We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weather and trekking experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Torres Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had booked an all inclusive package for three nights based on the reviews that indicated that if you were active and used the opportunities offered this would cost close to an "a la carte" approach. This started well as we were not really expecting a van to meet us from our (1 hour delayed) Sky Airlines flight from Puerto Montt, but there they were waiting for us. There was a long drive from Punta Arenas to Las Torres with a break for dinner at the Estancia Cerro Negro and an opportunity to talk to others who were travelling with us . The weather was very bad with high winds and pouring rain as we got close to the Park. When we arrived it was almost too late to choose what excursions we could go on the next day and we had to decide in a hurry. This is an area where the hotel might want to improve the information it provides on its website or alternatively provide some information by email to those people booking several weeks in advance of their arrival. Factual information on the guided trails offered and their difficulty as well as other excursions offered would have enable us to make a hurried decision that much easier. We had chosen Las Torres as we wanted to do horse trekking and this is the only location with horses within the park.

For our first day we were blessed with clear skies and no wind, our guides Eduardo and Patrick said we were very lucky. We had chosen to do the full day excursion Sendero de Los Lagos which required a van driven by Maurizio to take our party of five to the start of the trail and he then picked us up at the end. This trail took us through forested areas, some of them still scarred from the fires they have had here in past and as we were visiting in mid November the wild flowers were out which provided additional interest.This trip did enable us to get a much better appreciation of the complexity of the massif. The second day we did a horse trek to the Bador valley close to the Cuernos del Paine with some cloud but no real wind. Interestingly enough we were the only couple that wanted to go horse riding so it was a special exclusive experience. However we did note that the trail around the Park was quite crowded with walkers even though it was not high season. This was in comparison with our first day where we only met one other group on the trail.
We found the common areas of the hotel very warm as well as our room which we controlled by opening the window. The service we found was friendly and helpful. We talked with the restaurant maitre d'hotel and noted that there is an effort to hire and train local people. That being said there is room for improvement in the area of value but for us the ability to ride horses in such a fantastic location and our luck with the weather made it a special experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
There are newer reviews for Las Torres Patagonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Hotel Las Torres is a family owned business located on a large tract of privately held land inside the Torres del Paine National Park at the foot of Admiral Nieto with views of the Condor's Nest Tower (cloud cover permitting) near the main Laguna Amarga entrance. The family also runs the local store, campground, and shelters for trekkers/campers, as well as cattle and sheep ranches elsewhere. The rooms are cozy, with bed(s), a small desk with a small bench, closet and dresser space, and the bathroom. The room keys are European style (i.e., attached to a large horseshoe key holder, so you have to return the key when you leave the hotel; there is a digital safe in the room and safe deposit boxes at the front desk). Satellite WiFi service is available for free, but it was very slow and intermittent, fine for checking e-mail, but not so good for downloading podcasts or uploading full size digital pictures. And, there are no televisions anywhere in the rooms or the lobby! No cell phone service on either of my SIM cards either. Since the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, all the food (except their freshly grown vegetables, herb, and lamb) are shipped in. That, along with the short operational season (closed in winter) accounts for their hefty prices. Dinner buffet is around $50 USD (cold salads, choice of several meats--including fresh lamb and fish or Conger eel, soup, vegetable, potatoes, desserts, breads), lunch is $40 USD (soup, choice of 2 appetizers, choice of 2 entrees, choice of dessert). Their standard "box lunch" is $27 USD (choice of flat bread sandwich, fruit, granola/fruit bar, trail mix, chocolate, fruit juice, water). Throw in their full or half day excursions and transportation from Punta Arenas, and the a la carte pricing approaches that of their all inclusive pricing (which includes all of the above, plus beer and wine that's not premium; spa services, bike rentals and hourly horse riding are not covered). We stayed here with all inclusive package as part of a larger multi-venue private guided tour, so suspect we got a slight price discount. One definite benefit was personalized transfer from the Punta Arenas airport (10 km north of downtown Punta Arenas) to the Hotel instead of having to wait for the scheduled van runs. The trip takes slightly more than 4 hours each way, and the drivers will stop to let you take pictures of wildlife (condors up close, alpaca, guanaco, fox, hare, parakeets, rea), guachos, and scenery. The northbound trip includes a stop at Estancia Cerro Negro, one of the family run ranches. We had an excellent lunch there of succulent, tender roast lamb with rib and other cuts you never see in the supermarket. The excursion desk is open in the evening for planning activities for the following day. Full day excursions typically start around 0900-0930, half day tours start st 0900 and 1500. We went on the Full Paine grand full day tour by van (hint: wear waterproof gear, as boarding the boat to cruise Lago Gray is an amphibious operation require going from swaying dock to dinghy to ship in the howling wind and rough waves), half day bird watching van and walk tour to Laguna Azul, half day van and hike Patagon tour to see some cave paintings (hint: these are inside a rock formation that requires a bit of a climb, so bring your trekking pole and windbreaker if you have one), and half day horseback ride to the Lenga Forest. All the guides and drivers were superb, with excellent knowledge, sense of humor, good conversational English and attentiveness to all their clients (especially for bilingual groups). The park is spectacularly beautiful, and they offer a wide variety of excursions of varying difficulty to allow you to get the most out of your visit. Aside from the prices, a few other things caused us not to give the Las Torres perfect marks: 1) the breakfast buffet is the same each day, with slightly undercooked scrambled eggs, a few cold cuts, cheeses, trail mic, toast, pastries, hot cakes, cold cereals, fruits, juices and yogurts--not the same quality as you might see on a cruise ship breakfast buffet. 2) One day, the housekeeper took our dirty towels, but did no replace them. I stopped off at the front desk and requested more towels after dinner; the receptionist wrote down our room number on a Post-it note, but towels were never delivered that night. 3) At dinner one night, they ran out of the fish and steak, and they said "2 minutes." When the tray of fish arrived, it turned out the inside of each piece of fish was still a bit raw. Still, the restaurant is open until late (and folks who left on a full day tour at noon had plates saved for them on their return, with special plates for the vegetarians). The other hotels in the park are a good bit distant by gravel road and probably have similarly high prices. So, unless you're camping or packed your Meals Ready to Eat, you pretty much have to eat in their bar or restaurant. All in all, though, we had a wonderful time staying at the Las Torres, and I would recommend it again, with the reservations and flaws noted above.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Boston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Super location at the foot of the mountains in the heart of the national park. So many options for trekking on your own along very well marked trails, or opting for the guided excursions on offer. None are cheap, like everything at this hotel, it comes at a price. The only one we opted for, (having no transport of our own), was the full day tour of the NP with the optional extra of the boat trip to Gray Glacier. Of course the weather is the key. On the day we arrived, our transport from Puerto Natales included a tour of the park, however it hardly stopped raining all day, the wind was gale force, and low clouds restricted the views completely. We could have been anywhere, even Cannock Chase, a complete waste of time and money. Fortunately we were staying 4 nights and we woke on the third morning to clear blue skies! We were able to get on the full day tour from the hotel (unfortunately the boat to Glacier Gray was full), and what a fabulous, unforgettable day of stunning views. What a difference a day makes. The treks by Lago Nordernskjold and to Torres Mirador are also not to be missed.
Overall we think the hotel is very good. We had a Canelo room with mountain views, superb. Adequate size double room, comfortable bed, just about sufficient hanging/storage space, smallish bathroom but everything worked, good shower, plenty of hot water.
There is a very pleasant large, open plan lounge/bar/meeting area with almost the feeling of a conservatory. We had all our evening meals here, a nice atmosphere, pleasant staff, a reasonable choice, variable quality of food and at a price, but there is very little alternative. The evening buffet in the restaurant is expensive and according to other guests also of very variable quality, so you are very much a captive audience.
Breakfast is your standard fayre of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, bread, jams, scrambled eggs, cold meats/cheese, cakes, and coffee/tea urns. Everything fresh, but coffee from an urn! Yuk!
Just keep your fingers crossed with the weather. We had four nights which was perfect for us; first day getting there a washout, second a mixture of cloud/sun (did Lago Nordernskjold-Cuernos hike), third a fantastic blue sky day (did full Paine Tour), fourth mostly overcast (Torres Mirador, well worth the effort), fifth moved on.
The Torres del Paine National Park is a very special place which will fill you with awe, wonder, and unforgettable memories. Las Torres is a very good hotel with a wonderful location, just a pity the 'value for money' factor creates some negative vibes, and leaves you considerably poorer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location, great staff especially the Guides. Deborah, Eduardo and Carlos were fantastic. Try and pre plan the tours as availability can be limited on any specific day. Going up to Las Torres take the horse back riding and trekking combo, it will conserve energy for the final uphill climb

Room Tip: not much of a difference between mountain view and std room, don't spend the extra money on a mo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinneri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

- Location is awesome for trekking, hotel is comfi and clean, they have good documentaries on a big screen at night.
-This been said, the food there was no good and the most expensive of all 3 other hotels we stayed at. Also, every process there is long: 1 hour to check in, 1 hour to get a beer and meal at the bar, our first room was not made and had to get another one, check out took 25 min... We stayed at Ecocamp 5 minutes away and it was a million time better for same price plus the food was much better and cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is the best place to stay in Torres del Paine if you want to do hiking. The strenuous hike to the Torres mirador (overlook) starts right out the front door; it takes about 8 1/2 hours and climbs about 1500 feet. An easier, more level walk along the northern shore of turquoise Lago Nordernskjold also leaves from this location, and you can walk as far as you want. It's very pretty, good for Andean condors, but I did get blown down on the trail (no steep drop-offs, though) one day with a sudden strong gust of wind. As you pass over the bridge for both of these walks, look in the rushing stream below for the amazing torrent duck which bravely swims upstream in these fast and frigid waters. Our room was fine, but there was no chair, only a bench that we could push against the wall for back support. There are several lounges on the main floor with couches and chairs. The breakfast buffet was okay, but too sweet for me (sweetened juices and breads and yogurts, and runny scrambled eggs). Because of this, we chose not to spend $43 for the dinner buffet. We had good luck eating at the bar, though. We liked the salads, veggie pizza (you can also get snail and lamb pizza!), and salmon. It's open for lunch and dinner. There was live music twice a week in the bar, and they regularly show nature and climbing videos in a small room with displays on natural history. The people at the front desk were very nice. A great help was the weather forecast on the bulletin board from www.mountain-forecast.com (you can check this at home before you go; just plug in Paine Grande, Chile and select 1600 feet or its equivalent in meters), which was very accurate and helped us time our hikes. It's about 2 1/2 hours or so to Lago Grey on a gravel road; be sure to hike the Mirador de Cuernos hike along the way (one hour each way, passing the Salto Grande waterfall, through a scenic burnt section on your way to turquoise Lago Nordernskjold), surely one of the most beautiful mountain hikes in the world with its gorgeous views of the Cuernos. A very good alternative on windy days (it happens regularly) is the interpretive trail right past the Hotel Las Torres kiosk called something like Sendero Interpretano; you hike in the pretty, protected forest and across a small wetland, all very good for birds. If you're driving yourself, be sure to get a full tank in Puerto Natales since the driving distances in the park are so long (gorgeous drives, though). It took us about 3 hours to drive from Puerto Natales and 8 hours from Punta Arenas. Another beautiful day trip from Hotel Las Torres is to Lago Azul; we saw hundreds of guanacos and some rheas in a burnt section, like a Patagonian Serengeti. No place to stay for us was perfect (we also stayed at Hotel Rio Serrano and Patagonia Camp), but this was good for hiking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Firstly the positives. Great location, ready to walk out to the base of the Torres. Guides knowledgeable and daily pick of activities such as hiking, bus tours, boat trips or horse riding. Transfer good and included lunch. Breakfast buffet good and plenty of it.

We stayed as part of a bigger trip and so hadn't realised just how expensive this place is. It clearly caters for middle class couples who have deep pockets. For example coke and a beer cost £10!!! We ate at the evening buffet one night for about 28000peseos each and food was ok but not worth that amount. However only other choice was bar menu which offers limited choice and was terrible.
We were there 5 nights and felt trapped food wise. There is no other choice than pay or eat very little.
I know the park is more isolated but so is San Pedro in Atacama and we had great food there and really cheap. Good food costs little to prepare is you are a good cook. Get you act together Las Torres you have the basis for a brilliant place. Don't pass off bad food and service.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mortyshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
812 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
458 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
229 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Torres Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres Patagonia

Address: Estancia Cerro Paine S/n | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 6170000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $309 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Torres Patagonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Torres is located in the heart of the National Park at the foot of the main tourist attraction, Las Torres del Paine and the starting point of the main trails of the park. With 74 rooms we offer All Inclusive Packages as well as bed & breakfast options. In any case, we are very flexible, with no fixed dates or days of arrival. We do have daily tour options to the main attractions of the park, as well as a nice restaurant with local cuisine options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Torres Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing