We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, and far better than the competition”
Review of Rio Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Serrano Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The Hotel Rio Serrano is a very nice hotel -- rooms are big, clean, and well decorated; the hotel lobby areas are very large and well decorated; it's got a very nice view of the mountains; and it's well-situated near the Serrano River just outside of the official Torres del Paine border, with good access to all of the major park tours and hikes. While not a five-star hotel, the overall feel of the hotel borders on the luxurious.

The Hotel Rio Serrano is also far better than similarly-priced hotels nearby. While staying in Torres del Paine, we went into or walked by several of the other hotels in the area in a similar price range (e.g. Hosteria Lago Grey, Hotel Lago Tyndall, Cabanas del Paine, etc.), and it seemed to us that the Hotel Rio Serrano was far nicer (or at least far fancier from the looks of the hotel exterior/interior). Unless you are willing to pay triple the price to stay at Explora, the Hotel Rio Serrano is therefore a great option.

Tours run through the hotel are very good. We especially recommend the glacier hike ("Caminata en Hielo", actually run through a local travel outfit) which is an amazingly cool experience -- we're still talking about it months later, and the photos are fantastic. Definitely cooler than taking a "regular" hike, even to see Torres del Paine. Not technical at all, and doesn't require any particular experience, but not for kids or seniors. Also recommended is the tour of the Serrano River by zodiac boat -- very fun day trip, and a good way to see the local area in a more intimate way than a van ride. That one's fine for kids or seniors (our parents and great aunt, all in their early 70s, managed OK). Finally, the van ride around the park is not nearly as "fun" as the other two trips, but is a great way to see some spectacular views around the park.

The only reason I didn't rate the Hotel Rio Serrano five stars? First, the tour booking office was only intermittently helpful. Desired tours are frequently either sold out or not running on particular days, and the tour booking office seemingly doesn't have information on that until the last minute. If you're willing to forego "playing it by ear" and are willing to lock in a reservation, it's better to contact the hotel ahead of time to make a reservation. Second, the hotel restaurant, while reasonably good, is extremely expensive -- $50 set price for a buffet dinner. Luckily, if you want less expensive options, there's a restaurant a five-minute walk down the street (decent but not fantastic food), and the other local hotels (e.g. Lago Tyndall), also a short walk away, will generally let you eat at their less expensive buffets.

(FYI, when we booked our reservation, we were somewhat wary of some of the older reviews on TripAdvisor that complained about noise or poor service. I think this was several years ago, before they went through a major renovation and change in management -- we didn't have any problem with either of those issues. I therefore recommend that you base your assessment on the newer reviews only).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleSupersonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 20, 2017

Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again in Patagonia,
Team Hotel Rio Serrano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 913 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed in Hotel Río Serrano for three nights from January 4th to 7th, 2010 and got room number 234.

The hotel has: free parking, hair dryer, free wi fi internet access only in the lobby (not in the rooms), heating system, elevator, minibar in the room (empty).

The hotel doesn't have: air conditioning (but I don't think it's necessary even during summer), computers in the lobby with free internet access.

Location: the Hotel Río Serrano is a one hour and a half drive from Puerto Natales. It's just outside the Torres del Paine Park itself, but just a ten minutes drive to the Serrano entrance. The majority of Torres del Paine's attractions is more or less on this side of the park, so the hotel is in a good position. When you go to the Serrano entrance for the first time, just after paying for the ticket tell them you are a Hotel Río Serrano guest. They will stamp your ticket and you don't need to pay again for two days more (three days at total).

Price: US$ 355 per night for a superior double room (all taxes and fees included in this price). The superior room is larger and has balcony and a beautiful view of Los Cuernos.

The hotel is new (or was renewed) and the superior room is large and comfortable. Bathroom is large and the shower is good. The view of Los Cuernos is really impressive. Breakfast (included in the price) was satisfactory. In the restaurant, dinner is served as a buffet. You pay US$ 50 to eat the below average food they offer. This price is really unfair, almost dishonest with the guest, even considering the fact that the closest city (Puerto Natales) is one hour and a half away. You can go to the bar and order a sandwich or a snack. It is still very expensive and you probably will feel yourself robbed, but a little less. I couldn't find the inexpensive restaurant just next door people here in Tripadvisor talked about, but I recommend you to search for it in order to avoid the Hotel Río Serrano restaurant. I think they have this exorbitant prices because guests have no alternative and also to force you to get the all inclusive package, which in my opinion is not a good idea, unless you plan to come back to the hotel to have lunch instead of enjoying Torres del Paine Park during all day. Staff in front desk was always very rude, impolite and not helpful. The exception was the guys who work giving great advise about what to do in the park and the restaurant staff.

Before staying here again, and now having more knowledge about Torres del Paine Park, I would research the prices of Hostería Pehoe or Hotel Explora, which also have good location (but I didn't see their rooms). And if I decided to stay in Hotel Río Serrano again, I will not choose the superior room. The price is high for what you get in comparison with the regular rooms.

Tips: do not come to Torres del Paine without your own car. If you intend to stay for more than two entire days, bring some extra fuel. Posada Serrano sells it but for abusive prices. Also bring food (snacks) and drink (water, sodas) from Puerto Natales or Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PeEsse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 21, 2017

Dear guest;

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. For us your opinion is very important to keep improving as an hospitality option in Torres del Paine.

We hope to see you again in Patagonia,
Team Hotel Rio Serrano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Hotel Rio Serrano a good place to stay. Satisfactory staff, Comfortable accomodations, and the view is awesome. While the nightly rate is exorbident, lesser choices are even more expensive. You won't regret staying here even if it is costly. Being located slightly outside the park is no problem whatsoever--if you plan your trip itinerary accordingly--might even be an advantage in reducing the cost. The hotel restaurant is way too pricey for what they deliver. Instead, try the restaurant across the green from the hotel (out the front door, turn left, walk about 300 meters down the dirt road). It's considerably less expensive for the non-gourmet fried dishes, soup, salads, and hamburgers, wine/beer. You will enjoy the scenery and the horses grazing outside.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
Thank hmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 21, 2017

Dear guest;

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. For us your opinion is very important to keep improving as an hospitality option in Torres del Paine.

We hope to see you again in Patagonia,
Team Hotel Rio Serrano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is a very nice hotel with spectacular views of the mountains of Torres del Paine if you are on the correct side of the hotel. My room was on the "garden view" side. There are spectacular views from large windows located all around the hotel with comfortable seating to relax and take it all in. Breakfast is included in the large dinning room. A very large dinner buffet is served with a wide variety of meats, vegetables, etc. I had the lamb and it was outstanding. The rooms are large and clean. An in-room safe and hair dryer are included and room service is available. The staff speaks English and Wi-Fi is provided.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 20, 2017

Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again in Patagonia,
Team Hotel Rio Serrano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Good service.
The food could've been netter but the service at the restaurant was outstanding.
The view was spectacular.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 21, 2017

Dear guest;

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. For us your opinion is very important to keep improving as an hospitality option in Torres del Paine.

We hope to see you again in Patagonia,
Team Hotel Rio Serrano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

The Rio Serrano is maybe not the baddest choice in Torres del Paine, even it could be better (due to our guide there are much more complaints about the other hotels in the park). The hotel itself is quite new with a fantastic view of the Torres (if you are lucky with the weather). The public areas are nice decorated with comfy sofas and a nice fireplace in the evenings. The rooms are nothing special, but modern and functional. So I can’t say really something negative against this hotel. Unfortunately the hotel seems to attract a lot of large groups. So everything is a bit average und calculated. There is no need for the staff to do an extra effort, the groups will come anyway. Most of the groups have dinner included, for other guests the buffet is 50 USD p.P. what seems to be quite expensive. So you better go to the nice little restaurant which is 5 Minutes away from the hotel (on the left) There it is much cheaper and you have a nice view (horses with the Torres in the background)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 21, 2017

Dear guest;

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. For us your opinion is very important to keep improving as an hospitality option in Torres del Paine.

We hope to see you again in Patagonia,
Team Hotel Rio Serrano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I was apprehensive about staying here after reading some of the reviews but really enjoyed my stay. The views from this hotel are spectacular. The down stairs has very pleasant large communal areas with huge comfy sofas from where you can sit and enjoy the view out of the picture windows. The fireplaces with cosy fires are also a nice touch. It was a lovely and relaxing hotel to come back to after long days hiking.

I thought the rooms (for two people) were a good size and very clean. I really liked the furnishings, every thing was quite pristine.

The front desk staff were helpful. We were very impressed by the bar staff who were absolutely lovely - great service. We ate in the bar every night as the restaurant upstairs is fairly pricey. I was again suprised by the good quality of the bar food. I had the best club sandwich ever! The portion was soo large I only managed half of it and the waiter wrapped it up for me to take as a packed lunch the next day - very handy.

The free wi-fi was excellent

Cons: it's just outside the park - not a big deal but the park ticket will only cover you for 3 days - and that starts on the day you buy your ticket - even though we were only driving through the park to get to the hotel.

If you do not want to do one of the tours - price 140-150 dollars per day you will need your own transport. The roads to the park are gravel dirt tracks and the distances are quite big. We read you can do it in a two wheel drive and so rented a little fiat - not the smartest move. Yes you can do it in a 2 wheel drive (our little fiat got us to TDP and back to El calafate) - but only if you don't mind being rattled so much you teeth almost fall out and bits fall off the car - our dashboard stopped working after 50km on the potholed roads - and that was driving at 30km/hr all the way! When we come back it'll be in a 4 wheel drive vehicle! There is no other transport that comes near the hotel other that the tour buses.

There are several spectacular walks you can do in TDP without guides - the trails are very clearly marked so it was nice to have the car and independance so we could do our own thing.

In summary: a beautiful hotel, nice bar area, spectacular views, if you come with a four wheel drive the park is your oyster.
p.s. If you come with a car bring some spare gas. we bought 10L in the park at 3 dollars per litre- which is by far the most expensive petrol anywhere - and we live in the UK!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank aevans64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 20, 2017

Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again in Patagonia,
Team Hotel Rio Serrano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
10.2 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
46 reviews
18.6 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,309 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
265 reviews
22 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
509 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Lago del Toro
Hosteria Lago del Toro
#9 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Serrano Hotel

Address: Manuel Aguilar 01105 | Parque Nacional Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 6212126, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $248 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Serrano Hotel is located in Torres del Paine and offers standard rates and rates all inclusive with full board and additional programs. It features a restaurant and a garden overlooking the Paine mountain range. There is free WiFi in public areas . Rooms at the Rio Serrano are decorated with carpeted floors and large windows with panoramic views of the mountains and have heating , fan and private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rio Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Serrano Hotel Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing