We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Splendid”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estancia Tercera Barranca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

There is not a whiff of pretension here; but, you will find friendly staff, comfortable beds, good food, and constantly changing views of the magnificent massifs in Torres del Paine Park next door. Tercera Barranca is a working sheep ranch with herd dogs, guard dogs, cats, horses, gauchos, mechanics and cooks. Guests are observers here, not dudes. A greenhouse and garden supply vegetables (we enjoyed a sublime cream soup of Swiss chard pulled from the ground an hour earlier). Though we didn’t see them, there are probably cows and chickens as the nearest market is a day trip away. You can hike on the ranch or in the Park, or get close to condors and enjoy the expansive South Patagonia landscape on a horse ride to Cerro Dorotea. There is no TV, no radio, no phone, no mobile phone, and no Internet – what bliss!

Note: Allow most of a day to drive here from Punta Arenas (3 hours Punta Arenas to Puerto Natales + about 2.5 hours to Estancia Tercera Barranca. You do not want to look for this place after dark.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgiaPeachMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Estancia does have a beautiful view of the Torres. However, it is well outside the park 13 km down a very rough road; I'm not sure what would happen if you got a flat tire or ran out of gasoline there.
The staff is friendly but this was the only place in Chile we could not communicate at all in our broken Spanish. They kindly offered to build a fire in the common sitting room. Wish we had taken them up on their offer. Our room was cold during our entire stay. The generator did not come on until about 7 pm; that meant no heat, no electricity, and no water hot or cold. Even with the generator on neither the room or the water got very warm.
The food was tasty, but simple. Definitely not gourmet which we had expected for $40 per person. The in-house wine was also expensive and the corkage fee for opening your wine is $8; a bottle of water was $4.
At half the price, this could have been considered as a rustic adventure, kind of like camping out.
however, at $200 a night I would expect a heated room with hot water. I suppose all the highly positive reviewers took the camping out attitude or were enchanted by the extraordinary view.

Room Tip: two rooms have an excellent view of the Torres as does the comfortable common area with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank prado1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

First off, Torres del Paine National Park is remote. And Tercera Barranca is even more remote! It's near the end of a long bumpy road far off the beaten path. But, that is definitely part of its charm. The lodge itself is comfortable, with a fire going every afternoon in the parlor. The views from the parlor and the dining building are mind-blowing. You really can't take your eyes off the view of the Torres. The rooms are not luxurious but the beds are quite comfy. Compared to other places to stay "relatively" close to the park, this is a bargain. Breakfast is included and there is plenty to eat. Dinner isn't included but you'll want to get it because there is nowhere nearby to eat! The food is not gourmet but well-prepared and generous. There is wine too, Chilean, of course. Meals are served family style so you'll get to meet the other guests at the estancia, which is rather fun. We met travelers from Argentina, France, Germany, the US and it was fun to compare notes.

The staff is wonderful and very helpful. They can steer you to the sights in the national park. Victor, who was in charge of the horses, is one of a kind. A Patagonian cowboy who spent time in Arkansas on a student exchange! I strongly recommend a trail ride. Solid, sure-footed horses, comfy saddles and incredibly scenery. The horsemen are first rate. We saw guanacos and condors on our ride. And sheep, lots of sheep! What a great way to see the expansive scenery of Patagonia.

if you want to get away from it all, this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Victor was very kind and the estancia is a unique kind of place. Only negatives are the great distance to Torres del Paine--an almost self sufficient ranch.
The Estancia milks it's cows for milk in the morning, runs on wind power, has a wood burning stove to cook and bake.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carinossssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was a return trip to Tercera Barranca, and I would stay there yet again. It is a bit off the beaten path, and can be somewhat difficult to locate. The drive is long and over an exceptionally bumpy road. Nonetheless, it is definitely worth the trouble. Rooms are very comfortable and modern; the lounge/great room has terrific views, with a massive fireplace that adds to the atmosphere. The estancia has its own garden for some fresh food items, and morning eggs come from their own source. On our first night, the steak was a bit tough, but salmon the next night was outstanding. The staff (Francesca, Nancy and Victor) treated us superbly.

The estancia is located outside the Park and has wonderful views of the Towers; however, the drive to actually enter the Park is circuitous and long.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you are looking for an authentic ranch experience in Torres del Paine, this is the place. The rooms are large and clean, the beds and soft with great conforters, the bathrooms modern. The horsebackriding experience is amazing, you go off the beaten path, see wildlife. Victor is very nice and speaks great english. The food is fresh and delicious. Doña Carmen got out of her way to accomodate my children. The house is small, with only a few rooms, so you get a feel of being home. The views are beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatibotelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Estancia Tercera Barranca is located adjacent to Torres del Paine National Park. Our bedroom was large and had a nice modern bathroom. The furnishings were simple, but the bed was very comfortable. The house has a large great room with a large fireplace and stunning views of the mountains. The meals are served in a separate dining house about 100 feet from the main house. All of the cooking is done on a wood burning stove. Both breakfast and dinner are substantial, with fresh baked bread. It is a working farm with horses, cattle and sheep, and the cats and working dogs necessary for such an operation. It is fun to watch the action. We were also able to spot some condors flying over the low hills close to the dining area. Although the Estancia is located adjacent to Torres del Paine, it still takes about an hour to drive from the Estancia to the park entrance. The 13 Km drive from the entrance gate to the house is on a fairly rough gravel road, so it is not possible to drive very fast on this segment. Vincent, the manager, speaks good English Everyone else speaks only Spanish, but nevertheless are very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Tercera Barranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Tercera Barranca

Address: Laguna Azul, about 130 kms from Puerto Natales, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $198 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Estancia Tercera Barranca Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing