We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”
Review of Hotel Lago Tyndall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had a ball staying 2 nights in these cozy & comfortable cabins. The first morning we woke to the most amazing view of horses grazing 3' from our deck, the river, the sunrise on the mountains, and a double rainbow! This property is just outside the south entrance of Torres del Paine. It was a little over our budget at $159 per night, but figured if this cabin was in Montana or Colorado, it would have been twice that. The manager spoke excellent English and was very helpful planning our hikes.
Stop in Puerto Natales to buy your groceries and then drive to the park, take shorter road to the south entrance to the park. You will still have to drive over 1 hour to the start of the 18km tower hike. Also don't miss Lago Grey, a quick 1 hour hike near the south entrance.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 236 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

we were two couples and we stayed at a cabin for 6. there were two bathrooms and each couple had its privacy. the price is less than the price for a room and breakfast is good and included. the cabin has a kitchen and dining area and we bought products from puerto natales and cooked evening meals. the views are amazing and we could see the torres and went for strolls to the serrano river nearby. the cabins are not very well kept and one window fell out, the radiator in the bedroom could not be turned off and eventually fell from the wall and the gas which kept the water hot ran out on the last night. hoze at the front desk was nice and helpful and helped us organize a zodiac trio which begins near the hotel and offered tips and was even willing to sell us 20 litres of deisel...

Room Tip: try the cabins if traveling more than a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michalbassat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel is located just at the entrance of the National Park in a nice area with good view on Torres del Paine.
The first 'standard' room was really small and loud.
The next day, (without requesting it) we could move to a Superior room that was very nice, large and quiet.
The breakfast is not very fancy, juices are not fresh, not always eggs.
The dinner (Menu 3 courses) was also not very exciting, we could choose between 2 main dishes.
The receptionists were friendly, helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacques D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Some of the reviews here made me nervous about booking my family at Lago Tyndall, but I didn'tseen to have any other good alternatives in Torres del Paine for a family of 5. I think I made the right choice.

First, the cabins have the best views at the property because they are in front of the hotel. On a clear day, the view is spectacular. Second, the 6-person cabin is HUGE. Three bedrooms, 2 baths, large kitchen, large living room, etc. Nothing is "new" in the cabin (except perhaps one of the bathrooms), but the conditions are certainly reasonable for the end-of-the-earth. The bedrooms all have electric radiators, and there is a wood stove in the family room. Get good instructions on operating the stove, as it might make all the difference as to whether you'll be cold or warm that night! The beds themselves ranged from very good to fair condition.

We didn't eat in local restaurants because we brought food from the supermarket in Puerto Natales. I definitely recommend you do this if you rent a cabin. The kitchen was reasonably furnished with burners,an oven, a large refrigerator, etc. -- everything you would likely need except a microwave.

If you have your own vehicle, the location is very good: 6 kilometers from the park entrance station. You are not technically in the park, but the views are at least as good. Some of the in-park accomodations actually have worse location for the major scenic area.

We paid US$198/night for our cabin which, for Torres del Paine, is reasonable. And our ability to cook our own food help keep expenses down.

Bottomline, if you're travelling in a group, renting a cabin at the Lago Tyndall is a good choice for Torres del Paine.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyndall-d, Propietario at Hotel Lago Tyndall, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Passenger:
I apreciatte your coments about your experiencein Hostería Lago Tyndall.
The six person cabin and also the other ones, haves not electrical radiatos at their rooms, but central heating system.
Jus to commet that not only november or Sumer is a good seson to stay there, also wonter time especially August is good time to spend some days there.
Days are shorter, that is right, but the view is much better end days are more clear.

Thanks again about youy comments.

Best Regards
CristianBore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel has great views and is not far from the national park but it seems to be constructed from paper, making the rooms very loud - we were upstairs and could hear someone snoring on the floor below and every word that was said by people talking in nearby rooms, while some of their conversations were funny to listen to it does not make for a great sleep. The set menu dinner was poor and lacked any imagination or effort, as did the accompanying salad bar. Breakfast was also disappointing. Fortunately we were only booked in for one night and left tired from lack of sleep.

Room Tip: If you must stay here then spend extra money on one of the cabins, that way you might get a reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth_Mark_and_Hansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyndall-d, Propietario at Hotel Lago Tyndall, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Dear Guest:

I just read your comments about your stay in Hostería Tyndall.
Firt: thanks about yor honety, is just what we need in order to improve and satisfy your expectives.
Unfortunatlely I was not there when you have visit us, but I suppose you ve sleep (or try to) in a standart room.
Our policy is to let you know, as soon as you make your Chek in. about the noise insulation problem in those room, and if is possible, we use to offer by the same price, a superior room which were build later and all the imperfection of the standart rooms have been solved. (Size, insulation, view etc.)
As explication please accept me that sure, all the superior rooms must have been occupied, otherwise, I am sure, Reception would offer you with no hesitation, a superior room, because we know about the problems of the standart room which unfortunatelly, is already almost impossible to improve.

Best Regards;

Cristian Bore
cborepp@hotmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Although the Hotel is outside Torres del Paine National Park, it's very close to its entrance and it has excellent views to the mountains.
Its price is very cheap compared with the rest of the hotels of the area. Its facilities are also great with a bar on the second floor with a lot of varieties of drinks with a very affordable price.
You have the option to stay in cabins for 4 people outside the hotel, which is a great option for group travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidstgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We walked into the lobby, about 3 hours later than we had told them to expect us and were greeted by manager Jose Luis with, "Tommie Sue! We've been wondering where you were!" That reception set the stage for a wonderful 3-night, 2-day stay at the Lago Tyndall Hosteria. Jose Luis proved to be a fount of information about everything related to the park. We were shown to our room--all rooms face the Torres del Paine (Towers of Paine, pronounced PIE-nay, which is not someone's last name but an indigenous word that means "blue") and were delighted with its size and the view. The bed provided three nights of comfortable sleep and there was more than enough room to spread round our multiple suitcases. Hot water was plentiful and immediate. There are no TVs in the rooms--a mercy from our perspective. A wide screen TV is always on in the lobby for those who can't kick the habit.

The restaurant on the second floor, over the lobby, serves breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet is included in the room price; the latter costs $25 per person for a set menu--no choices. This is the one downside of this inn; however, all food must be brough in over land from Punta Arenas, 3.5 hours away. Because this is the bottom of the world and growing seasons are short, the only plentiful local food is seafood. Otherwise everything is imported, which is either a 3 day drive or a 5 hour flight from Santiago. In other words food is not cheap in southern Patagonia and the more remote the location, the more expensive it becomes. In this context, $25 for dinner isn't exhorbitant. The problem is when one has had a large lunch and wants a light supper. We solved the problem by walking over to the next-door hotel and having supper in the bar--we shared an enormous sandwich that, with drinks, cost $25 for both of us.

The quality of the food at Lago Tyndall is good but not spectacular. The service, however, more than makes up for any shortcomings. The only problem is that when there is a bus tour and the restaurant is full, getting a condiment may take a bit of persistence. But Chileans are famously kind and charming--and all the service staff at the Tyndall lived up to this reputation.

Speaking of bus tours: if there is one in the hotel, it is a good idea to eat earlier than they do. This is true for both breakfast and dinner.

The staff, especially Jose Luis (who, sadly, left the hosteria at the end of March) were friendly,helpful, and knowledgeable about all things related to the park. Jose Luis provided suggestions about places to eat lunch on the day we did a driving tour of the park and his recommendations were excellent.

The hosteria has wi-fi Internet connection but real-time connection is problematic, because of the location and the lack of cell towers. We tried 2-3 times to get one line but finally gave up and waited until we returned to Punta Arenas. We were told that the hotel is trying to improve service but the location--in a broad valley surrounded by mountains-- probably means it will not happen soon.

We would, without question, return to the Lago Tyndall and do recommend it to anyone who is thihking about visiting Torres del Paine.

Room Tip: Frequent e-mail with reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tsmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
886 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
44 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,276 reviews
21.8 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
493 reviews
25.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Tres Pasos
Hotel Posada Tres Pasos
#2 of 2 in Torres del Paine National Park
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lago Tyndall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lago Tyndall

Address: Sector Rio Serrano S/N, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $138 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lago Tyndall 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging service in Ccabins for four and six people, Cabins with two and one bathroom, parking for vehicles available . Service Availability: all the year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lago Tyndall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Tyndall Hosteria Hotel Torres Del Paine
Hotel Lago Tyndall Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing