We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A must stay if you go to Torres del Paine National Park. Nothing short of paradise.
I brought my 60/70+ year old parents with me on this trip, so we figure why not splurge. They have daily activities to keep everyone busy, or why not relax and sit in front of the magnificent view with open bar! We were so happy to spend 5 days there, it is a once in a lifetime treat!
The hotel is outside the park, but not far, you get to do the same activities as those staying in the park. It is the newest hotel there and I cannot recommend it enough. We flew to Puntas Arenas, got picked up there, and then afterwards we paid extra to get us to Argentina El Calafate to see the glaciers.
The only downside was food was so so, for all that I have heard about awesome Patagonian food, this place does not impress for that price...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingKing_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We're glad you enjoyed your time in the far south of Chile at Tierra Patagonia and were able to benefit not only from the wide range of excursions but also just taking time to enjoy the spaces and facilities in the hotel. We are disappointed that the food was not to your liking, however we do constantly update our menus and dishes available, so we will certainly keep working on this.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 457 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Absolutely outstanding hotel, we were really happy to spend 5 nights of our honeymoon here.
The hotel has the 'WOW' factor. The view is spectacular (from the dining hall, from your room, from the indoor swimming pool and the outside jacuzzi).
We arrived by bus from Argentina, and the driver picked us up at the border at Cerro Castillo.
Everything was very well organized, very personal welcome from the manager. As we walked in we saw two condors flying. The room was perfect, beautifully decorated and with a complimentary bottle of champagne and cheese platter, because it was our honeymoon. Also received a complimentary massage and private bath.
We liked all the excursions we did (Cornices 1/2 day walk on our arrival day, Base of the Towers, full day walk, Mirador Los Cuernos 1/2 day walk, horseriding 1/2 day, Hunters trail 1/2 day walk, full day Grey (with Ferrier point). They do have challenging walks for young fit people and more than enough choice if you are willing to walk. Our guide Paula was excellent, very enthusiastic and full of energy, good knowledge of the national park and animals.You will definitely see guanaco's, sheep, condors, falcons, eagles, lots of birds (even flamingo's), and we saw one fox. A puma must have been very close, as we saw a fresh kill (sheep) just on the driveway of the hotel.
Enjoyed visiting early in the season (end of September), we were lucky to have great weather and it was not crowded. Could pick all the excursions we wanted and had almost all as a private tour (just the 2 of us with guide and driver), except for the Base of the Towers were we went together with another couple.
Really consider it worth the money, it is all inclusive with drinks and food (great smoothies, cocktails, 7 different house wines and very tasty food). All the staff is very friendly and try to make you comfortable. Atmosphere is very casual, as everyone is going on outdoor activities.
Because of the combination of location, scenery, great service and beautiful style this is the best hotel we have visited so far! Can absolutely recommend it.

Also excellent service from the Tierra reservation staff, arranged all the transfers, helped us solving contact problems with the bus company where we got tickets for the bus from El Calafate to Cerro Castillo. Also enjoyed the free night at the Ritz and at Matetic Vineyard that we got for staying 5 nights at Tierra Patagonia in low season.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humuhumu_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guests;
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of all the wonderful activities in the Torres del Paine. Our staff will be very happy to know that your honeymoon was an experience you won't forget and we're pleased you made the most of our value programs by travelling in low season, when Patagonia truly is marvellous. Thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, and we hope to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary at some point in the future!
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent 3 days/4 nights at Tierra Patagonia and had a great experience as others have said. The staff, the food, the fellow travelers were all a delight.
A few tips are in order:
1. As you enter Chile via the airport, it is not well advertised that you must first pay a $160 entry fee ( charged only to countries including the USA that charge Chileans to enter their country) by cash or credit card at a separate counter before customs. Then you proceed to the customs line. Payment of the fee is only one time per passport and it expires when your passport does.
2. Tierra Patagonia staff picked us up at the airport and we made the 4 hour trek to the hotel with 2 other couples. The staff had sandwiches for the trip, but we instead chose to grab a quick bite at the hotel Posada Rio Rubens, which is about half way into the journey where they generally stop for a bathroom break. Our group found the hamburguesa and the cheese sandwiches were very tasty and I would suggest it is well worth the extra time. We never ate the sandwiches. If instead you arrive at the hotel after hours, they will have amazingly great sandwiches there ready for you which outdo those on the van or full day trips.
3. If you stay at the Ritz in Santiago, there is a great little restaurant within walking distance called Confiteria Las Torres. It is the oldest restaurant in Chile, located on a quiet street with many tables overlooking the wide sidewalk, much like a Paris Cafe. The seafood there was very good. Ritz staff can easily direct you.
4. If your departure flight leaves 5-8pm from Punta Arenas and the logistics work out, you may ask about leaving early in the day and keeping the van for a tour of the city( our group of 4 tipped the driver $80 for his time and vigilance of our bags). The restaurant Sotitos is famous throughout Chile for its king crab, which is served upstairs and well worth the stop. Also visit the cemetery and dip a finger in the Straits.
Finally, a comment on when to go. We went in October, spring. Yes, it snowed. But we were exercising,dressed for it and with snow,unlike rain you don't get wet. There are no crowds and even better, no mosquitoes ( or frankly, bugs of any kind). I can heartily recommend this time of year as an excellent time to go.
These few extra tips should an incredible experience even more memorable. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. Room 24did not have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whos_Got_My_Bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest;
Thanks for your lovely comments and the fantastic tips - we're sure they'll be extremely useful for other guests! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor, and will make sure our team knows that their efforts were appreciated!
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Sitting on the edge of the deck beyond the windscreen of the hot tub in the twilight - How could I be here? Maybe it was the scotch (The wind drank my first glass off the deck while in the hot tub and staff brought the whole bottle). Maybe it was the Torres Del Paine in twilight across the lake - in a towel, fresh from the sauna in a cold wind after a day of hiking and horseback riding. Or, maybe the privilege of staying in a work of art that seemed to rise from the Pampas.

Most unique. Best.

The Tierra group is first class. This hotel, staff and guides are beyond description. They seem to share their good fortune to work here. l spare you the 5 pages to follow of our wonderful stay here.

My very warm regards to our guide Basil. A man who has found his calling.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochester_NY_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Honestly this is one of the most amazing places I have ever been! To be able to wake up to Mountains and glaciers right outside your window is WOW!. The Staff is wonderful - They are attentive, knowledgable and accommodating without being stuffy. This is ideally a place for someone who likes to get outside and explore - why else would you come here? But it is also a wonderful place to relax in the spa or at the lakeside with a book and relax... You make the itinerary - What do YOU want to do? Food was fantastic, wine amazing and a wonderful selection of craft beers from Chile. And don't forget the Tierra mascot Ramon! Resident sheep rescue.

Tierra sets themselves apart with their warmth all around - between the architecture, the staff and overall feel of Patagonia, this is one of the most magical places on earth for me... Getting there may take a bit but so worth the journey. Going through Santiago, Chile may be an easier journey. We came from Buenos Aires into El Calafate and the transfer takes a bit longer.

Again this is a very special place... I still get goose bumps thinking about our stay - cant wait to get back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristobal_Luna, Gerente at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Gary P;
Thanks for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, and we’re really pleased you enjoyed your time with us! Patagonia IS a magical place and it sounds like you really made the most of your stay, so we’d love to have the chance to welcome you back some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have traveled all over the world and would list this hotel as one of my top 5 ever. Tierra Patagonia is a truly stunning hotel with amazing views, a unique design, great food, exceptional service and a feeling of tranquility that I just can't put into words. The rooms are perfectly designed and the public spaces offer plenty of nooks and crannies for alone time or time with the other guests. The excursion list is extensive and the spa and pool are truly stunning. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to experience Wild Patagonia in luxury.

Room Tip: If you request a room near the restaurant you may be able to pick up the wifi signal from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel property is an entire excellent experience. The rooms, services and facilities spectacular.
We stayed 4 nights and could have stayed much longer, we will remember our stay forever as a highlight. The bar staff were fantastic and made great cocktails, the meals were all good but some better than others, wines all very good. Staff Teresa, Makarena, and Mauricio were especially memorable with their lovely smiles and great service. The spa staff Claudia and Carmen were well worth the visit for a massage.
Carlos our favourite guide may not have found us a Puma but what he did show us with great passion, knowledge and understanding was a remarkable piece of the world.
Thank You Tierra Patagonia - WELL DONE!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyAussie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
230 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
814 reviews
13.4 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
464 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $673 - $1,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing