We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refugio Grey
Nearby Hotels
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation(Torres del Paine National Park)(Great Value!)
$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Torres Patagonia(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Estancia Tercera Barranca(Torres del Paine National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Patagonia Camp(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Serrano Hotel(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Mirador del Payne(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria El Pionero(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
81
62
20
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
62
20
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsw trekflushing toiletshot watercamping areacommon spacemashed potatoesfantastico surpacked lunchpuerto natalesrefugiotentsuspensionbigfootgreycampsitecircuitglacier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 182 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky and visited when it was quiet so had a whole dorm room for ourselves.

The dorm rooms we saw slept 4-6 people and the beds were comfortable. Our room was quite dark and very cold however but had two power sockets which was great.

We hired sleeping bags which were clean. We weren't given liners but had our own.

Bathrooms were the cleanest of all the refugios and showers were fine.

Food was very good and the staff were very happy and eager to please.

Good music in the bar area and there was a good atmosphere even tho the place was quiet.

Would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Comfortable and clean but small 4-bunk rooms. Warm lounge, dining room and bar area. Friendy staff. Good food despite remote location. A welcoming haven after a long walk-in. Short walk to good views of Glacier Grey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Returned from a recent overnight stay in the "made bed" accommodations (only booked this because the cheaper beds were sold out).

Pros - Beds were comfortable, warm, and relatively clean (my husband's comforter had faded brown stains all over it, but at least they were obviously older stains that been laundered a few times). Common lounge area of the refugio was cozy with stove and nice couches. Location is convenient.

Cons - unfortunately many more of these. Foremost for me was that prices border on extortionist, which they can do since they are the only indoor lodging on that site. We paid $150 for two bunk beds with sheets in a shared room. This does NOT include: any helpfulness or friendliness from most of the staff, locks for the lockers downstairs, hot water at the sinks (showers I guess must have hot water), food of any kind, or any usable cooking facilities unless you have your own campstove (i.e. there is no microwave, burner or stove of any kind where you could heat your own basic foods). Thus, you are forced into eating their abysmal food, which is also insanely priced -- $40 for dinner for two people, which included some sort of powdered orange juice drink, a soup that also most likely came from a powder mix, a disgusting gristly mystery-meatloaf, and a fairly edible piece of cake. With one or two exceptions, the staff is young and disinterested, we mostly saw them only when they were sitting around eating their own meals (which looked quite a bit better than ours) and most of them put minimal effort into interacting with guests in any sort of helpful or approachable manner. Also -- of the three upstairs bathroom stalls, one of them had no toilet paper for a day and one was inexplicably locked from the inside the whole time. So we spent close to $200 on a very basic accommodation and the worst meal of the trip.

I get it that this place is remote and there is going to be some premium on the price as a result, but I think they are taking full advantage of having the monopoly on the location and thus charging really insane prices with minimal service or goods provided. They could probably continue to get away with this because there will likely be no competition to set a higher standard, but hopefully they decide to put a little more effort into making this a more pleasant and worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The camping here was very crowded, i.e. tents on top of each other (and this is on the borderline off season, I can't imagine what it would be like in season). They had plenty of space (double the space they allowed folks to use) but it was sectioned off for "recuperation". The cooking area was very small and crowded as well and you are only allowed to cook there due to park rules. The bathrooms in the camping area were disgusting, not cleaned / maintained as frequently as they should be, i.e.one toilet was clogged while the other was surrounded by used toilet paper.

The restaurant area's bathroom was very nice, however, and I suspect that's the one used for the lodge. We enjoyed our stay at the park run facilities much more, i.e. campsite d'italiano for instance had a lot more room for tents so folks didn't have to be on top of each other and was more protected from the elements w/trees.

Room Tip: If you get there early, grab a spot in the trees. If you get there late, the only spot that might be available is one in the wide open space. In which case, prepare your tent to weather potentially extremely strong and gusty winds in the middle of the night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank us3345632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at Refugio Grey on the last night of the W trek and it definitely surpassed expectations. Bedrooms were really clean & we were provided with sheets rather than sleeping bags. We were also given towels, soap & shampoo which was a great addition. Showers were hot & powerful and the common area had a number of comfy sofas and armchairs by the stove and with great views of the surrounding area. Food was a little unusual but ok. The atmosphere was really nice & the refugio is located only 10 minutes from a great viewpoint over Grey Glacier. Of the four refugios we stayed in, this had the best facilities.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sachi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews