We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfortable, but busy refugio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable, but busy refugio”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Despite other reviews, we would recommend this refugio for any serious walkers, but it is not cheap. The 6-berth bunk rooms were comfortable, clean and had good views. There is a pleasant bar area and sitting areas. It is a busy refugio with many people staying and the friendly staff do their best to provide good food. It is not a hotel! The showers lacked hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    83
    42
    44
See reviews for
21
126
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Located at the western end of the popular 'W' walk, this lodge has great views of the mountains. We were there towards the end of the season, when the weather was turning colder. There was no heating in the bedrooms or the main dining room, the bathrooms were not cleaned or checked often enough (e.g. only 1 of 3 toilets had paper), and some staff seemed very jaded and unwelcoming. In contrast, the receptionist was very friendly. Nowhere near as good as the hostel at the other end of the park, although prices are similar.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emba999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

As one of the larger refugios to stay in during the W Trek, overall experience was disappointing. The place is freezing with only 2 fire stoves, although we were provided with extra duvets on request. Although this is the service we had already paid for and were not given. The floors are dirty because unlike fantastico-sur run refugios they have no policy for people to remove their muddy boots on arrival. Kitchen staff were extremely rude to the point of just ignoring questions. 2 PCs allow you to access the internet, which is what makes it different.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MeneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torres del Paine National Park hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on the third night of my stay in Torres del Paine. Paine Grande is huge - essentially it is like a full on hotel in the park. Good points: great showers (they're hot, have good pressure & convenient changing cubicles attached) and good food - dinner included an array of salads and they catered well for the vegetarians. Internet - if you do need to connect with the outside world for any reason, they have internet, but not WiFi. Negative points: this place is freezing. The sleeping bags provided were thin and cold & we had to ask twice for additional blankets. In terms of atmosphere, Paine Grande didn't really have any. The floors are also quite dirty - obviously its difficult to keep the place clean with everyone coming in and out with their walking boots on, but maybe they should have a policy where people are asked to take their boots off before they go inside the area with the bedrooms & accommodation?

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sachi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our W trek landed us here on the third night, and we felt like it was Nirvana getting to that place. It's huge and very new, with an enormous common area facing the lake and a smaller bar area above that. For dinner we got a spectacular red sunset over the water. After a few days of hiking and crappy food, we loved Paine Grande's ENORMOUS portions (we got a mound of mashed potatoes, a huge roasted drumstick, and salad), as well as the large, clean and well lit bathrooms AND electric outlets available to charge phones. We felt pretty spoiled. I recommend wrapping up you're trek on this end, rather than Chileno!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This was the last stop at the end of our W circuit trek. The lodge itself is nice and modern with a beautiful view of the lake and the surrounding mountains. The positive aspects of this refugio include the food variety and meal service. It's by no means excellent but better than in the other refugios that were more remotely located in the park. There is also a decent sized mini-mart to buy snacks although the mini-mart prices were outrageously expensive as with most other items for purchase within the park. The bathrooms were clean and well lit with actual space to put down your clothes and personal belongings while you shower. There is also a lively (and very loud) bar on the second floor with beautiful views of the surroundings. The negative aspects of this refugio included the service (while certain of the staff members were pleasant, others acted as if they are doing you a favour by allowing you to stay here - somebody needs to advise them that this is not summer camp!). The bedrooms were also very small and cramped (with 3 bunk beds). Our particular bunk smelt aweful and to make matters worse, one of the hikers who was assigned to bunk with us stumbled in the room drunk and woke us all up past midnight, following which he ended up vomiting all over himself and passing out until the next morning! This obviously made my experience here a bad one but the incident was personal and may have been unique. Later did I find out that this place offers rooms for 2 people only so if you are couple, see if you can get a double room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Paid for my stay here as part of a package by Fantastico Sur. While not owned by them, this place is like paradise in TdP. It has a minimart, private rooms and hot showers and stuff! And even a bigger bar! The only other accommodation that could triumph over this would be the explora resort. Only downside is that the campers liked to talk till midnight so that may have some impact on sleep quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
3.6 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
452 reviews
11.7 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,154 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
22.3 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
452 reviews
5.4 mi away
explora Patagonia
explora Patagonia
#4 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Vertice Paine Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Vertice Paine Grande

Property: Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Address: | Sector Paine Grande, Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile (Formerly Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter)
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Refugio Vertice Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds). Restrooms feature hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: The shelter does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Refugio Vertice Paine Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing