We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don'r trust this company, they refuse to refund my money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don'r trust this company, they refuse to refund my money”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Avoid using this company. They cancelled my visit in December and I have since spent 4 months trying to arrange for a refund via email. I went to their office the day after cancellation and they refused to refund me there and said they could only transfer the money into my account. Now I have left the country they just tell me over email they sent refund but still see nothing in my account. It is impossible to deal with them and they refuse to get their bank to try again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    83
    42
    44
See reviews for
21
126
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in this camp the last night before leaving by catamaran. Inside the general building is a shop, also some restaurant. The place is big for many tourists, the amenities were not clean, but water was hot. You can cook below the roof, there are tables etc, you can speak with the other people. Also the view around you is wonderful

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great location and views of the mountains. Easy access to walking treks. We were surprised that the communal kitchen did not provide any pots, pans for cooking. Only a stove was provided. Had to borrow from the other people just to boil water to make coffee/tea.

Rooms were clean and well taken care of. Beds were comfy and plenty of space to store your hiking gear.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I agree with the positive comments: Attractive location, clean, helpful guys at the reception, very social bar with long happy hour called happy sour because of Pisco Sour, what you definately should try. But .. there was something very ennuying. In the morning,before the dining room opens at 8.00am - which I think is pretty late for hikers- there were aqlready four or five dozen people waiting in front of the door. Result was a queue at the buffet so long that we had to wait almost one hour (!) to get a cup of coffee. The same happens in the evening at dinner time.That could be organized much better. We finally went into the small food shop of the refugio to get quick access to breakfast items at extra costs. And yes, its $95 per person in a 4-bed room and communal bathroom. But, if you want to do the W and do not want to sleep in a tent, there is not much choice. The refugio Las Torres e.g. is not as attractive, the rooms are equiped with 6 beds and the prize is as well $ 95 per person including bed sheets, breakfast and dinner. But you have to know that the only hotel close to the hiking trails, which is Hosteria Torres costs about $ 390 for the double, room only. All the other hotels are far away from the trails.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is a lodge/refugio, not a luxury accomodation. Values is excellent given there are no other food outlets there. But also, food is plentyful, repeat servings is wanted.
Bar is extremely helpful, will accept dollar payments and return Chilean Pesos, at official rate.
Rooms have bunk beds, can be mixed gender, but are clean and comfortable. Shoes are mostly left outside the room (by guests' initiative), which is helpful in hiking environments.
Warm, cozy log fires are lit in public areas on cold nights.
Reception staff is very friendly, as is kitchen staff.
Common area bathrooms are poorly fitted - not fault of the hotel, but the organization - saving in the wrong place.
Perfect place for meeting fellow hikers/treckers and making new friends.
Next to the landing of the catamaran.
I rated the sleep quality as not 100% because the wind was howling too much!

Room Tip: Close to the bathrooms, there are not many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

It is somewhat difficult to tell on their website but you cannot get a private room with a double bed and bathroom which is what we were hoping for for the price ($95/person!!). But the lodge itself was very nice and in a great location. The rooms were clean and the communal bathrooms were in good shape. I enjoye the food here MUCH more than Hotel Las Torres. It was more inexpensive and I thought it was good quailty. Overall, you really go here for the beautiful location and not a luxury hotel experience so although the price was high, we would return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank case0149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

After a very long day of hiking the W Trek, the sight of Paine Grande was amazing! We were so excited to see our home for the night. The most "hotel-like" of the spots along the trail we stayed at, it's large, with very clean rooms and nice communal showers. It was great to have couches and chairs to lounge in, not to mention a full service bar - all very much needed and deserved after all our hard work. The waterfront was great, too - fantastic to soak our legs in the glacial-temperature water for a little post-hike therapy. The service and food are where the cons come into play. Food was hands down, no questions asked, the worst of the entire trek, which seems slightly odd and disappointing given the size of the kitchen and number of staff, compared to the other places. But I can understand, because so many people come here on the boat for a daytrip. All in all, a nice spot for lounging after long days of hiking.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
11.7 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,155 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
454 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
22.3 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
453 reviews
5.4 mi away
explora Patagonia
explora Patagonia
#4 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Vertice Paine Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Vertice Paine Grande

Property: Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Address: | Sector Paine Grande, Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile (Formerly Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter)
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Refugio Vertice Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds). Restrooms feature hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: The shelter does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Refugio Vertice Paine Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing