We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refugio Torres Central: Brilliant and not to be confused with Torres Norte!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Refugio Torres Central is not the same as Torres Norte. Norte is older and Central is newer and nicely decorated. We had a great stay there - please see my review for 'Refugio Torres Central' for details. not a thing I could complain about.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 265 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

I had never stayed at hostels and was prepared for the worst but the experience was brilliant:
- Spotlessly clean toilets/ showers, comfortable rooms (bunkbeds for 6 people but there is enough storage space).
- There is no heating in the rooms but the refugio is heated up by stoves in the evening and our sleep was warm and comfortable.
- The common areas are great: there are beanie bags next to the stoves to chill by in the evening, the bar and the dining area are beautifully done with wood and fur
- Dinner is pricy but absolutely delicious (see the photo of the desert!)
- There is a shop to provide essentials from soap to pasta and canned tuna
- Friendly staff

Downside: room partitions don’t go all the way up and it may get noisy if you get a loud snore behind the wall (like it happened to us :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Refugio Torres Central is a classic trekking hostel that manages to have a great cozy atmosphere. The location of the refugio is ideal, beautiful and near the trekking path up to the Mirador Torres and into the W.
The good:
- great staff, very helpful
- very atmospheric dining area with bar area as well, very nice for relaxing after a trek
- hot water
- delicious pisco sour happy hour
The bad:
- bathrooms get dirty at night
- rooms are open at the top, so you can hear everyone in the hall. This means no sleeping until everyone quiets down
- the lights are turned off at night, be prepared to stumble to the bathroom if you need to go after midnight
All in all a pleasurable stay with good value for money. If you do not want something more chic, take out your credit card and stay in the very overpriced hotel down the road.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

we have been two nights in this refugio while making the w trekking. compared to other refugios on this trek this is clean and the food is very tasty. As the rooms are simple and there are 6 beds per room it's quite expensive, but still better then the hotel las torres. we talked to friends which have been in the hotel and they decided to come to the refugio for dinner as it's more tasty than there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed here for a night after climbing up to Las Torres and before walking across to Paine Grande. It's well located with the shuttle bus meeting the bus from Puerto Natales ($2500) and dropping you off outside. The hostel has a nice but very expensive bar. Rooms "sleep" 6 but have no internal roof so you get the noise from every other dorm and the bar. The heating is on full blast until 11ish then it gets biting cold with the thin blankets provided proving completely insufficient. Meals are ok although service is patchy. Should be about a quarter of the price it charges.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Fantastico Sur owns most of the refugios of Torres del Paine.
There's no choice in this part of the park. As you have to stay at the refugio if you're not planing to do the W, you have to be aware that there's no heaters in the rooms.
The showers and the bathrooms are really dirty.
When you get to the hotel, you fell that you're not welcome at all.
All the questions we've asked to the staff were not answered or we were given bad answers.
I'll definitely not recommend this place, as it's really expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmilchberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

The accommodation in Torres del Paine is horrendously expensive and this is a great budget option. We stayed in the main hostel block and found everything very warm and cosy. The main dining room is huge and the food we had was better than anywhere else on the W. We also looked forward to pisco sours every night after our trek (the bar is well stocked!!). The downside is the rooms, which are partioned off rather than having solid walls (although the partitions are high). This means you can hear people chatting in other rooms...so take earplugs. To be honest, this is part and parcel of staying in a hostel. The bathrooms were spotless with plenty of hot water. I spent ages trying to research if you could drive to this hostel from other refugios and the good news is you can (we did it from Paine Grande Mountain Lodge). You need a map. Recommended as a good base for the towers hike.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
19.2 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,176 reviews
15.4 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
11.8 mi away
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive
explora Patagonia - All Inclusiv...
#3 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine

Address: Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Torre Central is located in "las Torres" sector, at the beginning of the W trek, you may access from Laguna Amarga (entrance to the park), taking the shuttles from this point to las torres. Next to Torre Central there is Torre Norte Refugio (for 60 people is the first FS refugio built in the 90´s), where guests must make their check in and have their meals at Refugio Torre Central.Torre Central is a very well equipped Refugio for 60 people, with Shop, Restaurant, Bar, shared rooms for 6, shared bathrooms and central heating.We are an eco friendly company so we do not have high demand devices; here we have a diesel engine to produce energy that we save in our batteries system, we invite you to help us to take care of it. Useful info: bring sandals for showers, towel (rental available).For tax exemption, do not forget to bring your passport, immigration card given when enter to Chile and foreign currency (tax exemption not available for camping guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Refugio Torre Central-Torres Del Paine Hotel Torres Del Paine
Refugio Torre Central-Torres Del Paine Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing