We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overprized, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“overprized, bad service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at Paine Grande for one night and it was a bad overall experience.
The room was small and there were no lockers in the rooms. Showers were at times cold.
The staff is not service-minded and communication from booking to staff is non-existing. Before making the booking we asked via email if the lodge could cater for two vegans which they said they could. When we arrived we were given an OK dinner (salad, rice, vegetables) but although having paid the same prize as everybody else, no vegan soup had been provided. After complaining we at least got a dessert (a small bowl of tinned fruit).
Breakfast the next morning was even worse. Regular breakfast would have included toast, cheese, ham, eggs, jam, sugar-loaden juice, corn flakes and they wanted to give us toast and jam. This is simply not enough if you plan to go hiking on that day and it's not healthy either. Even non-vegetarians complained to me about the gross breakfast at Paine Grande. After complaining again (something which is not what I want to do when on a vacation, especially not at that prize and with asking in advance) we were given leafs of lettuce, zucchini, tomatoes and tinned fruit.
The lunchbox was white bread with lettuce and tomatoes, fruit juice, nuts, nut bar (not vegan again).
Of all 5 lodges we stayed at during our hikes Paine Grande was by far the worst. Even as non-vegans/vegetarians I advise all hikers to bring your own food into the park as the food provided by the lodges is inedible at most times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    82
    42
    44
See reviews for
21
125
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked four beds here, two simple and two made. Not knowing that we would be put in two different bedrooms on opposite ends of the lodge. The simple beds are on the lake end of the lodge in rooms of 3 double bunks. The made beds are on the mountain side of the lodge, windy side, and a narrow room with made one bunk bed. perfect size for two people. I also noticed a made bed room for four people too. Didn't notice the noise at night as other posts noted.
The only negative we had was we were told when we checked in that the hotel did not have propane/gas due to some sort of government control, however we had not been told this at the 2 prior refugios we had stayed at or noticed the lack of heat. It was noticeably colder at our side of the building that we actually had to sleep with our beanies and socks on. Although I was very glad to be inside and not camping in the high winds. Since the campground is not sheltered at all from the wind as at Cuernos.
Meals are served cafeteria style here, vs served at your table at the other refugios. Seconds if you wanted may not be a problem, although we didn't seem to need them.
I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawdlejournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unteraegeri
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Refugio Paine Grande is huge huge huge, however the rooms are with 8 beds of a comfortable size. The food is decent. The view simply stunning. The showers are okay but you may have quite a long way to go from your bedroom. For one night only it is comfortable, and most important of it all, it is a warm shelter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterp_knobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed one night in Paine Grande lodge, and what a regret. Reception was not very friendly, the cantine like food (as served in most lodges in Torres del Paine) not exactly a culinary highlight, but worst of all is the lay-out of the building. There is no separation between the eating and lounge areas and the sleeping area, which means that noise from these areas is overwhelming. We couldn't sleep until well after midnight because groups of people were still drinking and talking quite loudly in the open areas. Although a stay in the lodge is rather expensive, little was done (both in lay-out of the building, neither in demanding some discipline) to make this a positive experience for guests who wanted some rest after a long day in the park.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in Paine Grande, ask for a room as far a way from the common area as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torres del Paine National Park hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Check-in was smooth and the staff seem friendly. Our room with 6 bunks was tight but simple and clean- with hooks and cubbies for storage. Price-wise- it's a racket to stay in the park, but we had no other choice besides camping. We did bring our own sleeping bags, but the ones they rent out seemed OK. Facilities are college dorm style, but outlets are only in the halls so you can't plug valuables and leave it (phone, camera, etc). In the sitting lounge, most outlets weren't even working, and it was freezing with only one of many fireplaces actually going in the lodge. Dinner at $20pp plus $10 for a mini bottle of wine is overpriced too but comforting after a day's long hike. They gladly plated us vegetarian plain-sauce spaghetti instead of the default bolognese. Overnight, the wind kept making all the bathroom doors open and slam non-stop- all night! I think they're metal too, because they sounded like lightening every time. The doors should have a hydraulic attachment if this is a common issue. By morning, all but one stall was broken in the women's bathroom, and trash overflowing. At least the shower stalls have a separate enclosed bench for drying and changing- very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Junction, OR
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our group of 9 adults had a truly marvelous time hiking the W circuit. We started from Ecocamp, spent the next night at Refugio Los Cuernos and spent the third night at this lodge. We had a glorious and sunny day hiking up into the French Valley so we were in very high spirits when we arrived at the lodge. Six of us stayed in a room with 3 sets of bunk beds while the other 3 joined up with 3 "strangers" in another bunk bed room. Despite many trips travelling together, this was the first time we had slept in the same room and it was like adult summer camp, albeit coed! We were provided with sheets and sleeping bags and had a great time though I have to admit that sleeping pills and ear plugs came in handy. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and hot water was plentiful. This lodge has glorious views and some nice areas to sit outside in the sun. Food was decent and plentiful - no complaints about dinner, breakfast or the packed lunch. Go with the right attitude and expectations and you should have a good experience.

Room Tip: There may be some double bunk bed rooms available but the tour we were on put us in 6 person co-ed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The worse service that I ever had!
We came from a snowy trip and learned that the heating was not working. Than, after hours of frozen rooms, the heating began to work, but thye shut it off after an hour because of the place regulations,,, :-(((
The stuff behaved as if they hate the guests, and especially the little girl in the reception, that managed the place so poorly and repulsive.
If you have other alternative, do yourself a favor and stay away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meron_sasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
11.7 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,153 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
449 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
22.3 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
451 reviews
5.4 mi away
explora Patagonia
explora Patagonia
#4 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Property: Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
Address: Sector Paine Grande | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Shelter Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds) uo to 100 guests. Restrooms features hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: The shelter does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing