We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some grumpy staff and some helpful staff”
Review of El Chileno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Chileno
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The front desk welcome was far from warm, the girl had clearly had enough of working there. One of the guys in the kitchen was really helpful and kind. Dinner was nice, but no sooner had we finished eating than we were asked to vacate our table. And not politely asked, but very rudely asked. Apparently there were other people wanting to sit and eat. Disappointing for our group of newly made friends as this meant we had nowhere to go to chat and celebrate our successful completion of the W hike. There is no common area other than the dining area, and it was too cold outside. So, we reluctantly said our goodbyes and went to bed.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank MelbourneTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for El Chileno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 254 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

It was very necessary to change the accommodation from refugio Torres to the Chileno.
The time how to reach towers nad come back down to the valley. We were promissed to sleep in the tents, but fortunately they found out the beds for 8 of us. Bathrooms were clean, and for one night it is good enough. Good meal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jitule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you're not trekking your own food and gear around, your only option is to stay and eat at the refugios in Torres del Paine. If I had it to do over again, I'd probably go with the same plan, just because of how convenient it is not to have to lug all the camping gear and plan out meals, etc. That said, the food is not great (in spite of long days on the trail), it's all overpriced, and the staff can seem a bit absent (although some were helpful).

We stayed in the Refugio El Chileno one night in a bunk room, which was fine, even though one Sir Sleeps-a-Lot slumbered nearby day and night only to wake up and glare at anyone stowing a bag or whatever in his proximity. I'm sure there will always be weirdos in hostels (refugios), that has to be expected.

We also stayed in the camp one night, and the tents were packed together in a bit of a mud puddle. The gear is very worn and prone to ripping, breaking, zippers not working.

But like I said from the outset, I'd probably do the same thing again just for convenience. And the boxed wine is deeee-lish after a day of hiking and priced just right. They do take credit cards, but take my advice and bring all the cash you need ahead of time.

Room Tip: Bring cash (pesos - Chilean or Argentinean)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The only redeeming features of this hostel are is location and the food. All other aspects are disappointing to say the least . We arrived at 11am . to bad tempered staff who were more interested in socialising with their buddies at the kitchen bar than looking after guests. Returned late afternoon after hike to Las Torres. All shower heads in men's bathroom are broken from wall brackets and no hot water there anyway . Gas bottle needs to be changed, all will be ready in 15 mins. 12 hours later, still no hot water , and staff quite baffled by our frustration. girls bathroom has hot water so boys shower there. 3 toilets in girls bathroom. 1 is fully functioning. No.2 has a broken cistern which leaks water and has been repaired with a piece is string and a bottle top( I am not joking ) it still doesn't flush. No. 3 has no toilet seat and leaks water from the back of the cistern all over the floor .
My bed base was sagging and when checked revealed it was supported by only3 thin pine boards. Top bunks have 7 ,all nailed into place . Can only assume my bed boards had been pried off used as firewood.
All doors are warped so they don't close - an issue when men's and ladies bathrooms are directly opposite on another. All doors squeak - so at 3am everyone wakes up as the early birds get ready to leave .
I could go on ,but no one would believe me . This place has a total monopoly on accomodation , so grit your teeth and go with it. The staff ,and obviously the owners,Fantastico Sur couldn't care less.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rptptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in the El Chileno refugio on the 2nd night of our 5 day / 4 night W-trek, booked via Fantastico Sur. This refugio, just like the Torres Central and the Los cuernos are all owned by Fantastico Sur, which made booking easy and very convenient.

While we opted for the "bed only" formula, we were offered sleeping bags as well (don't count on it however, you never know...)

The El Chileno refugio is nicely located a in-between stop both for travelers coming from Torres Central and Los Cuernos (although for the last ones, the trip will be a bit longer).

We especially liked the fact that we could already check in at noon and leave our luggage in the room, which made the last part of our trip to the Torres del Paine viewpoint a lot easier.

Rooms are shared with up to 8-9 people, bathroom is shared.

Manage your expectations however, you are in the mountains, in a refugio that can only be reached by foot or by horse (and that includes the transport of food, supplies, gas, etc..) There is no mobile network, not for data but also not for voice calls. No possibility to load batteries of cameras, phones, etc... Don't look for the hidden electricity socket, there isn't any ;-)

Overall food was ok. In the evening, there was hot soup, a main dish and something sweet to end the meal. All kinds of wine and sodas were available. Breakfast the next morning included toast, eggs, orange juice, coffee/tea/milk, marmelade, butter, etc.. As we had full board, we also received a lunch box including a club sandwich, energy bar, brownie, bottle of water and a pack of nuts/raisins. Good food for an intensive day of trekking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We didn't stay here or intend to stay here, but we attempted to stop in on our hike to the free Torres camp site a couple of hours further uphill and on our way back. Mostly we wanted to use the bathrooms on the way in and grab a hot bite to eat on the way out.

In both instances we found the area to be dirty, especially the bathrooms, and the staff were completely unhelpful. On the way back down the staff were brusque, even while we were speaking Spanish, and not forthcoming with information about what food was available and when. We ended up leaving immediately.

The staff at the Los Cuernos refugio are parsecs better than these jerks (and cleaner, too).

Room Tip: Keep hiking. You'd be better off sleeping in a thorn bush.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InvisibleHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This refugio is big and very confortable. The bathrooms are clean, the shower is hot (temp is a little unstable). The rooms are shared, but they have lockers: bring your padlock.
The food is almost gourmet, it is really very good considering how far you are.
I recommend you stay inside, as camping is an option. Beware the place is very windy, I saw a japanese girl beeing knocked down by the wind (no injury).
The place has a great bar to hang around, have a beer while apreciating the outstanding view.
As the rooms are shared, bring an ear plug, because you may have a snoring neighbor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsarres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,159 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
458 reviews
19.4 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ecocamp Patagonia
Ecocamp Patagonia
#1 of 17 in Torres del Paine National Park
575 reviews
11.3 mi away
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
#13 of 17 in Torres del Paine National Park
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Chileno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Chileno

Address: Torres del Paine | Estancia Cerro Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 610000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio El Chileno is located on the way to "Mirador Base Torres" a "must" in Torres del Paine, it is 2 hour from Las Torres sector. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Chileno Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing