We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, but only ok overall”
Review of Hotel del Paine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel del Paine
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Located just outside the park. There are stunning views into the park over a lake onto the mountain range. The sun set is spectacular. The cabins are nice but do not have aircon so can get warm on warm days. The food is extremely disappointing. Limited choice, steak was very very tough and breakfast was poor too. Hot tub needs to be booked 4 hours in advance.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cforey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Paine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 180 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have just had a terrific 5 day stay here. The cabins are wonderfully situated right on the Serrano River, with stupendous views across to the Torres del Paine. The staff are a terrific bunch of dedicated young people, and helped to make our stay memorable. Special thanks to Christian the chef who as well as providing top nosh invited my partner to watch England play Chile in his apartment ( England lost). Thanks also to Cesar who arranged a great river trip to a couple of glaciers - a great day out.

One piece if advice, this is not the hotels fault, but there has been a severe rockfall on the Y290 road just 4kms short of the hotel. All visitors driving up from the Puerto Natales will have to keep going up the Ruta 9 past Cerro Castillo, and pick up the Y150 (very badly marked, it says to the Catamaran) you have to go via the entrance to the National Park and you will have to pay for this, but if you later explain to the warden that you couldn't avoid this, they'll increase your validity on the pass so you don't lose out. Take a decent road map!
Lovely walks are possible for those who haven't much walking experience, but you do need to be quite well equipped as the Patagonian weather is famously unsettled and the winds are often very strong. 4 seasons in one day! But it is worth every minute of the journey and everyone we met.

We hired a 4x4 from Angus car hire (via the web) and this worked very well. The car was from Alamo, and they allowed us to drop the car off at a different location at no extra charge.
There is also a very helpful traveller/tourist information right on the seafront at Peurto Natales, and they gave good information about the weather and road conditions.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 17BonnyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Pro:
The hotel is very basic with a view in front of property.
The staff in the hotel make this place feel welcome and helpful. The front desk Carolina and Paulina are extremely helpful. The hotel just changed a new chef Louis made me a salmon dish and it was so delicious.
Con:
The location is not the best, you enter the park from the north entrance and drive all the way down to south where the hotel is. So its kind of isolated, the view of Torres in the park is much better.

Room Tip: I stayed in main building 19 with a view of Torres, but the wall is very thin, I can hear next room...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimbubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is the best. Come in May.... We had incredibly beautiful weather... This hotel is fabulous. Carolina is the off season manager and does an amazing job... Great food cooked by her; wonderful information and advice.... Nice rooms with amazing views... HIGH HIGH RECOMMENDATION!

Room Tip: Room 34 in 2 story building.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ql1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Cabanas Del Paine hotel was amazing! The only thing that might've been lacking about was the food.it was okay. The location was perfect for everything that we were doing while we were there. The people were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend for anybody looking to stay near Torres Del Paine should stay there .we were very satisfied

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blgreen1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very nice cabana looking directly at the mountains. Good service with English spoken well. Very helpful - and they will sort out visits and trips if you wish. This is a fantastic park to visit and it is a must. However the prices in all the hotels are about double those of accommodation in the rest of Chile - so be prepared! We had one good evening meal in the restaurant, but one very poor one when the beefsteak was inedibly tough. Breakfasts were fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have been searching for various hotels and end up with Cabanas del Paine which I donot regret at all. The view is amazing, one can sit down and keep looking at the view. It is a beautiful hotel with cosy room. There is no TV in the room but you wouldnot need one as there are things to do in Torres del Paine. Staffs are extremely helpful as they prolong the dinner time to wait for our late arrival, which we really appreciate as we were starving at that time. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for medium rate accomodation with same location as those expensive one (ie, Rio Serrano hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,158 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
8.3 mi away
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive
explora Patagonia - All Inclusiv...
#3 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Paine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Paine

Address: Lote No17 | Sector Río Serrano, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $148 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Paine 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Paine is located near to "Serrano" River at 11 km away from Administration Point and 79 km north from "Puerto Natales". It has an excellent panoramic view of the "Paine" Range. Enjoying this scene, our hotel offers a typical gastronomy, including a variety of grilled meats, fresh vegetables, fish and Chilean wines. We have 44 rooms with private bathroom, permanent electricity, central heating and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel del Paine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Paine Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing