We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This modern and beautiful stylish hotel in the middle of the Patagonian national park is a fantastic haven. The perfect retreat after a day travelling around the area.

The design of and views from the hotel rooms and general arrears are world beating by any standard.

Food was good and staff very helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Philekelly,
Thank you for your comments - we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and our team will be happy to know their efforts were appreciated!
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    57
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
80
252
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Please change my evaluation to Tierra Patagonia instead of
Las Torres Patagonia which I do not know. Excellent hotel and accommodations, food, service, and excursions, new facility, wonderful view of the Torres from the large picture windows. Cell phones and internet and TV restricted to the living room obligate to rest from technology and increase face to face communication

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitranMauricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear BitranMauricio;
Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Tierra Patagonia and were able to discover the wonders of the area and enjoy the hotels facilities.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and can't say enough about our experience here. From the moment we saw the property nestled into the awe - inspiring landscape, we knew we had found something special. Having visited many national park systems in the world, we've seen our fair share of beautiful places in the world, but Torres del Paine is truly spectacular and the excursions on offer here really do well to show it off!

The people working at the hotel are great and really go out of their way to make sure your stay is top notch. We especially had a great time with the guides, Nacho, Angela and Carlos, who all went above and beyond the call of duty to help feel us welcome and provide some education and insight into a beautiful part of the world.

Would highly recommend coming here if you get the opportunity!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WheretoNext999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Wheretonext999;
Many thanks for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Patagonia is a very special place and our team work hard to try to ensure that our guests have a wonderful time with us. We will make sure that Nacho, Angela and Carlos, as well as the rest of the team get your comments and I'm sure they'll be happy to know that their efforts were worthwhile! Hopefully we can welcome you back some day.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Nothing about this lodge could be faulted. Everything had been thought of and provided. Exquisite food, large ,comfortable rooms, lots to do and a spa to recover in. Even the other guests seemed particularly well designed! Guides were knowledgeable and considerate and all the vehicles immaculately kept. Flies in the ointment? Only the wind and even the hotel can do nothing about that inescapable feature of Patagonia!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Kate M,

Thank you!

We particularly liked your comments about the other guests being well designed - we try to appeal to a broad audience, and ensure that all our guests have a good time - from your feedback it appears we did it!
Many thanks and warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Tierra Patagonia is a stunner. I'd score it higher if I could.
This is a design award winning building lined throughout with wide sweeping swathes of wood. It stands on the shores of Sarmiento lake with all 40 of its rooms offering a view of the Torres de Paine mountain range with its distinctive three towers.
The design is striking and aerodynamic to cope with the constant wind that thrums from the National Park. Yet viewed from afar it is difficult to spot as it blends into the scenery.
We spent three nights here which allowed for a full day and to half day excursions. These trips along with airport pickup (a four hour run in good weather), food and most bar drinks were included in the deal.
The bedrooms (and the beds) are spacious. The bathrooms are luxurious. A stand alone bath hogs its own platform and light from the wet-room shower and toilet illuminate a woodland scene etched into opaque glass doors.
Food is considered with portions that are not as overwhelming as in some Chilean establishments.
There's a spa and an infinity pool and a hot tub can bubble away outside.
We were taken ill for our second day so missed the two half day trips but the full-day excursion took us across the park pausing to view and photograph scenery and wildlife. The roads were tortuous but our impressive driver seemed to take all in his stride. Our guide was full of fascinating information and seemed eager for us to share his enthusiasm for this startling, awe-inspiring place. A picnic was more like a banquet.
We can't report on the spa since we had to cancel a massage after sickness hit. One of our guides for the missed trips came to sympathise which at least made us feel included.
Cons? Well the four hour run from Punta Arenas is a bit of a slog although guanaco, rhea, and gaucho spotting helped pass the time. Wi-fi is only available in the public rooms which when you're stuck in bed for a day cuts you off. But keeping in contact should not be what a visit to this area is about.
This is an astonishing hotel. Given its remote location it provides an amazing standard of service and facilities. Do not miss it if you visit Patagonia.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Retired Traveller;
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were sorry to hear you weren't well during your stay with us. It sounds as though you were able to enjoy some of the excursions and of course the amazing design of the hotel, as well as the marvellous views, which change constantly with the light and the wind outside. Hopefully you will be able to come back and visit us in the future.
Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Adviser, and happy travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I traveled with 7 members of my adult family (ages 26 to 63) to Tierra Patagonia for 5 nights during the week of Thanksgiving 2013. We had researched extensively and wanted to make sure we were staying in the best place in Chilean Patagonia. We wavered back and forth between Tierra Patagonia and the Explora, and I am SO HAPPY we picked Tierra Patagonia. It was one of the top travel experiences, if not the top, of my life, and I would recommend the trip to anyone.

The hotel is very well designed, in that it complements the landscape, and there are views from every room from which you will see sheep, a beautiful blue lake and black sand beach, mountains, wild clouds, and condors. The spa is very nice, and my massage from Franco was better than anything I've had while traveling. The beds are comfortable, and I slept very soundly.

The greatest thing about Tierra Patagonia is that you don't have to worry about anything while you're there. You eat all of your meals in their beautiful, minimal dining room, and the food is good. The excursions are fully planned for you, and each day you will have about 10 different excursions (half days or full days) to choose from. We were lucky enough to have Chris as our guide, and he really made our trip for us. He knows everything about the animals and plants on hikes, he is super fun and personable, he's well-traveled, and he went out of his way to make my parents feel comfortable. Try to pick an excursion with Chris as your guide (the guides are noted on the board) on one of your first days, and your trip will be fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FuegoNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear FuegoNYC1,
Thanks for the great comments and we're so glad that all the family enjoyed your time with us. Chris will be pleased to hear you loved his guiding too, we have a great team of guides, so it's good to know that that the excursions were one of the highlights of your trip.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

When our van turned into the entrance of Tierra Patagonia after driving for 4 hours from Punta Arenas, we were quite disappointed as we could only see the top and back of a flattish wooden hotel in a barren land, although surrounded by beautiful snow-capped mountains.

Everything changed when we were warmly ushered into the reception and through to the lounge and restaurant. The "flattish wooden" hotel is actually intimately constructed to blend into the beautiful landscape, and it is an architectural piece of art.

Every single room, the lounge and the restaurant look out to the beautiful mountains and the Laguna Sarmiento, a pristine calm lake filled with blue waters. Everywhere you look becomes a "WOW" moment!

Imagine waking up every morning to that, and having your meals, taking in the delicious food and glorious scenery....the waiters Pablo, Dexter, Maurizio, Beatrice and Sebastian made us feel like family, always greeting us at every meal with bright smiles, so much warmth and enthusiasm. Nothing was too difficult for them, and no amount of coffee, raspberry juice or Calafate Sour was too much trouble.

The rooms are elegantly zen-like with not much clutter, and with large bathrooms with a shower room, WC and bath-tub. You can even soak in the bath and take in the majesty of the mountains as there is a glass panel between the bedroom and the bathroom which allows the view.

We found the other staff friendly and warm. One of their guides, Nacho reviewed the various excursion options with us the day we arrived, and recommended a few to us. Even then, we already liked his warmth and sense of humour.

Nacho took us out to the Laguna Azul the next morning before returning to the hotel for lunch. We enjoyed ourselves so much with Nacho that we requested for him to be our guide for all the other excursions, and we were not disappointed.

The next few days' excursions included a hike up the Cornizas ridge where we were fortunate to witness about a dozen condors soaring majestically around the ridge, where it also snowed lightly. To have Nacho pointing out all the interesting facts, flowers etc was a bonus. We also went on the Laguna Grey and glacier tour. We felt humbled as the boat manouvered along the lake and the icebergs as the huge beautiful and blue grey glacier and mountain peaks looked down on us mere mortals in majestic silence.

Nacho also gave a presentation of the photos which he has collected over the years during our first night there - you cannot miss it, as it will give you a little insight into the beauty of the surroundings, and his love and passion for Torres del Paines and his job. Consider yourself lucky if Nacho leads your group out.

After all the exercise, a visit to the spa for a deep tissue or hot stone massage, or a dip in the heated pool, again with a lovely view of the mountains & lake, is a must. All 3 masseurs are excellent.

We were very sad to leave our friends at Tierra Patagonia at the end of our stay, and will try to return even though it is a 33-hour journey for us each way!!

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the mountains and lake. We were allocated Rooms 5, 6 & 7 which are a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear MWLing;
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to detail your experiences at Tierra Patagonia. I know all our team will be happy to know their efforts were appreciated - particularly Nacho! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when hopefully the journey will be a bit shorter.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
13.4 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
18.6 mi away
explora Patagonia
explora Patagonia
#4 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Property: Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing