We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Estancia Tercera Barranca(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Mirador del Payne(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Torres Patagonia(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria El Pionero(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Patagonia Camp(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Lago del Toro(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Serrano Hotel + spa(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation(Torres del Paine National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
473
61
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
61
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poollake sarmientonational parkstunning hotellocal woodstunning architecturesister hotelpunta arenasthree choicesevery respectthe outdoor hot tubchillisweeping viewsking crabnachospaine massifthe hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 549 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from a five day stay at Tierra Patagonia. This is a remarkable experience. The hotel is a beautiful building that fits into the desert environment that surrounds it. The 40 rooms all face out onto the Torres del Paine that are magnificent snow capped mountains. From the moment you arrive you are in a different world and exceptionally well cared for by an attentive but non intrusive staff. The lobby, library, bar and dining room are located in a large open space with ceiling to floor windows looking out on the remarkable landscape of Patagonia. The rooms have beautiful modern bathrooms. The spa area has a large indoor pool that also looks out onto the lake and mountains and a outdoor jacuzzi.
The best part of the place are the guides who take you on excursions. These 4 or 8 hour day trips can be as leisurely as a boat ride in the national park or a 4 hour trek to the base of the towers of Torres del Paine and 3 hours back. The guides are young but knowledgeable and love their work and feel privileged to work in Patagonia. They are correct as Patagonia is a remarkable place. While the hotel seems surrounded by desert within an hour you are viewing icebergs or climbing in a Pine forest and looking down on a glacier.
The food is very good not outstanding but still a very positive experience. The guests are from everywhere and come in all sizes, ages and fitness levels. During our visit only 20 rooms were occupied and the guests ranged in age from 85 to 19 and came from Holland, Miami, San Francisco, Santiago, Augusta, and many other cities in the States. The one similarity that all the guests had was a desire to see the world and a can do attitude. While people were friendly they respected your privacy and we ate dinner and breakfast at a table for two. While hiking guests were pleasant and as friendly as you permitted. Very impressive that the location, the hotel, the activities and the guests were all remarkable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingdad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Patagonia has been on my bucket list for years. I am glad I waited for the Tierra Patagonia to open before making the trek. The location, architecture and staff were all terrific. The relatively new manager, Christobal Luna, is a real pro. If it can be done, he will get it done.

Words cannot describe the respect I have for the guides. The team was exceptional and Canguro Chris led the pack. He is an exceptional guide and I would recommend booking your reservations around his travel schedule. He is as memorable as the mountain peaks of Torres del Paine National Park. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. I look forward to skiing Portillo and visiting Tierra Atacama in the new future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loutulim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for four nights as autumn approached. We were lucky and the weather was nice every day. From the moment we were picked up in Punta Arenas, through the fabulous walks with Felipe, Basilio and Martin, to the return trip to the Punta Arenas airport the staff was always thinking and acting on our behalf. The food was good, the architecture exquisite and the solace of the stay fantastic.
If you are seeking some great hikes with knowledgable leaders from a fantastic location go to Torres Del Paine and stay at Tierra Patagonia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Tierra Patagonia for 5 days. The hotel, a long semicurve built into the side of a hill and made entirely out of local wood, is designed to blend in with the local landscape and is architecturally striking inside and out. The rooms (only 3 suites available) are simple, but tastefully done, and the view out of each window faces the turquoise waters of Lake Sarmiento and the amazing mountain range behind it. This is an all-inclusive resort: food, drink, and expeditions have no extra charge; in fact I think only the massages in the spa cost extra (I didn't try out the spa).

If you love rugged landscapes, this place is for you. The environment is gorgeous and you can fit in two expeditions a day (hiking, climbing, horseback riding, flora and fauna tours, visiting the nearby glacier). Almost all the guests come with outdoor activities in mind, and hang around in hiking gear waiting for the next trip. The staff is wonderful, warm, and eager to please. Did I mention the views were beautiful?

It's not quite a 5-star experience yet, though, IMHO. When we stayed there we thought there were just a few snags that needed to be ironed out. I'll mention them in the spirit of constructive feedback. First and most important, the restaurant (remember, all your meals are in the common dining room; you can pick one of three menu options each lunch and dinner) was very uneven. Some meals were quite tasty; others were actually bad (an inedible salmon; an over-gristly stew). Second, wifi is restricted to the public areas (lounge, library, dining room, etc), which means you can't get work done in your room. This might have been set up this way to encourage interaction, but it's just a pain. Also, the public areas have music on 24/7 and this can be tiring to listen to--especially if you have to spend a lot of time out there because of the wifi issue! If these three features were changed, the place would really be perfect.

I recommend the horseback riding at a nearby estancia--an unbelievably beautiful 2 hour trip through a magical green forest. And even on walks around the hotel you will see local antelopes, ostriches, and sheep. No penguins though--for that you need to go to Punta Arenas.

Room Tip: 2-8, 22-28 are closest to to the public areas
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLovingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review.
Hopefully we will have the plasure of welcoming you back sometime soon.
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had an amazing time at Tierra Patagonia. Not only is the hotel in an amazing location the staff are incredible. The guides brought us to some of the most beautiful places in the world. I recommend going to Sierra Baguales as an excursion during your stay. Thanks Tierra Patagonia!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews