We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congratulations and a Massive Thank You!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Congratulations and a Massive Thank You!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family and I stayed in Tierra Patagonia for four days over Christmas. We were really nervous about firstly choosing either the Explora hotel (which is in the Torres del Paine park) or Tierra Patagonia (which is just outside of the park) and secondly paying up front especially as we decided to spend New Year in Tierra Atacama (please see seperate review) which is owned by the same Hotel Group.

We have stayed in a number of hotels around the world and the overall experience, attention to details, great food and charming staff made this an absolutely unforgettable break. My wife and nine year son had tears in their eyes when they left and want to return next year. Starting with the building itself - amazing design by a renowned Chilean Architect, amazing bedrooms (i recommend the ones on the second floor), incredible view of Torres del paine, lovely swimming pool, great fire area, amazing food...i could go on and on.

The staff and organization of the trips was first class, the former were really friendly, engaging and knowledge. In sort Tierra Patagonia really care about the client and want you to have a great time. This is really evident.

In short this is a very smart 4 star hotel with a feel of a 5 star hotel. It is the premier hotel in the area and having walked around and seen the Explora, i think that the location and the hotel itself is on another level.

We would like to say a huge thank you to the owners and management of Tierra Patagonia for a holiday of a lifetime. We will definetly return.

Christopher

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    57
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
84
261
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our first destination in Chile was Patagonia and the car waiting in the airport for us was clean and with a friendly driver.

The rooms and food were good compare with another lodges who we stayed in Chile.

Excursions with another persons are no so good but were goog guided.

When we return to Chile our next hotel will be Tierra Atacama.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review.
Hopefully we will have the plasure of welcoming you back sometime soon.
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family spend six days over Christmas and we had a terrific time. The hotel runs like a well organized orchesta. Facilities, food, service, spa are very good; but in this place, a fundamental part are the guides. Carlos was our guide and took us treeking, horse back riding (outstanding), mountain biking, etc. I really recommend this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos150800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A long way to go but well worth it. The vastness of Chilean Patagonia can only be appreciated on arrival and during subsequent trips.
Our suite was spacious and well equipped but we hardly ever used our upstairs lounge area.
All the hotel staff are charming and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. The tour guides are wonderful both in their knowledge of the area and wildlife.
We stayed 7 days which gave us the opportunity to take advantage of most of the treks and trips available with occasional half days for R&R. Most people visiting were only staying 2-3 days which is really not sufficient to experience everything on offer.
Food ranged from sublime (usually) to occasionally inedible. The hotel provides 3 meals a day but I think snacks, such as sandwiches, should be available throughout the day even if on a plate by the bar which is always open. If you fancy some choccy the guides always have plenty in their rucksacks!! The barbecues offered occasionally instead of dinner at nearby estancias are great fun and a welcome change of venue.
The chairs and seats in the public areas, although blending in with the theme, are horribly uncomfortable with no upper body and head support especially for tall people.
Obviously a good camera is essential but I also recommend good binoculars as the wildlife visible from the hotel as well as on tours is amazing. Whilst we were there in December the weather was very, and I mean very very,windy to the point that at times one had to crouch on the ground to prevent oneself being blown over!! A reasonable level of fitness is recommended to enjoy everything on offer.
All in all a wonderful hotel in incredible surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent a blissful three days on an all inclusive package. The hotel is perhaps the most interestingly beautiful I have stayed in with panoramic views across a gorgeous lake to snow capped mountains of Torres del Paine from the restaurant, bar and all the rooms. Picked up and dropped off from the airport in a private car to our own schedule (its a 4.5 hour drive), we were served impeccably throughout. Outings are arranged daily, usually to suit your own mood, and could not be better run. The food at the restaurant was excellent (though if not to your liking there is an alternative menu available with less adventurous cuisine - we only realised this late in the day). It is expensive but very much worth it in our view, particularly if you combine with time at their Atacama hotel for which you can get a small discount.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is truly the nicest and best hotel we have ever stayed at, and that is saying something since we have traveled all over the world. The location is outstanding. Every room has a view of the mountain. Its like a National Geographics cover from your window. The rooms are superb with lovely showers, beautiful wood, comfortable bed...simply amazing. The food is to die for. Each meal had great options and was like eating at a 5 star restaraunt. The lobby and bar was a great place to hang and the wine...SO GOOD! Best of all was the staff. From the person at the pool to the front desk to the guides, each one was so attentive an welcoming. The guides themselves were great. Each night the suggested which hikes to take and all of the excursions were great. Also, with no internet in the room, everyone hung out in the lobby and we had a nice time meeting people. Let me make it simple...this is the place to stay in Patagonia. Its a bit pricy but well worth it.

Room Tip: They are all great! The higher numbers are away from the common rooms and closer to the spa but ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jturkBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear JturkBOS;
Thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor - we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - it certainly sounds like you had great excursions and enjoyed the "home from home" atmosphere we try to generate with meeting other guests and making new friends. And yes, the view is pretty amazing!
We hope to see you again one day!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The first impression as one drives into the hotel grounds is deceiving because one only sees the ecologically built top of the hotel merging with the landscape. However the spectacular view of the lake and mountains as soon as one walks into the hotel lounge and dining area takes one's breath away!! The rooms have large windows which provide beautiful panoramic views. And the staff are helpful and friendly, from reception to drivers, maids and waiters. The excursions are led by knowledgeable and fantastic guides, especially Nacho, who went out of his way to make our days there unforgettable. We even had beautiful sunny weather which meant we had brilliant views of the scenery and wildlife in the national park, including the condors. Only thing we didn't see was the puma, which gives us an excuse for going back. After a hard day of walking, climbing or riding in the cold and windy outdoors, one can relax in the heated pool or be spoilt in the spa. Great food too to replenish all the energy needed for the excursions, followed by drinks by the roaring fireplace. One place we would love to go back to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear MichaelChew;
Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor - we're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of the excursions and activities we offer. We'd love to welcome you back to Tierra Patagonia in the future and maybe get to see that elusive puma!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
227 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
810 reviews
23.9 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,156 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#9 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Property: Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing