We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Patagonia Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Patagonia Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Patagonia Camp was the most unique luxurious experience that I have ever had. I only stayed one night, as I had pre-planned to do the "W" during the next couple days, but if I hadn't been on such a tight schedule, then I would have LOVED to stay another couple nights (or weeks).

PC is truly amazing/romantic/surreal/incredible/dreamlike. Yerts on the hiillside, overlooking the water and the mountains; luxurious in every sense of the word; friendly & informative staff; I can't say enough good things about this place.

My only qualm is that it was semi-difficult to navigate to using a map -- there is currently construction occurring from Puerto Natales to Patagonia Camp. The staff at Patagonia Camp sent very detailed instructions on how to drive to the camp -- without this, we may not have made it. Also, if possible, then I recommend driving to the camp during the daylight -- beware of potholes & animals (rabbits, etc.) on the way.

Room Tip: Each yert was comparable -- we had 3 yerts in our group, and all of them had amazing views of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbyJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    45
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
277
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Patagonia Camp property is beautiful. The yurt is very comfortable with air controlled installed in each yurt. Each yurt has private bathroom. The view of the lake can be seen from all yurts and from the dining room.

Since Patagonia Camp is situated outside of Torres del Paine National Park, the drive to most hiking trails takes about 1.5hrs or more although the drive is beautiful and comfortable. It just takes a lot of time to go in and out of the park on every excursion.

Food is alright, nothing exceptional. However lunch is well organized for field trips.

Service in general is inconsistent. Service in the dinner room is very good with Havier. Service at the front desk is poor. Complaints and requests communicated to the front desk did not seem to get registered and followed through. Front desk staffs seem to be inexperienced to take a complaint/question/request to proper department to get an answer back to guests. I received no response to complaints or requests I made. When I asked a question about transfer arrangement cost, the front desk staff just said I DON’T KNOW. Couldn’t he at least check with the main office to get an answer? There was no attempt to help.

Excursion guides’ experiences are also inconsistent. One guide is experienced, another one is alright, and one is very poor.

In the overall, the experience of staying in a yurt is fabulous.

Room Tip: All rooms have views. Room #16 and 18 are closest to the water. However they may not a good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Patagonia Camp. We loved the location just outside the Torres del Paine national park, the yurts, the food, the wine & the staff. For us, the glamour camping ("glamping") style was perfect for a romantic getaway in Patagonia.

From the moment of our arrival at Patagonia Camp, we were made to feel at home and that this was our trip to enjoy. The staff were very flexible and laid back in their approach, and often gave us alternative ideas of activities that we might enjoy. Our guide for day excursions was Francisco, who spoke excellent English and made a great effort to engage everyone in the groups.

During our 4-night stay, we had a good mix of weather. The first night was very windy and rainy, which made it very hard to sleep without earplugs (can request from reception). The last two nights were perfectly calm and we slept like baby guanacos. The food and wine from the camp was delicious, especially the lamb (frequently prepared as it is one of the biggest industries in the region), the home-made bread, and the wine (provided by a private reserve that only distributes to Patagonia Camp in Chile, the rest being exported out of the country).

Overall, Patagonia Camp is highly recommended if you want to try something different than a hotel, and the idea of glamour camping might be your style, too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Yurt #11. Great view, perfect distance from dining hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights in a dome with en suite bathroom. It was absolutely fantastic, warm as toast, comfortable and very relaxing. During our three days there we did the 'W' trek. This was hard work, about 50km in total, but absolutely fantastic with great guides who were helpful and informative. We were very lucky with the weather and had great views. We plan to go back and do the 'O' sometime.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just back from staying three nights in yurt 12 which has a great location close to lake. Had sunny weather and none of the famous Patagonian wind, so it was truly beautiful.
Plus points: yurt beautiful inside, warm and luxurious, fabulous view; staff helpful and polite; food above average, packed lunches substantial.
Things to consider - there is a long drive to most excursions/activities (2 hours each way to base of the towers hike), and be aware that a trip you may have your heart set on may not always be on offer when you are there, or may already have its quote of participants by the time you have your briefing on arrival. It would be useful to have printed details of each excursion rather than having them given verbally and be given more than 5 minutes to decide what you want to do the next day. I appreciate things need to be planned but after a five hour drive from Punta Arenas which many people have to do, it's rather full on to have lots of info within such a short time of arriving.
Having said that, there was flexibility when having had a very long day (14 hours out due to some participants taking 3 hours longer than others to complete the base of the towers), we asked for a half day option the next day instead of the full day options on offer, it was organised for us (lago grey) and was very enjoyable. So do ask if you're not happy with what's being offered.
Agree with other comments that a map of walks close to the camp would be very useful.
All in all however it surpassed our expectations and was an unforgettable experience - do go!

Room Tip: Ask for yurts close to the lake, away from the main building for the best views and tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieJ19058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This old lady had a wonderful time in Patagonia, but the hikes almost killed her. So, if you are in good shape, Patagonia Camp is for you. The food was very good, and the kitchen even made us gluten free bread options and was well informed of our allergies. Wine and mixed drinks were plentiful, and my daughter and I loved our yurt #8, which was, thankfully, the closest to the main lodge, so easy on the old knees. I loved seeing the stars at night from the "hole" in the center of the yurt. Pleasant dreams, but a problem for some if they hate waking up to sunshine.

Employees were very easy to work with, and I especially thank Magdalena for her helpfulness with food and drink. This is an environmentally friendly camp, and I was surprised that all electricity is supplied by generator, and the water comes from a glacier fed lake. There is wi-fi in the lodge, of course.

There were only two hikes to choose from each day, and I have to say, that when I opted out of the base of the towers one (too difficult) in favor of the condors, I was put in a difficult situation hike wise. (The guide had never been there before, so he was clueless as to the downward part.) We all survived, but I would not suggest some of these outings to old people. I certainly learned my lesson!

To sum it up, I am glad I had the experience, and this is a great place to rest from the rigors of hiking. Advice: Go before you are too old to enjoy the wonderful scenery and physical exertion required. And stay at Patagonia Camp, a unique, wonderful lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We decided to stay here for a couple of days after hiking/camping the W circuit. It was the perfect place to decompress. The Yurts were extremly clean and felt quite luxurious for being Yurts. The food (although not a lot of variety due to location) was very well done. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Wish we could have stayed even longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
6.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
21.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Property: Patagonia Camp
Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Patagonia Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Shore of Toro Lake in a region of extraordinary beauty, Patagonia Camp is the first luxury camp in South America with a chic collection of glamorous Yurts. The camp's 18 impeccable and spacious Yurts are comfortable and stylishly furnished, equipped with central heating, ensuite bathrooms and even views of the stars through a central window in the roof. Activities include kayaking, fishing, scenic tours, hiking and trekking in the Torres del Paine National Park, recently named The 8th Wonder of the World, only 15 kilometers away. The restaurant offers a variety of typical Patagonian food with a gourmet touch, such as King Crab, Patagonian Lamb, Austral Salmon and more! Patagonia Camp is a unique nature experience and a truly different and new concept of accommodation in a close contact with the natural environment and with great comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing