We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and friendly, but road closure makes park access difficult if you are renting a car”
Review of Patagonia Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patagonia Camp
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Pretty and friendly, but road closure makes park access difficult if you are renting a car”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The yurts at Patagonia Camp are lovely and unique, and the people at the desk were always very friendly. Breakfast was good, but we didn't want to pay $54 each for dinner since we were on the bed and breakfast plan. This isn't a place where you just walk down to the lakeshore, but it's a very pretty place to relax after exploring Torres del Paine. However, the closure of the road from Patagonia Camp into the park (we left the park on November 25) means very long drives each day into the park (about 2 1/2 to 3 hours or so to Hotel Las Torres, for example). These are pretty drives, but it takes up lots of time each day, and we had to go into Puerto Natales to fill up the tank to be sure we had enough gas to see all we wanted to see in the park. The only gas is in Puerto Natales, and that is a 2 1/2 hour drive from the Amarga entrance. The policy of Patagonia Camp is to notify guests of this road closure just one week before their expected arrival, which caught us totally unaware of the situation since we had already left on our trip. When we were staying in Hotel Las Torres before our stay in Patagonia Camp, I was never able to see my e-mails from their computers for 4 days, and the laptop computer at Hotel Serrano also was not able to let me see my e-mail, so I never got the warning. Also, there are no road signs that say that the road from Patagonia Camp to the Serrano entrance is closed. You do see occasional signs on Ruta 9 (which goes from Puerto Natales to the park) in Spanish that warn of a road closure on a numbered highway, but none of our guidebooks even show highway numbers and the sign does not mention Patagonia Camp. You are able to drive to the Milodon cave just fine, but it's about 20-30 minutes or more after the cave before you see a barricade that says that only Patagonia Camp customers can go further along the road. Also, when we entered the park to pay our entrance fee, we were not told of any road closures. If you are planning to drive from Hotel Serrano (which also did not warn us of this road closure by e-mail before our trip began) to Patagonia Camp, this now takes about 3 1/2 to 4 hours instead of the previous 30 minutes before this road closure went into effect. If you plan to stay here in the next month and are driving your own car, you should contact Patagonia Camp directly to see the current state of the road closure. When we saw Gonzalo Sanchez, the man who handles the Patagonia Camp bookings, in person on November 21, he said the people doing the roadwork continually keep telling him two more weeks, two more weeks. I feel sorry for the effect this is having on the nice people at Patagonia Camp, but I want to prevent anyone else from having the trouble we just had getting to Patagonia Camp . (The camp front office closes at 11 P.M., which meant we were unable to drive there on time for our first night's reservation after we hiked in Las Torres and tried to leave by the closed Serrano entrance.)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Manager at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,
We appreciate your comments about Patagonia Camp, we are very glad that you liked the yurts and enjoyed the experience at the complex.
About the road from Patagonia Camp to Torres del Paine National park , there are two different subjects, and many people can get confused about this: the 1st subject is about a rock slide blocking the road which is still on development; and the 2nd subject is about a road improvement that is being done since October and until February 1st. Once the rock slide work is totally solved, Patagonia Camp and its guest have an official permission to transit even though they will keep working on the road improvement. But as the rock slide works are going forward in an every day basis is unclear when it is going to be finished, that can be any day by now.
We do not have a policy on when to communicate this, is just we do it once we have updated and official information on the development of the works, since as I commented, changes on a very regular basis according weather conditions among others.
We thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    45
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
277
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have just arrived back in Santiago after four days (five nights) at Patagonia Camp. I'm well traveled, and rate my time at Patagonia Camp as one of the best all-round travel experiences I've had.

The yurts are wonderful. The main part of the yurt is the bedroom, with a window at the top (wear a sleeping mask if you don't want to be woken by the light) and a desk by the window (very pleasant to work at!) There is an adjoining bathroom, with bath, shower, loo and two sinks. Nice view from yurt 10. Despite being told beforehand that only the common areas had wi-fi, I had a good wi-fi signal in yurt 10. Outside, there's a wooden deckchair - although most of the time it was too windy to sit outside. You can really hear any heavy wind when you're in the yurt, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

The three-course dinners are excellent. There's two choices for soup/appetizer and two choices for the main dish. I only eat vegetarian and fish, and the staff were very accommodating in adapting meals for me. The packed lunches are also good. Again, the staff let me customize mine.

But, most important: the excursions. Each day, there's a choice of excursions. I'm not into heavy hiking, so I stuck to the easy ones. The available excursions depend on the number of people staying and the weather. The guides watch the weather reports and plan appropriate excursions for each day accordingly. But even the bad weather is an experience. (I now know what it's like to be in winds so strong you sometimes can't stand up straight!) If you tell the guides what excursions you want to do, they will do their best to make it happen. Of course, having four full days made it possible to see a lot of things. I don't normally stay four days in one place, but managed to quite easily fill four days here. If you have time, check out the picturesque Cascada del Toro waterfall (45 minutes walk from the camp).

If you're a photography fan (and even if you're not), don't miss the navigation on Lake Grey. It's an extra $125 (even if you're on the "all inclusive" package), but worth every penny. Magnificent views of icebergs and the glacier. Many people on the boat had professional camera gear and it was a photographic frenzy with the photographers in a state of near-ecstasy! I'm an avid photographer and it was the best photo experience I've had. Hint: Sit near the back of the boat when you're inside so you can rush upstairs when they let you go upstairs (or maybe they only kept us inside for a while because the lake was rough at the start). Once outside, most people rush upstairs, but I soon worked out that there are fewer people - and hence more ability to move around - downstairs.

Patagonia Camp is outside the national park, so it's a bit of a drive to get to excursions inside the park. But this didn't worry me. We had some photo stops on the way, and I got some wonderful photos I would not have got if I had spent all my time inside the park.

The staff are all very professional, friendly and helpful - including the guides, drivers, reception staff and dining room staff. They "get it" on customer service. Pamela Ponce de Leon in the main office was also very prompt and helpful in answering my emails before the trip.

Patagonia Camp is more expensive than places I usually stay at, but it was worth it for such a great experience. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a yurt with a good view of the lake. Yurt 10 had a good view and wi-fi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElizabethJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your comments! We are very glad that you had a great time at Patagonia Camp and that you like our excursions our restaurant and the yurt. Thank you for sharing your experience!
We look forward to welcome you in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked into Patagonia Camp at short notice for a week long stay as an alternative to doing a classic 'W' trek or staying at one of the hugely over-priced hotels within the park. This review is a bit longer than normal, but it was a tricky decision for us based on some varied reviews for all of the hotels/options for spending time in and around the Torres Del Paine National Park.

Staff:

From collection to drop-off, the service from the staff at Patagonia Camp was absolutely faultless. In particular the guides were second to none. They clearly took a lot of pride in their work and from the most junior to the most experienced, they were knowledgeable about the excursions that the Patagonia Camp ran, the wildlife and the history of the areas we went and, most importantly, kept a very close and detailed eye on the weather to ensure that we got to see the best of the area. In addition to the guides, the receptionists and the service staff were available and attentive whenever we needed them and really made us feel welcome.

Accommodation:

The yurts that we stayed in were immaculate and luxurious, nicer than most hotel rooms we've stayed in, comfortable, well equipped and with the most spectacular views over the lake and of the Paine Massive. The whole of Patagonia Camp is nestled away so that there are only a limited number of angles you can see it from across the lake. The yurts were serviced daily and were always kept very clean by the staff when we were out for the day.

Food:

I would highly recommend going for the 'All Inclusive' option if you visit the Camp, there isn't really anywhere else to go and the food was great throughout the week. We couldn't fault a single meal we had including the luxury picnics! There is also no shortage of food while you are there so no need to worry on that front!

Excursions:

The real benefit of Patagonia Camp was that you have the option to choose different excursions each day. This was an advantage to us because the weather for a lot of the week wouldn't have allowed us to do the 'Base of the Towers' so not being tied to a particular day like on virtually all of the other Patagonia tours with other companies. The only minor drawback at times is that they offer 2-3 excursions a day, limited by the number of guides and resources. There were other people who only stayed for two nights who, due to the weather, were unable to do some of the excursions they had hoped for. However, due to the time that we had there, we were able to do all that we wanted and more. For us all of the excursions were brilliantly run, well guided and gave us a really memorable experience.

Overall the week we spent there wasn't cheap but it was worth every penny and we had such a great time that we intend to visit again in the future as soon as we can get the chance.

Room Tip: Resquest a yurt close to the lake for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MowgliVXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear,

Thank you so much for your review, we are most happy serving our travelers!
We shared this with all the staff and everyone at The Camp is very glad that you enjoyed your experience, as you well said; we are very proud doing our job, always looking for new opportunities to improve the service.
We look forward to welcoming you in some other occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our stay at Patagonia Camp was a really excellent introduction to the wild beauty of Torres del Paine and the surrounding area. Our yurt was amazingly comfortable (we had some pretty severe rain and wind one evening), our meals were first rate (we had the pleasure of meeting the Chef and exchanging recipes) and the vistas of Lago Toro are stunning. More importantly, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful – not only in arranging and guiding hikes but also in supplying ice for my wife to help her manage some lower back pain. If one does not want an extended excursion the Camp is also a beautiful venue for relaxing and taking a shorter day hikes. If you are going to be visiting in the near future you may want to inquire whether or not an August avalanche that has blocked a principal road into the Park has been cleared. Otherwise be prepared for some extended detours to get trail heads. All in all, though, we had a terrific experience at Patagonia camp and we would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Patagonia Camp, we are glad that you enjoyed and that you like our services.
We also want to thank you for your review to our Chef and for our staff; we are most happy to help our travellers!

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Tremendous guides. amazing hotel and fantastic service. This is a very beautiful place and the hotel and guides made sure we really got the most from our experience. Patagonia is beautiful everywhere but what is different is the excursions, the walks , the genuine wish from the whole team for you to enjoy your visit and above all, the time taken by the guides to help us understand the wildlife the terrain and to enjoy the trip.

I really enjoyed the walk up to the base of the famous Torres and would encourage more walks in this breathtaking wilderness.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear,

We are so glad that you had enjoy your stay at Patagonia Camp, and that you liked our beautiful landscape! Thank you for your review to our Camp and for the compliment to our guides and our services; we are most happy to serve our travelers!

We hope you had a great trip back home and we look forward to welcome you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The view from our yurt was mesmerising.The notoriously changeable Patagonian weather meant that the vistas over the lake changed constantly. The yurt itself was cosy (even when it snowed) and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food delicious. The park of Torres del Paine is fascinating. Our excursions allowed us to see; guanacos, condors, eagles, armadillos, skunks and rheas really close up. Our guide, Carlos was really interesting and fun to be with. Ideally it would have been perfect if there was more walking available from the camp without having to do the fairly long drive around the lake. The two suggested walks are very attractive and enjoyable. I would love to return in the future and would strongly recommend this luxury camp.

Room Tip: If you are a serious hiker it might be worth emailing ahead as the more challenging walks do not alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear,
Thank you so much for your comments; we are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay at The Camp, and also that you were delight with our services; restaurant, excursions and the Yurts.
We look forward to welcome you in the near future; the 8th wonder of the world will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I went with my girlfriend and another couple. We did not pay the All Inclusive Plan. And that was the biggest mistake of all. Our Yurt was 1 and 2, with no view of the lake because there are some trees blocking the view. For the excursion, as we did not pay all inclusive, we did not have preference so we couldn´t take any excursion with them. For dinner, we asked for 1 plate and I received the smalles beef I´ve ever seen. The 2 other tables (that where all inclusive) received a large piece of beef. The service was terrible (they where passing water to the other tables and didn´t offer us anything). The only exception, was Jose Luis. Great worker!
The yurts are excellent, but at night the wind is terrible, so you may woke up sometimes.
I wouldn´t reccomend Patagonia Camp unless you are paying All Inclusive. Is not worth all that money.

Room Tip: Pay all inclusive and you will have preference to lake view yurts. They say every yurt has a view, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laneri10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate constructive criticism because it helps us to improve our services. Regarding your review, we would like to let you know that all our travelers are very important to us and following our rigorous service policy we make no difference in the treatment. The whole staff work hard daily to satisfy our travelers and to create a great experience for them. Concerning the Yurts, our architecture was designed considering two important subjects: Take care of the environment and Give the privilege of having the Paine massif view, that is why all the yurts are facing to the same direction. Regarding the excursions to guests that booked on B&B basis, it is true that they are defined by our All Inclusive guests and are subject to availability, since they have confirmed in advance this service and the organization is done according to this. Once again we thank you for your comments and we sincerely hope you had enjoyed the beauty of Chilean Patagonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
6.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
809 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
452 reviews
27.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
452 reviews
21.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,155 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Property: Patagonia Camp
Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Patagonia Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Shore of Toro Lake in a region of extraordinary beauty, Patagonia Camp is the first luxury camp in South America with a chic collection of glamorous Yurts. The camp's 18 impeccable and spacious Yurts are comfortable and stylishly furnished, equipped with central heating, ensuite bathrooms and even views of the stars through a central window in the roof. Activities include kayaking, fishing, scenic tours, hiking and trekking in the Torres del Paine National Park, recently named The 8th Wonder of the World, only 15 kilometers away. The restaurant offers a variety of typical Patagonian food with a gourmet touch, such as King Crab, Patagonian Lamb, Austral Salmon and more! Patagonia Camp is a unique nature experience and a truly different and new concept of accommodation in a close contact with the natural environment and with great comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing