We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Torres Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
anywhere
Level Contributor
331 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

very expensive but very nice location, just 100 mts from the refugio las torres. Lucklily the breakfast buffet was very good and included in the room price as well as satelite wifi. Great views from the mountains from the bar. Read in other reviews that the food in the restaurant is outraging expensive so had a bite in the bar which was ok. Friendly service. Room was ok except that we had 2 separate small beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    358
    158
    72
    38
See reviews for
198
577
73
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Quite the most amazing location we have ever stayed in, with breathtaking views and stunninglty clear night-skies (not to be missed!).The "Full Paine" trip provided an excellent introduction to the many aspects of this fabulous national park and our guide, Jorge, was incredibly knowledgeable, with a special interest in the local wildlife, which was invaluable given the effortless daily spottings of fabulous Condors, both red and grey foxes, hares, rheas (with chicks), negritos, etc. and (obviously) many wild guanaco. We will also never forget our boat trip across Lake grey to see the Blue Glacier!

Communication between travellers and the Hostal could be improved. For example, it was not easy to establish which pre-paid trips we had been assigned to, or how to make arrangements for the following day. I would stress that this is a process issue for operational management and not in any way a reflection on front-desk staff or guides, who were extremely friendly and helpful and worked hard to resolve our queries, but appeared to be over-stretched at times. Perhaps checking in advance with travel companies regarding pre-arrangement of trips would also give more clarity.

We would advise fellow travellers to be clear about tarriff options available before arriving. There are several inclusive options covering food/drinks/trips, otherwise eating can be very expensive, with a typical set 3 course dinner for 2 plus one bottle of wine costing around £80-£100. Having said that, service in the restaurant is excellent.

It should go without saying that you must take suitable walking boots if you plan to walk, as even our relatively easy and very beautiful lake circuit ended with a difficult scree slope, which would have made it potentially unsafe without proper footwear.

All in all, the Hotel and its staff, and the beautiful natural surroundings combined to provide us with a wonderful few days, which we feel enormously priviliged to have experienced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamTweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were stunned upon entering, it really is a breath taking lobby! The walls are glass so you can see the mountains in the lobby. The location is really quite wonderful. The hiking routes are amazing and there is a lot to explore! The room itself was very plain and bath was tiny (I'm 5ft 1) and the shower heads were very low! But there was plenty of space and the views were superb.

Staff were very odd and not the best trained. Dinner in the buffet is $50 a head for not the best selection. If you eat at the bar it can be cheaper. We did love the turkey club sandwich which was immense.

I don't mind paying a lot but would have liked the quality to match the price that's all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthExplorer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Choosing where to stay in this national park is a real problem. It is huge and travel times are quite long from one area of the park to others. We chose this hotel because of the convenience factor. Close to the start of the walk to the base of the towers as well as other scenic options. The other helpful service is the very good van transfers to and from El Calafate and Punta Arenas. These worked very well for us and made accessing the park easy. Our room was very comfortable with a king bed and good bathroom - although the shower is just average with water pressure a bit poor. We took the all inclusive program. While this is expensive, if you wish to really see the park it is probably reasonable value for money. Make sure you insist on doing the excursions you really want. Weather also plays a part in what is offered each day. If you don't do plenty of excursions you could be left feeling that this hotel was poor value. The guides for all our walks/excursions were excellent. Likewise our lovely professional drivers and the very comfortable vans used for all excursions and transfers. Meals were generally good with plenty of options, although sometimes we felt that the buffet was not what we wanted after a long day out. Perhaps an a-la-carte option at night might be nice. Our only other gripe was the way the restaurant was run. Bills were presented each evening ( and at lunch if you ate in) with the sole purpose of extracting a tip from you, even though we had the all included option. I feel that this took the gloss of the all included option. All in should be all in. Otherwise, the hotel was a good choice to visit and enjoy this spectacular park.

Room Tip: A mountain view room is not essential. All public areas have lovely views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights inside Torres del Paine national park in October 2012. The lodge of Las Torres has helped enhancing our Patagonia experience to an incomparable level.
I cannot say enough on how we loved this place. The lodging, the foods, the excursions, the tour guides, the service in the restaurant, the front desk receptionist and the scenery are all impeccable.
We were in the all inclusive program. Some reviewers complained about price and food but we think the price totally worthy it. The all inclusive program includes the pickup from Punta Arenas, driving for 5 or 6 hours, and stopped at the ranch for the lamb BBQ ( according to my husband, the best Lamb BBQ he ever had), dog show, sheep shearing shows etc. The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was very good, fresh vegetable, several choices of meat/fish, manual changes every day, unlimited drink, juice, beer and wine, (not including premium wine). On the excursion they also provided lunch bag with your own selection of sandwich and all kind of snacks, juice, water. On the day of leaving, the van took us to El Calafate and a lunch bag was also provided. The driver helped us go through the border in such an efficient way that made our trip so relaxing and worry free.
The room is small by American standard but the window opens up to the whole mountain view. The mountain is in the back and so close to the hotel. There are several buildings for the guests. The restaurant is in a separate building at the very far end. Our building is at the opposite end. All the buildings are not all connected. Sometimes we had to go through snow /rain to get to the restaurant. That's a small inconvenience.
In October not all the excursions were available but still it was more than we can take with 4 days' stay. We went to different areas of the park. It was so beautiful. The excursion was in small group with 6 to 8 peoples. We experienced snow, rain, wind and sunshine within one hour.
Torres del Paine national park is a place an outdoor lover must visit. Las Torres lodge is the place to stay when you visiting the park. With the all inclusive we were totally worry-free. We were so pampered that we don’t want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Orien2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a great time at Las Torres. Of course, it is an expensive place, but that is to be expected in someplace as remote as Torres del Paine. We were particularly happy with our guides and the treks we were able to make. I would definitely come back again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briccofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel isn't bad, it has nice rooms, a nice bar and restaurant and of cause the location is absolutley great, no doubts about that.
But:
The hotel is quite expensive and there are some things that with that kind of a price should be different.
- the rooms,the bar and the restaurant are always cold, because all windows have only single glazing and as it is quite cool in Patagonia the heating has no chance to warm up the place
- the bar offers some sandwiches, but the selection is quite limited. The only other option to eat something is the restaurant, but there you have to take a three-course menue (lunch time) or a big buffet (dinner). You have no chance just to eat a soup or something simple other than the sandwiches in the bar.
- the prices for the food are quite expensive even if you take in account that all the foods have to be brought out there
- the staff at the reception are not very good at English and sometimes they seemed to be a little confused

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlLasTorres, Commercial Manager at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Kathrin V

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments on your recent stay at Hotel Las Torres.

It was disappointing to read your comments about the limited bar selection options. Anyway, it is at the same time a good opportunity to answer so other travelers can have a better idea about our service.

As you already know, we do have a bar and a restaurant, both with different options.
In the case of the bar, there are more than 20 different options between sandwiches, pizzas and snacks.
We do have as well a variety of selected coffee, tea, beers, and many other beverages, soft drinks and cocktails, which is normally more than enough for most of our guests who do even thank us for having such a variety of products in such a remote place like Torres del Paine.
The restaurant at the same time is a different alternative to the bar.

Regarding the prices of our meals, most are even similar to prices in other similar categories hotels in Punta Arenas or Santiago, but considering this is a remote area at 400 km from the nearest airport, which is by the way, the southernmost airport in Chile, this is quite remarkable.


Kindest regards
Pablo Araya
Hotel Las Torres Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Torres Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres Patagonia

Property: Las Torres Patagonia
Address: Estancia Cerro Paine S/n | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Torres Patagonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Torres is located in the heart of the National Park at the foot of the main tourist attraction, Las Torres del Paine and the starting point of the main trails of the park.With 84 room we offer All Inclusive Packages as well as bed & breakfast options.In any case, we are very flexible, with no fixed dates or days of arrival.We do have daily tour options to the main attractions of the park, as well as a nice restaurant with local cuisine options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Las Torres Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing