We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patagonia Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The rooms (yerts)in Patagonia Camp are nice and the food is very good. The view from the dining room is excellent. The other five places I have stayed in Chile on this trip all greeted me warmly. This was not the case in Patagonia Camp. After 13.5 hours of travel I received a perfunctory welcome followed by unfriendly demands for the immigration document in my passport. The welcome briefing consisted of more rules and polite demands to choose tomorrow's lunch selection as soon as possible. This was a bit of an unpleasant surprise after the warm greeting I received in every other place I visited in Chile. However, worst of all was the head guide whose mantra seemed to be "this is against the rules" when I asked for someone to accompany my group of 14 (more than half the guests there) on a brief excursion to a nearby waterall two days later. Yes our group had our own guide (who had never stayed in this hotel) and consequently guide services were not included in the package but considering we represented over half of the guests amore appropriate response would have been "a guide wasn't included in your program but I am sure we can find someone to accompany your group." Since this attitude of sticking by rules and pushing for forms to fill out was displayed by several people (though no one was as persistant as the head guide) I fault the management for bad training.

The kitchen staff and bartender were all nice and Claudio at the front desk could not have been kinder and more helpful. Claudio should either be managing this place or training the other staff.

Though the Patagonia Camp has much going for it I would not stay there again and recommend trying other alternatives in Patagonia of which there are many.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packedandready2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments; we are very glad knowing that you had liked and enjoyed the Yurts, the views and our cuisine.
Regarding your remarks on some of our staff, we would like to explain you about our procedures; and because in Chile tourists from overseas are exempt of taxes for every accommodation services paid in USD is the reason why we must ask every traveler for their immigration paper to be attached to every issued invoice; otherwise, we are obligated to charge taxes.
On the other hand and in order to give the best service to our travelers, after the welcome briefing, we ask about box lunch preferences to give fast and precise organization, we really apologize if any of those steps of our procedures annoyed you.

And the last subject regarding guide services, we would like to let you know that we have different kind of packages (with and without guide services), that is the reason why in our organization is always consider a guide for every group who ask for it in advance and for those reservations without pre-book extra services, sometimes is possible to hire guides in the right moment but some other times is not, and because we are in a very far away area is that we always recommend to let us know your preferences and requests in advance in order to cover all your requests. Thank you again for your comments, they are all very welcome because help us to improve our service.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we hope you change your mind and visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Tucked away in the forest just outside of the National Park, Patagonia Camp is a luxurious spot to enjoy the Torres del Paine. Brilliant views from every angle, the camp had a wonderful ethos to care for its spectacular location and resources. The food was first class and the staff and guides friendly and welcoming. We were well looked after on our expeditions. Expect long journeys to get into and out of the camp each day and be aware that the region can be quite windy, not something that is well disguised in a yurt!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_and_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Ben,

Thank you so much for your review!
We are delight to know that you liked The Camp, our concept, our restaurant and that you enjoyed your experience with our guides and the whole staff! Is so good to hear that you appreciate the magnificent views of Patagonia!
Thank you for your comments regarding our cuisine, our chef and the kitchen staff will be very proud; we will share this with them. We hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed five nights in november 2013 at Patagonia Camp en really enjoyed it. It is a small resort with just 18 yurts at a lake with a beautiful view on the mountains of Torres del Paine. We could enjoy the view just by looking out our window! Too bad the terrace was a little small and there was only 1 seat. Otherwise, the yurt was well equiped and nicely decorated, it had a good bed an bath. But look out when entering the bathroom: I am 1.9 meter and bumped my head because the door was not high enough. A little bit more storagecapacity for our clothes would have been nice.
The staff spoke English well and was very helpful. We were by car and needed extra fuel a few times which was provided by Patagonia Camp. Filling our tank with gasoline from jerrycans was not really tasty.. glad that I did not have to do it myself.
The restaurant was really outstanding, the best desserts we had during our trip. The breakfast was fine as well. Luckily for us, because there is no restaurant close to Patagonia Camp. 45 dollars for a diner (including wine) is not cheap but we still think we got value for money.
We came by car, we made our own trips to Torres del Paine NP so I cannot comment on the trips that were organised by the guides. During our visit the short route to the park was blocked by a huge rock, so we had to make a long detour. Patagonia Camp is not responsible for that ofcourse, it being a public road. But the acces road to the camp (7 kilometers) itself was also in a terrible condition.

Room Tip: ask for a yurt close to the lake facing Torres del Paine, wait for the sunrise to see a spectaculair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Bert,

Thank you for your comments!

We are very glad knowing that you had enjoyed your stay at The Camp and that you liked our restaurant, we are very proud of our chef!
Also, we are glad to inform you that the road issue is nearly finished and by the moment the road is fully open between 21:00 hrs. and 10:00 hrs.
We appreciate your review, every comment we receive allow us to keep improving our services, thanks a lot!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my first experience of "glamping". The yurt was warm, luxurious and with wonderful views over the Torres de Paine. The food was delicious and varied and the waiters were friendly and attentive. The guides and drivers were excellent, knowledgeable and friendly, and as a non-walker, encouraged me to "have a go" within my capabilities. Wonderful. As I speak Spanish I also had a chance to practice non-stop, although all guides spoke good english. Camp Patagonia was the most memorable part of our trip to Chile.

Room Tip: All yurts have beautiful views over the lakes and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Janine,

Thank you very much for your comments!
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Camp, the Yurts and that you had a great adventure exploring with our guides! Good on you practicing your Spanish! We really look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I used to describe camping as the nearest holiday inn. My standards have changed after experiencing Patagonia camp. Our yurt was comfortable with every amenity. All soaps were provided since it is an Eco friendly facility with special attention to keeping the water of the lake clean. Meals were delicious and flexible to fit my vegan diet. Our guide Christian was remarkably patient, knowledgeable and kept the pace of the hike to the slowest hiker. The roads are gravel and bumpy but a small price to pay for the experience.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LNM1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments!
We are very glad to know that you had enjoyed your experience at Patagonia Camp and that you appreciate our special attention to your requirements; we are most happy to serve our travelers!!
Also, we would like to thank you for sharing Patagonia Camp concept and spread the importance of taking care of our planet; we really believe in sustainability.
We hope you can visit us in the near future!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My friends and I had the experience of a lifetime while staying at Patagonia Camp. The property itself is remote and secluded, with stunning views of Torres Del Paine national park. The luxury yurts are well-appointed and comfortable, though we spent much of our time at the clubhouse, which featured comfortable sofas with snacks, wines from the ownership group's vineyard, and some of our favorite American board games. The highlight of Patagonia Camp, however, was the guides, and the extraordinarily high level of service that they provide. Rod and Francisco created a customized itinerary for our four day stay, featuring everything from strenuous hiking to horseback riding to photographing condors up close at their nesting grounds. Both gave each of us in our fourteen person group personal attention, whether hanging back with slower hikers, creating an alternative to boating for those of us prone to seasickness, finding ways to accommodate our varied and particular lunch preferences, or setting up karaoke for some of us on one of our evenings at the camp. Finally, the food throughout the trip was top-notch, including a hearty breakfast buffet, decadent lunches that our drivers would set up for us between activities on some of our days in the park, and three course dinners featuring a wide array of desserts. Our only complaint would be the ongoing road construction that lengthened our drive time between Patagonia Camp and many of the destinations in the park -- hopefully this will be resolved sooner rather than later. Overall, we'd strongly recommend Patagonia Camp for any group looking for a relaxing, luxurious and hassle-free way to experience Torres Del Paine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad knowing that you and your group had a great time at The Camp, we will share with the team your nice comments!
Fortunately, the road is not an issue anymore because the authorities announced the re-opening of the Y-290 road to Torres del Paine for all kind of vehicles (of tourism or private). Since the 1st of February 2014 the road is free to transit between 21:00 hrs and 10:00 hrs. With this, the operations at Patagonia Camp backed to normal.

There is a lot of more new adventures to do, so we really hope you can visit us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The day before our arrival the previously re opened road to the nearest park entrance closed again . As other reviews have noted this means a two hour drive each morning and evening which makes for a long day .
This really is outside the hands of Patagonia Camp and the staff did really well to make up for this . We stayed for five nights and did excursions on three days choosing to walk from the camp on our rest day ( which gave the added bonus if a three course lunch at the camp that day ) the weather was kind to us with blue sky's most of the time and rain only at night .
The walk to the base of the Torres was a bit of a struggle for my wife but I wouldn't have missed it , the final view is spectacular .
The staff were all friendly and helpful , checking in flights , sorting out our independent transfers etc . Waiting staff were a bit slow but that just gave the opportunity for more conversation .
Victor , one of the drivers gets my vote for best staff member , not only did he do his best to minimise time in the vans ( 75mph on gravel roads anyone ?!!) but he was always on the lookout for animals . On the last evening he spotted a puma 50m from the road , he stopped. We all got out and walked towards where it had been sited and then Victor took it upon himself to walk forward so that it presented itself . I will never forget the sight of a wild Puma just 20m away ...............phew .

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 7777markw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review! We are very glad knowing that you had enjoyed your stay at The Camp; and good on you doing the Base of The Towers getting to the end of the trail, and also great to hear you had the best luck seeing a puma!
Regarding the road, unfortunately there was a last minute decision to close again the road for few days by the company in charge of the works due to problems they had with a product they were using, and as you know, this subject is completely out of our control, thank you for understanding.
The good news are that the road remains open today for Patagonia Camp guests.
Looking forward to welcome you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
6.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
852 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
476 reviews
27.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,225 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
481 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74 | Ruta Y-290, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $533 - $1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patagonia Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Shore of Toro Lake in a region of extraordinary beauty, Patagonia Camp is the first luxury camp in South America with a chic collection of glamorous Yurts. The camp's 20 impeccable and spacious Yurts are comfortable and stylishly furnished, equipped with central heating, ensuite bathrooms and even views of the stars through a central window in the roof. Activities include kayaking, fishing, scenic tours, hiking and trekking in the Torres del Paine National Park, recently named The 8th Wonder of the World, only 15 kilometers away. The restaurant offers a variety of typical Patagonian food with a gourmet touch, such as Patagonian Lamb, Austral Salmon and more! Patagonia Camp is a unique nature experience and a truly different and new concept of accommodation in a deep contact with the natural environment and with great comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing