We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Nearby Hotels
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation(Torres del Paine National Park)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nash Patagonia Lodge(Torres del Paine National Park)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Capitan Eberhard(Puerto Natales)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Martin Gusinde(Puerto Natales)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Glaciares(Puerto Natales)
$80
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costaustralis(Puerto Natales)
$125
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natalino Hotel Patagonia(Puerto Natales)
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
41
90
45
32
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
90
45
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspuerto natalestwin bedspunta arenasthe staff was friendly and helpfulnational parksuperior roomremote areamain buildingfour daysdel painecabinturnstilehikehorses
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 238 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lago Tyndall has motel style rooms in the main complex and 5-6 self-contained cabins on the property. We were a group of 5 so we opted for the self-contained cabins. The kitchen wasn't really equipped for cooking very much, and the cabin itself was pretty basic, but when you are in paradise, it somehow adds to the charm. The views of Torres del Paine are simply spectacular from this location, and we found this place to be very charming. The staff were brilliant,and we enjoyed our meals in the Restaurant (in no small part due to the views afforded from the restaurant as well). The internet doesn't work very well, and the gas hot water pilot light kept going out, so our water would go cold, but everyone was very helpful and tried their best to keep it working, and really these small things are part of what makes a stay memorable, because it reminds us, that we're in the middle of pristine wilderness, and how difficult is it really to NOT have internet for a few days, or to simply appreciate the remoteness and amazing scenery ... and the difficulty that is faced in trying to bring all the modern day facilities to such a remote area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lago Tyndall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillypillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a cabin that was spacious but on the bare bones, rustic side. We absolutely loved the view during the day, and at night, if it is clear, be sure to go outside and enjoy the southern sky in this very dark location. Unlike some situations, breakfast was not included with stays in the cabin, so be aware of this, and though staff is friendly, you are sort of on your own in terms of getting your luggage to the cabin, etc. Great fun awakening to horses grazing around the cabin. WiFi available in the lodging, but was either very slow and unusable, though given the remote location of TDP we really didn´t expect great wifi in any case. Given the high cost of all places in the area, this is probably a decent deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP2617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is located in Rio Serrano, which is to say a town so small that you have really few alternatives to Hosteria Lago Tyndall. The place is nice, though, even if maybe the price is sensitive to the lack of competition. The best part is the view over the Torres del Paine, really gorgeous.

Room Tip: The upper floor (there are only two) allows you a bit more privacy. If you stay on the lower floor, all other guests will have to pass right beside your window.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in a double room with ensuite bathroom for 3 nights. Paid US$167 per night including breakfast . Now, firstly one would need to accept that accommodation is expensive here in Torres Del Paine. Rio Serrano is less than 10 mins drive from the south entrance to the national park, conveniently close even though it is not technically in the park itself. In summary, in terms of location and value, this hotel is great. Although $167 per night may be considered expensive, especially when you know you're in Chile, try to look at how much Hotel Rio Serrano or some of the hotels in the park would be. You would quickly conclude that this can be considered cheap.

They also have 2 bed cabins with a kitchen for around $160 which would be great value if you plan to bring and cook your own food. we didn't stay in one of those so can't comment, but just thought I should mention.

PROs:
1. Comfortable rooms, a little small but ok.

2. Location is fantastic - literally less than 10 mins drive to the south entrance of the park.

3. Comfortable beds and pillows

4. Excellent view of the Cuernos (mountains) from the room's window

5. No problems with hot water.

6. Breakfast is good - eggs, bread, dulce de leche, toasts. Usual breakfast stuff.

7. Friendly and helpful reception staff. For example, our can opener broke and he kindly found a can opener to loan us.

CONs:
1. Very thin walls - if there's someone in the hallway, you can hear it. You can even hear the people in adjacent rooms. I personally don't have a problem with it but some people might.

2. WiFi was not working very well. Very patchy.

3. Not much hanging space in the room. Basically because there's no place for a wardrobe anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Over, good experience for the price. (This part of the world is not cheap!) Located in Rio Serrano, immediately outside south entrance to Torres del Paine Park. 70 km gravel road to here from Puerto Natales has stunning views of the peaks and is more convenient than staying in Puerto Natales. However, it is still another 1.5 hour drive over gravel roads (again with great views) from hotel to the most famous hikes (to the base of the towers or around the towers). Lago Grey is fairly close, however. Views from the hotel itself of the Torres are spectacular. We stayed in the cabins which are older and far from fancy. The lodge itself is newer and a little more upscale with nice sitting areas. Breakfast not included, but was reasonable at $6 per head and included cereals, fruit salad, cold cuts, scrambled eggs, etc.. Dinner is 3-course fixed menu with two entre choices, OK but no vegetables. Although twice the price, the Rio Serrano Hotel next door (which is upscale) had a very excellent dinner buffet open to non-residents, so you do have other choices. If you want to self cater, you must bring your food from Puerto Natales—there is very little in the park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron and Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews