We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location and architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful location and architecture”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed there over christmas which is probably one of the busiest months of the year. The hotel is amazing, stunning architecture inside and outside and it has a beautiful location at the Sermiento lake. Rooms are also very spacious and nice and so is the spa.
The service is lacking behind, at dinner we often had to "fight" for a table as there don't seem to be enough tables and most guests tend to arrive at the same time. We felt the staff at the restaurant is also not very attentive and don't look out for basic needs such as offering drinks or bread and taking orders.
The excursion programme is extensive but groups were bit to large for our taste. We are quite active walkers and mostly chose the walks classified as "hard". Therefore it was annoying to end up with a group of kids or elderly people who slowed down the pace of the whole group.
Given the luxury category of the hotel we felt the service should be improved and excursion should be ore tailor made.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kataliahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristobal_Luna, Gerente at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay at Tierra Patagonia! You mention the stunning architecture and beautiful location on the lake, I am so glad you enjoyed it and we hope it was a special Christmas for you.
I want to address your comments on the service in the restaurant and the excursions. We have added additional tables and seating in the dining room, hired an extra barman as well as 3 more people to help in the restaurant. The service you experienced while at the hotel was not at the level we aspire to and I apologize.

With regards to excursions, I understand completely that as an avid hiker it as difficult to be part of a group with slower members. Part of our guides job is to group excursions as best as possible based on a clients interests and fitness level. This task can be difficult at times and I will reiterate with our guides that this is a priority to ensure a great experience for all of our guests.

Thank you again for the comments!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    57
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
84
261
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 4 nights here. It felt like a "Tale of 2 Cities"--amazing excursions, guides and rooms, but very uneven service experiences. You go here to experience the land and Tierra nailed this with amazing location and a group of exceptional guides with excursions to match. We are serious hikers and were able to get in three full day hikes and one half day hike. We were lucky in each hike to be with a group of like-minded folks who were willing to walk hard and fast. Our guides (Martin and Felipe) were both Patagonians who loved the land and took great care to share it with us. Rooms are beautiful, each with spectacular views. The only issue that kept this from a 5-star review: bar and restaurant service was poor. Food was very good, but you had to beg to get water or (complimentary) wine refilled at dinner. And stepping up to the bar became a joke with all the guests we were around--how many minutes before we would be acknowledged and served? Most excursions return between 6p and 8p. You would think that the bar would be better prepared for the peak (there's only 40 rooms...) but there was never more that one server. At this price point, and compared to other places we stayed in Chile this was by far the weakest service experience we had.

Room Tip: All rooms are great--second floor preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristobal_Luna, Gerente at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Joe, many thanks for the feedback, we are working hard to resolve the service issues and are implementing more staff training. We appreciate the suggestion on staffing too, as we can definitely improve there. Tierra Patagonia is a beautiful place and I’m pleased you could enjoy the setting and architecture. It sounds like our guides were able to help you make the most of your experience and the excursions. I’m sure they’ll be happy to know their efforts are appreciated.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Chile, including 4 days in Patagonia. There we stayed at the Tierra Patagonia hotel, just outside Torres Del Paines national park.

The hotel is new, beautifully designed to fit into the environment. The food was well prepared, varied each day, and nicely presented.

Our room was very comfortable with a very nice bath, and blond wood panelling everywhere. Very Scandinavian.

Our excursions were fantastic--hiking many hours to the base of the "Towers," taking the Condor and Hunter's trails, and a breathtaking boat ride to the glacier. The guides are excellent--friendly, helpful, and very attentive to the needs of the guests.

Oh, the spa is also great. There is a beautiful indoor pool which looks out on the Towers. The view cannot be beat.

I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Patagonia. Book in advance, as it fills up.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank howard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristobal_Luna, Gerente at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comment. We’re really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could appreciate the setting and design of Tierra Patagonia. The excursions you mention are some of our favourites, so it’s nice to hear you enjoyed them too. Thanks once again, and we hope to see you back in Patagonia one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Amazing architecture and amazing view from the hotel. People who were working there are friendly and committed. Guides were excellent and we had a great hikes everyday. The general manager was very passionated and he wanted to help and do everything he can. He helped us plan one of our friend's birthday party. Spa was excellent but need to book in advance. We only had 4 nights but we could have stayed longer as there are so many different hikes (easy to difficult) that the hotel could organize for us. I would highly recommend this hotel if this falls within your budget.

Room Tip: There are 2 levels but I think a higher level would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristobal_Luna, Gerente at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your comments, it’s good to know you had a lovely stay and that we were able to help you get to know the area and enjoy the spa! We’re pleased you enjoyed the birthday party and hope to welcome you back for longer next time!
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a surprise to find such a wonderful and designed place in Patagonia.

Don’t expect a 5* on the food/service side but all the team is doing is best

The exercusions/activities are very well organized (guides, small groups)

We stayed 5 nights and it was the best of our Patagonia trip

Congratulations to have created such a spirit in less than a year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you plan to visit Patagonia, don't think twice about staying anywhere else. This is THE most magnificent place we've ever been -- not just for the rooms and meals, but for the relationships you make with the staff and the environment and the top quality service you'll review. Yes, it costs an arm and a leg. But it is TOTALLY worth it. I was not surprised to see it featured prominently in the New York Times Sunday travel section; I only worry it will make it even more popular!

We spent 5 days/4 nights here. We drove from Puerto Natales through wide open spaces that rival Montana or Wyoming on steroids. Just amazing. Approaching the hotel (marked only by a small symbol on the road), you wind thru a sheep pasture and see the back of it -- and are unimpressed. Until they open the front door. The architecture inside is crazy beautiful and the view, well, never, ever have seen anything so spectacular from a hotel room window. And every room shares it.

The wide open public area is defined by a bar in the middle (an endless open bar serves up terrific Chilean wines and anything else you'd like). On one side are beautiful couches and chairs with sheepskin covers, a giant ceramic map of the area where you get your orientation to the park, and plenty of places to bring your iPad for wireless internet and lounging. On the other is the dining room, where we had terrific meals (you get two or three choices every night, including a veggie choice).

The spa area is at the end of the hotel, with a very warm pool and an outside tub. It's the perfect place to relax after a tiring day of hiking. Although this is an all-inclusive resort, massages and spa services are extra.

Rooms themselves are amazing...two sinks, separate shower and toilet area behind frosted glass doors, stand-alone tub. All local wood everywhere.

Enough about the place -- Tierra Patagonia is all about the people there. Our guides were nothing less than amazing. They have real passion for what they do. Try to book hikes with Felipe. He's from Patagonia is passionate about it. Martine also was, taking us to the base of the towers (a difficult hike) with confidence and despite our complaints that came from being out of shape!

The waiters, front desk, the folks who drove us around the park everyone there is terrific. No language barriers.

This is the real Chile in a place that deserves everyone of its 5 stars!

Room Tip: All have the same view...We were in 35 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were here for four nights recently. It is one of the most special properties at which we've ever stayed. Stunning hotel, with great guides and activities. Excellent food. I wish our stay had been longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
227 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
810 reviews
23.9 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,156 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Property: Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing