We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view, the access, the people = THE Torres del Paine experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The view, the access, the people = THE Torres del Paine experience!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were in awe of the dramatic light changes over the Torres del Paine reflected in Lake Sarmiento in front of Tierra Patagonia, all from bedside! Conveniently 45 minutes from the National Park we enjoyed trekking, horse back riding and an estancia BBQ. The guides were friendly, helpful and informative. In time the enthusiastic staff of this 3 month old eco-friendly architectural marvel hotel-spa will hit their stride. Chris, Natalia, Isadora, Alejandra thank you for a wonderful Patagonian experience! (Next time fly fishing!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNanTie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review!
Best Regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Patagonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    57
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
84
261
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Accommodations: excellent, rooms are very comfortable and chic, bathrooms beautiful. Beautiful architecture and design overall. Incredible views of the lake and torres.

Service: I would say they try to do their best, but it was evident that they were understaffed especially at dinner so we ended up waiting too long for our entrees and main courses as well as wine to accompany our meal. Breakfast was disappointing. You got eggs if you asked, but were never asked or if so, only at the end of the meal, orange juice from concentrate was often not the right concentration of water and juice so undrinkable even though other options mango, strawberry and raspberry were available and delicious. In the common area bathrooms, they failed several times to restock the towels for drying your hands.

Spa area: Spa facilities great, swimming pool has fantastic view of lake and torres, but unfortunately the outdoor jacuzzi was not operating.

Location: Great, approximately 30 minutes from the park entrance. Probably the best possible since presently and probably for the next few years, the Explora is surrounded by burnt forest.

Activities: Some great hikes which allowed us to see wildlife up close and some of the most beautiful landscapes ever. Guides are helpful, but ... considering prices:
Asking for extra for lake Grey glacier navigation seems slightly ridiculous,
Packed lunches for full day excursions were pretty horrible
Snacks were basically chocolate bars or dried nuts (how about granola bars as a healthier option?)
In Tierra Atacama (sister hotel) we were given wine, beer, smoked salmon, cheese and crackers as a snack/aperitif at the end of some half day excursions, which we expected to occur with Tierra Patagonia as well. For example at Glacier Grey, we had one hour waiting and were given our packed lunches, which consisted of dry sandwiches, brown bananas and a chocolate bar. We ended up ordering beer and appetizer at the Glacier Grey hotel restaurant while we waited so that we could eat our lunches inside (as it was raining outside and there was no organized lunch plan). Here would have been a great opportunity for Tierra Patagonia to whip out a nice little snack and aperitivo while we waited for the boat.
Most of the excursions were very satisfying, one of the excursions they proposed Mirador de Cuernos was through a burnt part of the forest, and we were not informed of this and was quite a shock when my mother in law took the excursion herself.

Food: Generally good (except for the box lunches). Portions sometimes small, but we saw that some of the guests got seconds if they asked. Sometimes menu items were misleading. For example one night they were offering pineapple sorbet with caramelized fruit, but the fruit that came with it was clearly out of a can.

Overall we had a good experience, though considering price range we would have expected a bit more attention to details and would have appreciated if the staff went the extra mile just like they did in sister hotel (Tierra Atacama) and other locations we have stayed at in this kind of 'luxury package'.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33176roman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I don't know where to start. We were suppose to stay at Explora but due to the fire in Torres del Paine we had to change to another hotel. I found Tierra Patagonia by looking hotels on Internet it looked good and offered the same services as Explora. When I saw the architecture on the website I thought wow this place seems great! So I followed UESnewyorker's advice: Don't think, just book, and I booked 4 nights - all inclusive.

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night but they kept the kitchen opened for us so we could have diner. The living areas are very comfy and warm with tasteful decoration. The place was built so you have a panoramic view of Lake Sarmiento and Torres del Paine.

All room has gorgeous view so you don't have to choose the perfect room, they're all great. Beds and linen are comfy. Minus: There is a nice bathtub but no bath salt or bubble bath.

Now the excursions. The guides are just GREAT!I have to say they were all very well organized and they handled all the excursions extremely well. Loreto was one of our favorite guide, but they are all very good!If you want to take a picture or take the time to see something or ask questions, it's always possible. It is organized so well in a way you don't feel it is organized, it is very pleasant!

Food. Very good, always fresh and varied and well presented + good wines. The only minus of our jurney would have to be the breakfast, no pancakes or viennoiseries not much choice in breads, they proposed eggs only our 3rd day.

Staff was mostly great, some of the bar tenders were not always paying attention so we sometimes had to go get them to be served, they should have their eyes more opened (but the hotel has just opened so I guess automatism was not yet completely in place.)

Nathalie one of the manager is extremely nice and helpful with the smile and there is also another gentleman who was sometimes at the reception or at the bar to help and HE had always his eyes opened and always made the difference with details, don't know his name unfortunately.

Overall an AMAZING experience we would recommend this place to everyone, we enjoyed every minute of it and hope we can return sometimes in the future! We visited Patagonia in Argentina after Chile but it wasn't as great...

WE LOVE TIERRA PATAGONIA!!!!!

"Don't think, just book"

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camelia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraHotels, Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Camelia2005,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and for your great comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to your specific comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed having Loreto as a guide! I am happy to say that she is working again with us this season. As for the slow service at the bar and dining room, our staff have been reminded to inform all guests of the breakfast options and to keep their eyes open and be attentive at all times. I apologise for any trouble this may have caused. I predict that the man you are referring to is Gonzalo, our restaurant manager, and much loved employee. We have informed him of your great feedback and he couldn't be happier!

We are constantly trying to improve our product and are confident that our second season will only be better than the last!

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Tierra Patagonia in the near future.

Warm regards and thank you again,

Tierra Patagonia Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, all inclusive, in early February 2012. The hotel has only just opened, and with some small things the staff are still finding their feet, but overall staying here was a fantastic experience, and a visit we would recommend to anyone.

The architectural design of the hotel means that it blends into the wild landscape on the shores of Lake Sarmiento. It's an aesthetic design that concentrates everything towards the mind-blowing view across the lake to the Paine Massif (the photos on the website don't do any justice to the real thing!) It would be quite easy to sit in the restaurant/bar/library/relaxing chairs and stare at the scenery, but the guided tours are too good for that.

Tierra has done a great job of sourcing a lovely bunch of expert, bi-lingual guides who have great passion for and knowledge of the National Park and beyond. All our trips were well managed, thoroughly enjoyable and excellent for photo enthusiasts like us - all this when the weather wasn't exactly playing ball.

When back from a hard hike or more laid back horseride, the spa and pool are great (and again the view from the pool has to be seen to be believed)
Food was good, and friendly service at the bar meant we were kept very happy.

We suspect that it won't be so easy to get a booking next time around. This hotel's reputation is going to soar.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views of Lake Sarmiento and the Paine Massif
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hard to identify the most incredible feature at Tierra Patagonia, where everything is so superlative: maybe the building, one of the finest hotels in South America that's hiding in the Patagonian landscape. Maybe the view of Torres del Paine, which is unrivaled and comes at you from every room in the hotel. But it's likely the service, especially the guides, who are the finest in their field and have a deep relationship to this extraordinary corner of the earth. (Kudos to whomever did the cherry-picking of the best hikers, climbers, riders, and wildlife aficionados in all of Chile.) Despite the fact that much of the park was closed, we barely noticed - the breathtaking excursions developed by Tierra Patagonia's staff, both physically challenging and psychologically illuminating, have likely never been seen by a tourist, and were grand in their own right. Great food, a comfy bed, a fun group of fellow travelers...Tiera Patagonia is a lifechanging experience. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UESnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraHotels, Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear UESnewyorker,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about us on Trip Advisor! It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We really are very passionate about our product and try to offer our guests a once-in-a-lifetime vacation experience in what is one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. We are delighted that we were able to do this for you.

We have passed on your feedback to our operations team, particularly our guides and food & beverage department.

We hope we are able to welcome you back to Tierra Patagonia in the near future.

Warm regards and thank you,

Tierra Patagonia Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you are touring the far South of Chile or Argentina, check out this new hotel - before the word gets out!
Destined to be one of South America's top hotel experiences, Tierra Patagonia, built 'ínto' a windswept landscape on the borders of the Torres Del Paine National Partk offers a wildly remote but comfortably rugged outdoor walking, hiking sightseeing adventure with a simply stunning indoor hotel experience. In contrast to it's bleak but sleek exterior the interior is dominated by wood,warmth and pristine views of the famous granite towers and glacial lakes. My husband and I had a fantastic stay here just after it opened and yes, one or two teething problems were still being solve! We loved the easy, unpretentious service from the staff and tour/walking guides, and we loved the cosy but ultra stylish rooms and ensuites, with even more amazing views and lots of textured comforts like sheep skin rugs and locally made throws. We can't wait to go back - we know it will be even better next time.

Room Tip: All rooms have equally fantastic views, some rooms convert to family rooms, some have split levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraHotels, Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Kay,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your comments are extremely important to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, despite our teething issues last season!

I can confirm that our team has taken the time to review & address all guest comments from our opening season and are now ready & excited to re-open the hotel in September.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards and thank you again for your preference,

Tierra Patagonia Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
227 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
810 reviews
23.9 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,156 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Property: Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing