We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My choice for Torres del Paine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Torres Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“My choice for Torres del Paine”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed 7 nights in a superior "Cipres" room with a mountain view. The room was very quiet and comfortable with a view of Almirante. The staff was willing to do anything possible to make the guests' stay a success. The guides were charming young people mostly from the Punta Arenas area, who spoke excellent English and were well informed about the park. My trip was all-inclusive, and I took a number of excursions, both full and half days. Some of them were quite challenging. I was impressed by the friendly attitude of the employees. This is not a super luxury hotel, which I would find a bit bizarre in this wild setting, but had plenty of comfort and a great setting. I found the the meals were a bit uneven on some days, but wine (Carmenere) and nice waiters never let me down. Lunch in the dining room is especially good, very few guests and cooked to order--not a buffet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crumpet212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    364
    160
    72
    38
See reviews for
200
586
75
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed for four nights, in a "family suite" (a double and a twin sharing a bathroom), on the "garden view" side of the building (see room tip). Whilst the hotel is luxurious compared to other options in or adjacent to the park, it has some way to go before it is up there with the best. This is partly because of its location - it is in a privileged and amazingly beautiful place, but it is miles from anywhere, meaning absolutely everything has to be brought in, and staff generally live on site for the season. This leads to a lack of fresh produce available for the meals, so there is a general lack of variety (although most of it is very tasty, it is not the healthiest menu in either the bar or the restaurant), and also to a malaise amongst some of the staff, notably those on reception. Everything was a chore, when it really should be a given that staff are proactively looking out for the guests when this level of charges is being levied.

Exceptions to this were the guides we encountered - Andrés, Haro, Eduardo - and the horse-wranglers - all quietly enthusiastic about their work and willing to answer all our daft questions. We stayed on an all-inclusive package as we wanted to see as much of the park as possible in our short visit, so did a couple of tours and some horse-riding, as well as some independent hiking. The children were wild about the riding - they did three sessions. The guides were very patient as both kids were very inexperienced, and the horses very docile too. The tours were informative and we saw loads - and the packed lunches were huge and tasty.

The bar was a very nice place to while away an hour or two, lounging on the squishy sofas taking in the view of the mountains, or using the slow and erratic wifi or the pcs tucked away pin the corner. An example of the level of service is that they don't bother telling you until you ask why you cannot connect to the wifi that you have to register each device with them before it can connect to the network - and this depends upon one technical guy being available to do it for you! Anyway, we had a few nice meals in the bar - way too much food and no smaller portions available. The restaurant was good - a buffet so you could control your own portions - but somewhat lacking in fresh fruit and vegetables. A slight oddity was the very short list of soft drinks compared with alcoholic ones - just water, sprite, fanta or coke?! There was sometimes raspberry juice available in the bar, but never in the restaurant... So the kids did overload on refined sugars a bit.

Our rooms were basic, although clean and comfortable, and as others have noted, you do have to wait for the water to run hot. The twin room had no curtain at the window which seemed a bit of an oversight... However, we didn't spend much time in the rooms and slept incredibly well in the quiet after tiring days.

All in all, we had a fabulous time at Las Torres, but there were lots of little niggles (most of which have not been mentioned here) which amounted to us feeling a bit cheated by the marketing materials. The worst was probably the spa, which the all-inclusive blurb had led us to believe that we would get 35% off "treatments" (e.g. massages, we thought) - this turned out to included even access to the sauna - which was something like £30, even with the discount! So, after a day's hiking, we couldn't even relax in the sauna without paying for it! Having paid a ridiculous amount of money to be there at all, this might not seem like a lot, but it smacks of a business determined to wring every last drop of money out of its clients, regardless.

So, with some health warnings, we would love to go back to Las Torres, but wouldn't have quite such high expectations next time!

Room Tip: Rooms with a "garden view" are cheaper and still have a very pleasant view of the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our arrival at Las Torres was spectacular, the surrounding towers are just magnificent, we were just so impressed by the park. The room was just fine and the meals were very good. Although we asked for orange juice with our meal and were told it wasn't available - only available at breakfast. However the following night we asked again and there didn't seem to be a problem and OJ was provided. Interesting!
Excursions were wonderful and the guides made them very interesting, there is no doubt the guides are very friendly and helpful.
I only have one real concern, this involved returning to our room earlier than expected to find the housekeeping staff a little surprised by our return. I found makeup had been opened and was split over the bathroom. At the time I was rather upset by their intrusion but in future removed personal items and locked them away each day. I try not to let this incident mar our stay here however share it so travelers may be beware.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Excellent location for amazing day trips. Guided tours were great and we recommend them for everyone want to explore the beautiful Torres del Paine park but want to stay comfortably. We had the all inclusive package and it was worth it since there aren't really other options around.
The staff was very friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere was relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

When we booked our stay, the only rooms left were standard lenga, which are adequate, if a little small, so I would recommend early booking for a larger room. If you run the hot water for 5 minutes before you need it, which it recommends in the hotel guide, the water is hot, and there is plenty of it.

The restaurant is a buffet, offering a choice of red and white meat, fish and vegetarian, with as much as you can eat. The staff refused to charge us for our 5 year old son because he wouldn't eat enough. We had the same waiter each night, and he remembered our drink preferences, and gave our son a gift on the final night!

I would recommend booking trips. These are done the night before, and although our choice was limited as the park had reopened 4 or 5 days previously from the fires of 2011/12, there was a wide choice, although obviously some couldn't go ahead as they would have gone into the affected area.

Trips are booked between 7 and 9pm in the evening for the following day, and fill up quickly, so arriving early at the excursion desk is a definite must!

One of the tour guides, Marcella, arranged all our trips for us, and went to great lengths to discuss our requirements, and understood I wanted to walk and explore, whilst my wife and son wanted to relax and enjoy vehicle based journeys. At 10pm one evening, Marcella was still arranging horse riding for us, and came and found us in the bar to confirm the arrangements with us once it was sorted. The horse riding can be booked as a "by the hour taster" as well as part of the guided tours, and we wanted to be certain our son would enjoy it before booking a longer excursion. She fully understood this, and booked us a tour guide, easy route and ensured that the Baqueano understood our needs. The horses are used to novice riders, and are incredibly forgiving!

My wife and son had a trip to Laguna Azul, and the content was excellent, with a knowledgable guide and they were able to choose when and where they stopped.

During a spa session, the spa staff looked after our son, as I was out on a walking tour.

I booked a walk to Las Torres, and there was just me and one other person besides the guide. We were provided with a box lunch to take with us. Our guide was Marcella, who had gone to great lengths with the horse riding earlier in the week, and was superb. She allowed us to set the pace and rest breaks, and constantly pointed out features of the park, its history, and also its threats. She constanly collected any rubbish dropped by other walkers too!

The bar has a glass roof which looks up at Las Torres and was good value for money. Bar snacks consisted of a choice of simple to luxury burgers, and a plate of chips between 3 and a burger each was more than adequate as a midday meal!

Staff at all levels were friendly, polite and helpful, they felt like a real family! I actually struggled to find any faults with the hotel and its staff! I would definitely revisit this hotel!

Room Tip: Well worth booking early and/or paying the extra for a biger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simoni2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is one if the best places to stay as a starting point for excursions. The hotel is fairly rustic but comfortable, and the food is very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto-Santo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a great time at Hotel Las Torres- we took the all inclusive package and were very happy with this. We eat kosher food and the hotel, especially Herman, was extremely accomodating. For an additional fee, they bought us brand new pots, silverware, dishes, and were happy to make us all three meals, including salads and fresh salmon- and on top of that, the food was delicious. We took two horse back riding excursions and loooved it. We have never really gone horse back riding but the horses are so well trained and the staff is excellent, that it was very enjoyable. Felt like a real cowboy riding in beautiful scenery. Don't worry- they won't gallop if you don't want them too (the staff will explain it all). Make sure to take the half day horseback riding excursion where you have a view of a big lake and cross a rocky stream. Beautiful! Our hiking excursions were great, as well. Our favorite guide was Krystian- he was nice, patient, and was the most informative from the other guides that we had. BRING HIKING SHOES! We thought sneakers would be sufficient but hiking shoes are definitely recommended for everything in the park. The one thing that was misleading: all excursions are not offered every day and it is first come, first serve. If there is an excursion that you know you want, make sure to reserve it even before you get to the hotel. Also, if you have seasonal allergies- BRING ALLERGY MEDS because there is no pharmacy in the hotel/park and closest pharmacy is about 2 hours away. All in all, great accomodations, location, service- I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyPeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
808 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
449 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
225 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Torres Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres Patagonia

Property: Las Torres Patagonia
Address: Estancia Cerro Paine S/n | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 6170000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Torres Patagonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Torres is located in the heart of the National Park at the foot of the main tourist attraction, Las Torres del Paine and the starting point of the main trails of the park. With 74 rooms we offer All Inclusive Packages as well as bed & breakfast options. In any case, we are very flexible, with no fixed dates or days of arrival. We do have daily tour options to the main attractions of the park, as well as a nice restaurant with local cuisine options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Las Torres Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing