We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis whilst trekking the W”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Cuernos Refugio, Cabanas, Domos & Camping
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We were lucky enough to stay in one of the private cabins in Los Cuernos whilst trekking the W. When we finally arrived after a very windy hike, seeing Cuernos was magical. The location is just perfect, on the amazingly turqoize lake in the middle of nature. We were really happy the refugio was built in this remote area, so that we didn't have to camp out. The private cabins are very recommendable, despite the higher price. It means no dorm (quite night of sleep), excellent bed and use of the private bathrooms that are available for the cabins only. There is also a hot tub!
Given the location of Cuernos, the food is good. Obviously this is not gastronomic cuisine, but then, you are in the middle of nowhere.
I would highly recommend you do the W in November/December, before the tourist invasion. We found the paths well maintained and clean. I dread to think what it must be like in January in full season.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 353 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2010

We have been in los cuernos for one night and had or own lodge. Los cuernos is very nice located with a great view and a stream right next to the refugio. The lodge was very clean and the staff extremly friendly. The dinner was outstanding tasty and we just enjoyed our stay in los cuernos.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The location is fantastic. The small, two person cabins wonderful, with private porches and they have power and a bathroom for those staying in the cabins. However, initial enthusiasm changed to disappointment. One of the toilets in the Women's room stopped up and there was no water at all in either the men's or women's bathroom the next day. Worse , the staff did not seem to care. The main area for dining and lounging was crowded. The bathrooms in the main building were disgustingly dirty. The staff took over the one empty cabin the night we were there and partied until after 2am. Loud music and shouting - and drunken staff attempting to get into three of the occupied cabins.The food was marginal . There is some building going on. It appears there are new bathrooms being built. However, Los Cuernos needs to be better managed or the new space will not help. There are too many campers, hikers for the available accommodations. This is the only place to stay in the middle of the W. Hopefully the Park will start issuing permits and limit the use. We found the users as disturbingly uncaring as the staff. There is used toilet paper all along the trails. One would hope that the hikers coming to this "remote", (actually, more crowded than hiking in the Sierras) , would care about leaving an impact. Apparently not.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtnwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Fantastico Sur operates these cabins and others on the Torres del Paine trek. The dorm rooms (8 bunks to a room) are ok, although the triple deckers might be hard for some to climb to. THe meals are acceptable, given the remote conditions. The 10 or so small two person cabins have nothing but beds and power, and are expensive, but are probably preferable to the potentially noisy dorm rooms. Fantastico Sur is a somewhat disorganized company with respect to billing and reservations. Be sure to take a copy of your VISA bill showing you have already paid, since they have trouble finding reservations and may want you to pay again. Reserve far in advance, since there are no alternatives, and the weather in this area is often rainy. Since this is the only place to stay on the W or full curcuit of Torres del Paine, it is vital to have a reservation, since they do fill up far in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank André P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank remoundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: pour la tenteil est préférable d'enmener son matelas et son sac de couchage car ceux proposé son...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jouannet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
9.9 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
39 reviews
14.5 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
852 reviews
5.9 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
481 reviews
17.5 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
476 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ecocamp Patagonia
Ecocamp Patagonia
#1 of 18 in Torres del Paine National Park
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cuernos Refugio, Cabanas, Domos & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cuernos Refugio, Cabanas, Domos & Camping

Address: Torres del Paine - W trek Circuit | Reserva Cerro Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 610000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cuernos is located in the heart of the W trek Circuit, if you have started your trek from las Torres sector, this would be your third or second night at the Circuit, from las Torres or El Chileno the trek is about 4 to 5 hours until you reach Los Cuernos.Los Cuernos is for most off us our favorite spot in the W trek, just in the base of Los CuernosIn this sector you´ll find our Refugio, Domes, Cabins and Camping, all of them with 24 hours hot water bathrooms (Domes guests must use Refugio´s Bathrooms). Yo can also have your meals at our Restaurant inside the Refugio. Useful info: bring sandals for showers, towel (rental available).For tax exemption, do not forget to bring your passport, immigration card given when enter to Chile, foreign currency (tax exemption not available for camping guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Refugio, Camping And Cabins Los Cuernos Hotel Torres Del Paine
Los Cuernos Refugio, Cabanas, Domos & Camping Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing