We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of explora Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
explora Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This lodge is not cheap but definitely worth staying at if you have the money. It is run very efficiently and they make sure that nobody is left out when it comes to offering excursions, of which there are many. The food is also very good and the rooms are all nice.
Much has been written about the hotel but if I was to offer a tip it would be to take your own trekking poles. They do have some that you can borrow but it is probably better to take your own as they make the hiking easier.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    74
    19
    6
    11
See reviews for
117
404
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We booked this hotel as the highlight of our Chile tour and that was exactly what it was. The setting is stunning with wonderful views of the Torres del Paine mountains. We were very lucky with the weather with 3 lovely days for our treks into the National Park. There was a variety of different walks with tough and moderate ones to suit different fitness levels.
The hotel is very elegant and the food and wine was excellent. The service is exemplary with nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. The guides who accompany the treks were enthusiastic and very knowledgeable.
Great fun!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I won't repeat any of the information given by others, but affirm that the Explora Patagonia is a wonderful experience in most ways.

Firstly, the areas for improvement.

The building is low impact of course, a sleek squat white affair. That's good, but it is constructed of industrial 'crinkly tin' and the noise of the Patagonia winds whipping over the roof is deafening. We were kept awake one night by a combination of the racket from the wind and driving sleet, and fears that the banging from the roof above us meant it was above to life off and expose us to the full force of the elements.

The interior is all local wood, which is amazing considering much of the forests have since been destroyed by a catastrophic fire, alledegly caused by someone setting light to used toilet paper in the midst of the bush.

The rooms are minimalist, with good toiletries and a jacuzzi bath in our case, but who on earth designed the bathroom? There were two windows in the wall between bathroom and bedroom. Sitting on the throne, at first I assumed there must be one way mirrors enabling me to see the view during a most personal moment, but no. My wife coyly waved to me, before locating a venetian blind that could be closed. It was operated from the bedroom side. The other window presumably allowed an outside view from the wash basin, but meant the mirrors in the bathroom were tiny as they surrounded the window alone. Could the bathroom have been designed by a man with a beard or a woman? If not, how did the interior designed expect me to shave? The error was spotted no doubt too late as a very expensive free standing shaving/make up mirror was provided, but alas there was nowhere to stand it above thigh level, and inadequate light to make it of any use.

The guides were all good, and the drivers excellent. Don't miss the trip to the geysers at dawn. But two areas could be improved. One was the range of activities - there were many, but very little between the all-day strenuous hike and the simple stroll. We enjoyed the Grey Glacier, but were nearly put off by warnings about how hard the climbs and descents were. In practice they were easy, but a better rating system like ATG would be helpful and more activities suitable for the simply quite fit but not madly so.

On the plus side, the organisation was good, but there were gaps in service caused I suspect by a shortage of staff. The hotel is 5 hours drive from the airport, and quite a long way from Puerto Natales. So seasonal staff must either live in, or have a huge journey to work. The coldly efficient manager Laura, and the customer services manager Alexandra were both seen regularly waiting at tables to plug the shortfall. Very commendable and understandable but not ideal.

The pool, outside and inside jacuzzis, steam room and sauna were located by the water's edge, and are a superb facility. Most of the comings and goings are timed to take place every 4 days, so that is the length of stay expected.

Overall we hugely enjoyed our visit. The food was excellent, and the long term staff were great. I have tried to give a balanced impression, and not a criticism of what must be a logistical nightmare.

Room Tip: They're probably all good, facing in either direction from the waterfall and promontary between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The most beautiful scenery we have ever seen. The most accommodating staff ever.....even though we are a bit "long in the tooth" for this wonderful place, they made every effort to assure that we had as great an experience as the other guests (who were younger and more fit!!!).

Room Tip: Ask to have a room facing the mountains and the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgssilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This Explora property is in the most beautiful setting imaginable, by the lake across from the Torres del Paine mountain peaks. Everything inside the hotel is made from natural materials, beautiful local woods. The staff lets you know in the evening what the activities are for the next day. They provide equipment that you may need. The hikes are from easy to quite strenuous, something for all abilities. Boat rides are available, horse back riding, or just plain relaxing in the beautiful environment and fresh air. We loved the bbq with the guachos in the typical rustic setting. The food at Explora is delicious... healthy, well planned meals paired with Chilean wines. Each room has a jetted tub from which you can see the mountains and lake. Nicest place we've ever stayed.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views and are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dini47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

my sister and I stayed there several years ago. it is beautiful ! hiking and horseback riding, good food and wine. There is something to do for all ages and abilities. The guides are fantastic. I really enjoyed the barbecue after riding with the gauchos. the roast lamb was absolutely fantastic with the pico de gallo. The gauchos sliced the roast lamb right onto your plate with a large knife tucked into a scabbard on their belt. The atmosphere was great perched high above the river. Loved every minute of my experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views, the ones facing the lake and the mountain spires are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettibMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a trip we have had in South America..from the Snow Capped Volcanos on the lake at Puerto Varas Chile and The Lakes Crossing to Bariloche Argentina. Trekking The Perito Merino Glacier in El Calfate and the Via Australis Cruise boarding zodiacs to see glaciers seals penguins dolphins and sail through icebergs, more glaciers and magnificent scenery of fiords and sounds oh,so, spectacular !!!!

Just when we thought it couldnt get any better................

We disembarked at Punta Arenas and were met by 'Julio' to transfer us to Explorer. I had broken a tooth and needed to get to a dentist. He was so helpful and made us very comfortable as he did have other guests to collect. Fortunately he had two vehicles and was able to drop me at the dentist, organise my visit in spanish and leave a car and driver and continue to the airport to collect his other guests. I was truly grateful that this was not a problem.....(as it could have been).
An hour and half later we were on our way. Julio rang us to ensure we were all OK. Our driver didnt speak English, but was very good to take us to an ATM in Puerto Natales and point out various attractions and sights along the way. He also stopped at scenic areas for pictures.
Big Tick Explorer.
The drive just got better and better....huge vast rolling mountains...blue lakes and then the 'breathtaking' rugged Torres del Paine and finally Explorer, a truly beautiful Hotel.....lovely feel, comfortable, friendly. Outstanding location. Fabulous food, wines, views you wouldnt believe. All of that said...it's the friendly experienced 'charming' guides that give 'that added extra' to take this type of holiday to a standard way beyond your expectations and heighten the entire experience.
We trekked to Grey Glacier, French Valley and trekked to and from the BBQ in the 3 days we were there...all exciting wonderful experiences, not to be missed. We would return in a heartbeat. Special Thanks to Manfred, Courtney and Nicko...our guides..you guys rock!!
My friends at home think I 'photoshopped' the pics and all taken on the iphone, the scenery is that perfect and the area pristine.
If you love to trek in style....this is for you, without a doubt
Thank you...we are now looking at Explorer Easter Island and Atacama and Explora Travesias.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatloverGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
451 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
808 reviews
20.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,153 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
449 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to explora Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about explora Patagonia

Property: explora Patagonia
Address: | Sector Salto Chico S/N, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — explora Patagonia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is located right in the heart of the extraordinary Torres del Paine National Park in southern Patagonia. The diverse and untouched landscapes of this area led UNESCO to declare it a biosphere reserve.Our Patagonia hotel lodge opened in 1993 on the banks of the Salto Chico waterfall. It affords an excellent view of the unique Paine Massif and two of the three impressive torres, or towers, which give the park its name.The lodge has 49 rooms and a variety of inviting spaces. Situated on a 3-hectare (7.4-Acre) site, the design borrows certain organic forms from the landscape itself, adapting to it with simple elegance. It was designed to create a dialogue with its environment, putting human beings in touch with the sublimity of their surroundings.For travellers, the lodge provides the welcome surprise of comfort in a remote area. Nonetheless, you are not isolated from nature, but rather placed "within" it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your explora Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Patagonia Hotel Salto Chico
Explora Patagonia Torres Del Paine
Explora Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing