We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a place where there are limited lodging options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Torres Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In a place where there are limited lodging options”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Las Torres does not really have to deliver to the level in which they do. But they do deliver even with price on the high side. But your other options are pretty much limited to camping or some "lodge" outside the park or busing in for several hour each way from Puerto Natales. Prices are on the high side but I didnt see this as gouging. Over our 4 night stay we found the "all inclusive" option worthwhile as the a la carte pricing was on the high side. As others have noted the hotel "excursions" are pushed at you ... again not such a problem if you are on the all inclusive option. While the excursions might be sold like time shares the excursions themselves are enjoyable and the guides are fun and knowledgeable. There is no obligation to participate you are free to explore the park on your own. Speaking Spanish does help all around Patagonia. The staff is great. .

Room Tip: The "fitness centre" is the hiking trails!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank VoiceOverMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    364
    160
    72
    38
See reviews for
199
588
75
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sf,ca
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location was perfect especially for those who wanted to hike. No need to get into a car as many hikes start right a the front door! Our room was clean and nice with plenty of storage space but nothing special. it did not face the mountain. The dining room dinner was expensive we chose to eat in the bar instead and it was fine. Breakfast was good. Check in was a bit of a chore. Internet service was terrible but that is a problem in the park in general. They require a password which is good for only a limited time probably to keep backpackers from stealing the service which already has inadequate bandwidth. They ran out of these passwords and were having problems generating day passes as opposed to 30 min ones. Compliments to a hotel employee who said "go to your room and I will drop off day passes when they are available rather than have you hang out in the lobby" and he did! I wish that I had gotten his name!

Conclusion: The location is perfect if you want to hike especially the hike to the "Mirador de Las Torres" but if you just want to see the sites of the park we much preferred the "Hosteria Lago Grey" better rooms, better views and it was about 20% cheaper!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Coordinador de Marketing at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Gbs4, thanks for sharing your comments. We appreciated your time on writing since we are always checking them in order to improve our services.
As you said “The location was perfect especially for those who wanted to hike”!! … and we agree with you!! 
We are located in a privileged location and many of the hikes start right here.
You are also right about the internet services: Since our internet is via satellite, we may experience some disruption time to time because of the weather. I remember this particular occasion that you were waiting for the internet codes since I was the person that talked to you and later brought the codes to your room. That day indeed we had a couple of hours of disruption and thank you for understanding the situation.
Thanks again for your comments Gbs4.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

There is very little competition inside the national park and, boy, do the hotel proprietors take advantage of their situation. Rooms here start at USD320 plus but expect to pay another USD100 each in extras per day. Yes, the location is great but here is the qualifier: the objective of the management is to get you to sign up for punishingly expensive guided tours at about USD200 each. When we enquired about self-guided walks, the management were perfectly polite but strangely - conveniently, perhaps - uninformed about the paths we might take, constantly urging us to sign up for their guided tours. They could not even provide us with basic walking maps.
The main restaurant does not offer an al a carte menu, only a buffet for about USD50 per head, drinks not included, although there is a marginally cheaper bar with food of satisfactory quality. There are no other restaurants nearby. Naturally, being in the national park, I expected higher costs but the price-gouging really hit me when I asked for a cup of hot water for a medical treatment and was told it would cost 2000 pesos or USD4 ... for a cup of hot water that required zero labour other than a bar pressing a button for 5 seconds. I'm afraid that is beyond reasonable. As I said, the staff are polite enough but it becomes clear that special preference is afforded those who sign up for the extravagant extras.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyDec67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Coordinador de Marketing at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear AndyDec67,

We appreciate your time to write these comments. These comments are very important to us since we are always looking to improve.

I will reply in your comments by part to make it easier to follow, ok?

- “There is very little competition inside the national park and, boy, do the hotel proprietors take advantage of their situation”

There are about 12 hotels and around the park ranging from 2 to 5 stars and it is not about taking advantage. We always want to offer the best experience to our guests and since the hotel works only for 7 months during the year and it is located in an extreme location, the logistics is more complicated … therefore the costs could be higher than hotels from urban settings.

- “When we enquired about self-guided walks, the management were perfectly polite but strangely - conveniently, perhaps - uninformed about the paths we might take, constantly urging us to sign up for their guided tours. They could not even provide us with basic walking maps.”

Well, this kind of situation should not happen. All the guides should inform and answer all questions our guest may have. I already talked with the guides supervisor about this situation. Sorry about that. I have one question though: Didn´t you get a map when you arrive at the park? The park´ staff always gives one map to each tourist before this go to the Hotel. Please let me know.

-“The main restaurant does not offer an al a carte menu, only a buffet for about USD50 per head, drinks not included, although there is a marginally cheaper bar with food of satisfactory quality”
During lunch time our guests can enjoy a la carte menu of fine gastronomy!! And during the night our restaurant offers a buffet so our guests can try the different flavors of our Chilean and regional cuisine… therefore guests always have different options to try during dinner such as : at least 3 types of meat, lamb and fish with 3 types of dish sides, plus 6 varieties of salads and cheese. And after dinner, do not forget that the restaurant also offer a variety of desserts (at least 6 types)


- “ … but the price-gouging really hit me when I asked for a cup of hot water for a medical treatment and was told it would cost 2000 pesos or USD4 ... for a cup of hot water that required zero labour other than a bar pressing a button for 5 seconds. I'm afraid that is beyond reasonable. “
- Is it possible for you to let me know when that happened? I will talk with the supervisor that was in charge of the restaurant that day. I am sorry you did not have a good experience at our restaurant. I will make sure to check what happened that day.

- AndyDec67, thanks again for your comments and I will be waiting for any information you can send me so I check about these problems. Just in case, my email is marketing2@lastorres.com

Kind regards

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Staff uncooperative and unreasonable. Two couples have same reservation and they give one couple a room with wrong # of beds and mountain view and other couple a room with wrong # of beds and parking lot view (they call garden view). Then blame it on the agent though they could not explain difference between rooms on same reservation. Food on full board (buffets for breakfast and dinner) was fair to poor. Best to eat in bar. In spite of hotel, the hiking was wonderful and dramatic.

Room Tip: Make sure you or your agent requests mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Coordinador de Marketing at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Steve W,

Thanks for taking the time to write these comments.

My name is Jorge and I am the new marketing coordinator of the Hotel.

First of all, sorry you had a bad experience with your reservation. Could you please send me the name or contact of the agent that made your reservation? Also, if you can, please send the dates you were at the hotel. This way I can check and see what happened.

Did you have the chance of talking to the Guest Relation Manager of the Hotel?? We advise that whenever a guest has a problem, he/she should contact our guest relation manager immediately to fix any problem.

Related to the food, the option of eating at the Bar is also a good one since the pizzas and sandwiches are delicious. However, our dinner buffet, always offers at least 3 types of meat, lamb and fish with 3 types of dish sides, plus 6 varieties of salads and cheese. And after dinner, do not forget that the restaurant also offer a variety of desserts (at least 6 types)

The idea behind the buffet is that our guests can try the different flavors of our Chilean and regional cuisine... However during lunch time our guests can also enjoy a menu of fine gastronomy!!

Thank you again for the your time Steve W and take care,

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our four day stay was an all inclusive package and we found that the whole operation ran like clockwork. The hotel was comfortable, the food good and we were impressed with the range and amount of activities on offer. An enjoyable stay in a wonderful national park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliz2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful meadow in a beautiful park at the base of the Torres. You can't beat it. The hotel room we had was pretty standard and spartan. We arrived late afternoon off a tour with a small group of others (transported in the hotels shuttle van). Check-in was a bit tedious and slow and our room was uninspiring with not much of a view. We proceeded to the bar and had Calafate Sours and beers, and then a pizza with the very friendly Uruguayan staff members. Turned in fairly early, as it had been a big, long, cold day touring the park. Check out time is 10 am (as has been the case most of the trip). Had a leisurely breakfast that did include some hot foods (scrambled eggs) and delicious coffee. After checking out, we did some trekking and returned to the hotel late in the day for a light lunch before catching out bus back to El Calafate.

The downside of these hotels located inside Torres del Paine park are they run on the expensive side for everything. But, you have no options if you are not a hiker/trekker sort or are only coming in for a day or two. Out hotel was included in our total package price, so I really have no idea what we paid. But being in the park was ideal. There is a shuttle to Lago Armaga every couple hours for $5. We took a private shuttle from the park earlier, and it cost us $40, which I thought was a bit on the expensive side.

We enjoyed our stay, the surroundings and the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Coordinador de Marketing at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ellecar, thanks for your comments and for staying with us.
As you said : the "hotel is located in a beautiful meadow in a beautiful park at the base of the Torres. You can't beat it ." :)

I will make sure to tell the Uruguayan staff members from our bar that you found them "very friendly".

Take care and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location - right inside the park gates and situated along some main hiking routes in the Torres del Paine park. Perfect for lacing up hiking boots and heading out for a day trip (the park is amazing). We wanted to go hiking on our own and found limited support for that from the hotel; they pushed their pay-excursions a little too strongly for our taste. You can definitely hike on your own but you will need to bring your own map.

Room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. Dinner was ok - a bit too fancy and over priced for what we wanted. Overall, this is a very nice hotel but you are paying for the location and we felt the value for the hotel was not great. We were glad we stayed here for an introduction to the park but, in hindsight, for the exploration we wanted to do, we would rather stay elsewhere and drive to the start of hiking routes.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Coordinador de Marketing at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Taxi C , thank you for writing a review! we appreciate your time and we will take all your comments into consideration to improve our services!

You are correct about that "The hotel is in a fantastic location - right inside the park gates and situated along some main hiking routes in the Torres del Paine park"

It is too bad to know that you "found limited support" when you were looking for information about the hiking so you could go on your own. The guides of the hotel should help all our guests independently if they take an excursion ion with us or go by themselves. Could you let me know the dates of your stay with us?? My email is marketing2@lastorres.com . I would like to know those dates so I can talk with the guides, let them know your displeasure with this situation and make sure that this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review Taxi C and we will take all the steps necessary to continue improving our services and make sure our guests always feel comfortable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
809 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
454 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
227 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Torres Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres Patagonia

Property: Las Torres Patagonia
Address: Estancia Cerro Paine S/n | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 6170000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Torres Patagonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Torres is located in the heart of the National Park at the foot of the main tourist attraction, Las Torres del Paine and the starting point of the main trails of the park. With 74 rooms we offer All Inclusive Packages as well as bed & breakfast options. In any case, we are very flexible, with no fixed dates or days of arrival. We do have daily tour options to the main attractions of the park, as well as a nice restaurant with local cuisine options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Las Torres Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing