1 computer. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Perfect after a day out sightseeing. We walked along the nearby river and saw some of the staff fishing. Recommend to go for horseriding. The staff are also very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penangtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lago Tyndall has motel style rooms in the main complex and 5-6 self-contained cabins on the property. We were a group of 5 so we opted for the self-contained cabins. The kitchen wasn't really equipped for cooking very much, and the cabin itself was pretty basic, but when you are in paradise, it somehow adds to the charm. The views of Torres del Paine are simply spectacular from this location, and we found this place to be very charming. The staff were brilliant,and we enjoyed our meals in the Restaurant (in no small part due to the views afforded from the restaurant as well). The internet doesn't work very well, and the gas hot water pilot light kept going out, so our water would go cold, but everyone was very helpful and tried their best to keep it working, and really these small things are part of what makes a stay memorable, because it reminds us, that we're in the middle of pristine wilderness, and how difficult is it really to NOT have internet for a few days, or to simply appreciate the remoteness and amazing scenery ... and the difficulty that is faced in trying to bring all the modern day facilities to such a remote area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lago Tyndall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillypillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
856 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
39 reviews
18.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
481 reviews
26.6 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
246 reviews
19.8 mi away
Refugio Laguna Amarga
Refugio Laguna Amarga
#17 of 18 in Torres del Paine National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lago Tyndall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lago Tyndall

Address: Sector Rio Serrano S/N, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $138 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lago Tyndall 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging service in Ccabins for four and six people, Cabins with two and one bathroom, parking for vehicles available . Service Availability: all the year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lago Tyndall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Tyndall Hosteria Hotel Torres Del Paine
Hotel Lago Tyndall Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing