We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great adventures for all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Torres Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great adventures for all”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent four nights here. Words cannot describe the beauty of the surroundings and the efficiency of the hotel guides and catering teams.

The ride and trek up to the granite towers was out of this world.

Special thanks to loco Philipe

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billypenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    363
    159
    72
    38
See reviews for
200
583
75
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Others have described this place as chalet style and it is a perfect description. We really liked this place; the main reason it doesn't get five stars is that it is pretty expensive and we felt a bit duped by the claims of all inclusive guiding each day, plus a couple of other small complaints.

The main reception area opens out into a big lounge/bar area where you can get drinks all day and food too - it serves sandwiches and good pizza and chips as well as a few proper meals. We were all inclusive and all inclusive does mean that, other than some premium drinks and a couple of premium menu items (which are all clearly marked). There wasn't any stage where we felt the need to go beyond what was included, ie the standard food and drink is good.

The whole place is two storey and whilst some rooms are in the main building, ours was further along in another building. The buildings are connected by a wooden walkway but you do have to go outside for a few seconds. Our room was standard and very nice - all looked newly done with a big be and basic furnishings. One good thing is there is a separate little hall when you first get into your room, which gives a bit more space for storage (there is a wardrobe and shelves unit here) plus it meant there was a second door leading to the bedroom. This effectively blocked out any noise from other guests on the corridor. The bathroom was nice and clean with a bath (essential after long walks!) and plenty of hot water and complimentary toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion etc). Our view was over the Torres Massif an the hotel vegetable gardens.

The food was generally good. Not amazing, but good. Breakfast was better than dinner, the usual selection of cold items including breads, cereal, yogurt, cheese etc together with hot items. Dinner was buffet style with a variety of soup and salad items for starters, several mains and a dessert selection. Despite there being several options for mains each night, both me and my husband felt on a couple of nights that there was nothing we really wanted to eat. Maybe that's us being a bit fussy (neither of us eat fish) but the meat on offer wasn't that great. And the spaghetti pomodoro one night (vegetarian anywhere else in the world!) had bits of seafood in the sauce. AFter that, we stuck to eating in the lobby bar.

We went all inclusive as we knew we wanting to do a lot of walking and this option included being guided and the transport. On the first day we did the Torres trek. We enjoyed it and the guided group was small; us and two others plus guide. However I would say if you're not staying all inclusive it is pretty easy to do the Torres trek unguided as the hotel is right at the bottom of the trail. There is only really one path so you could just follow it to the top. We left 9.30am to climb Torres and it took us about 4 and a half hours to get to the top (base of the towers lookout) and maybe 3 hr 45 down. It is spectacular at the top and not as hard as I expected. Challenging yes but not really difficult. For reasons we couldn't fathom, 99% of people on the trail seemed to have walking poles but you don't need them.

The second day we did the Valley France. This time it was just us and the guide. To do this trek, you have to get a transfer (in the hotel minibus) to the ferry point which takes 40 mins, then catch the catamaran across the lake to the start point of the walk. We had to leave at 8am for this trek. It's a long day as you are at the mercy of ferry times on the way back (only three ferries a day each way); it was gone 8pm when we were back at hotel. Again this is a trek you could do easily yourself provided you have a means of getting to the start, but having a guide of course means you get to learn a bit about the local area, nature etc.

The reason we were annoyed with the trekking was on day three we wanted to do the grey glacier trek (ie complete the third leg of the "W"; the reason we'd come to Torres). But on the third day the only full day walks were Torres and Valley France, which we had already done (it wasn't weather related - they just were only doing two treks). It was the same on the fourth day; only the two same full day walks. We'd have been willing to do a different walk if Grey was un available (we understood it wasn't possible to do every combination of walks every day) but there was nothing else on offer on the full day side except horse riding or a trip round the park by bus. There were some half day walks but by the time you'd added in the bus time there and back, it was hardly worth it. And we didn't come to Torres to sit on a bus.

We felt a bit cheated as we had gone to Torres for one reason only - to walk. They advertise a lot of walking options but I felt they should have made it clear if you are there more than two days they run most walks infrequently. As it was we did Los Cuernos on our own on the third day. It was enjoyable but we felt ripped off. Given how easy it is to do Torres from the hotel, we shouldn't have bothered paying for all inclusive trekking. Or perhaps the hotel should put up an advance schedule of the walks to be put on each day of the week, subject to weather. There was a guided walk to Grey on the day we did the French Valley - if someone had told us that was our last chance to do Grey during our stay, we'd have swapped treks.

The lack of walk options was exacerbated by the fact the spa was also out of action. In the absence of a full day trek we decided we'd walk for a part of the day but be back by 5pm to enjoy the spa. We booked ourselves in but were later called to be told the spa was now closed. We didn't really get much more of an explanation than that. If you do want to use the spa, book in advance as from the bookings log I saw, it looked like they only had one therapist working in the spa and they don't work all day.

Other small annoyances were a broken safe in the room and housekeeping weren't that attentive - no towels on day one and then only one towel for each of us. Plus we were left a tray of prawns and cheese and fruit at one stage which was kind but we didn't eat as we'd been out for ten hours and the room was pretty warm! I left it clearly on the side by the door so it could be taken away the next day, but housekeeping left it there so when we came back to our room at 8.30pm it smelt of going-off prawns and cheese. Lastly as others have said, the wifi in the park is terrible because it is provided by satellite. Appreciate there isn't much the hotel can do but be warned it was pretty much the worst wifi I've ever experienced - you had to ask for a new password each day, it then generally took quite a long time to log in, and as soon as you switched your device to standby or lock screen, it booted you out. Occasionally we managed to send a text message or short email but uploading a single photo was a no-no.

Would we go back? Possibly, as other than the issues above we did have a good stay and the staff in the bar and restaurant and the trek guides were all lovely. but I'd check the guiding options before booking all inclusive again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinzofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed from the 22nd December 2013 for 4 nights, had the full package - not sure the cost but whatever it was it was worth it! Food, drinks (incl alcohol- cocktails & wines - which were very good wines, not the cheap stuff) were all inclusive and were very good - very fresh produce and plentiful. They also provide packed lunches (they need more variations on the sandwiches) with fruits, snacks, drinks, etc. when you go out. Apparently they also have master chef lunches if your at the hotel for lunch.
The downside is the way the excursions are arranged - it's a nightmare waiting to talk to a guide on what is available (as many excursions get full fast),this should be improved. The guides themselves when you're on an excursion are generally good, but don't expect them to walk slowly and wait for you, they dash off and leave you. If you're injured you'll need to take care of yourself, there is no medical kit. Also the guides don't really tell you the level of difficulty of some of the treks ie French Valley & Los Torres is quite challenging (even for fit people).
The other BAD point is the wifi, you need to get a password 1-2 times daily, they have a stupid IT guy that generates crazy passwords, the connection maybe 1 hr or if your lucky you may get a password for a 24hr connection & it drops out alot.
The rooms are nice, warm, clean & the views of the mountains are great. The restaurant staff are great.
otherwise the place is great. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groovysho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The remote location was made easy by professional and informative drivers. The rooms, staff and food were very good. The guided tours and the scenery were fantastic. Highly Recommended for active and adventurous people to stay in comfort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
243 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent four nights at Las Torres under the all exclusive option. Price seems high but when you add in all of the amenities for a family of five (with two hungry young men in tow) to enjoy it was well worth the price to us. It took us an hour or two to orient ourselves to everything that was included but our waiter Gabriel quickly adopted us and answered any and all questions we had while serving us an excellent lunch with wine included (as well as all subsequent meals). We enjoyed the hike to the towers (on Christmas day - complete with a snowball fight), the French Valley as well as the Lago Grey trip - hiking until we were exhausted most days and then returning to a hot shower and fine buffet dinner. Only negative we found was the wait staff at the bar was disorganized and inattentive. Other than that it was a great stop and we would have gladly added another day or two.

Room Tip: We had a room in the newer section with a view of the mountain but this means a longer walk to dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Coordinador de Marketing at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear BobN06, thanks for your review !!

I will make sure to tell Gabriel that he was a good help to you and your family.

I totally agree with you about this review subject line "Perfect location for trekking with comfort”... that is what we offer ...we offer an authentical and natural experience of being in the patagonia..but with comfort :)!!

Sorry about the experience at the bar. I will talk to them so that situations like that does not happen again.

kind regards and thanks to taking time to write about your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Las Torres does not really have to deliver to the level in which they do. But they do deliver even with price on the high side. But your other options are pretty much limited to camping or some "lodge" outside the park or busing in for several hour each way from Puerto Natales. Prices are on the high side but I didnt see this as gouging. Over our 4 night stay we found the "all inclusive" option worthwhile as the a la carte pricing was on the high side. As others have noted the hotel "excursions" are pushed at you ... again not such a problem if you are on the all inclusive option. While the excursions might be sold like time shares the excursions themselves are enjoyable and the guides are fun and knowledgeable. There is no obligation to participate you are free to explore the park on your own. Speaking Spanish does help all around Patagonia. The staff is great. .

Room Tip: The "fitness centre" is the hiking trails!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank VoiceOverMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf,ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location was perfect especially for those who wanted to hike. No need to get into a car as many hikes start right a the front door! Our room was clean and nice with plenty of storage space but nothing special. it did not face the mountain. The dining room dinner was expensive we chose to eat in the bar instead and it was fine. Breakfast was good. Check in was a bit of a chore. Internet service was terrible but that is a problem in the park in general. They require a password which is good for only a limited time probably to keep backpackers from stealing the service which already has inadequate bandwidth. They ran out of these passwords and were having problems generating day passes as opposed to 30 min ones. Compliments to a hotel employee who said "go to your room and I will drop off day passes when they are available rather than have you hang out in the lobby" and he did! I wish that I had gotten his name!

Conclusion: The location is perfect if you want to hike especially the hike to the "Mirador de Las Torres" but if you just want to see the sites of the park we much preferred the "Hosteria Lago Grey" better rooms, better views and it was about 20% cheaper!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Coordinador de Marketing at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Gbs4, thanks for sharing your comments. We appreciated your time on writing since we are always checking them in order to improve our services.
As you said “The location was perfect especially for those who wanted to hike”!! … and we agree with you!! 
We are located in a privileged location and many of the hikes start right here.
You are also right about the internet services: Since our internet is via satellite, we may experience some disruption time to time because of the weather. I remember this particular occasion that you were waiting for the internet codes since I was the person that talked to you and later brought the codes to your room. That day indeed we had a couple of hours of disruption and thank you for understanding the situation.
Thanks again for your comments Gbs4.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Torres Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres Patagonia

Property: Las Torres Patagonia
Address: Estancia Cerro Paine S/n | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 6170000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Torres Patagonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Torres is located in the heart of the National Park at the foot of the main tourist attraction, Las Torres del Paine and the starting point of the main trails of the park.With 84 room we offer All Inclusive Packages as well as bed & breakfast options.In any case, we are very flexible, with no fixed dates or days of arrival.We do have daily tour options to the main attractions of the park, as well as a nice restaurant with local cuisine options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Las Torres Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing