We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coziness at the end of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Patagonia Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Patagonia Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Coziness at the end of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

You stay here in a luxurious "tent". This is not your usual hotel. The tents are round and well isolated, well heated, tastefully decorated and with all the amenities and comfort that you expect. The roof has a transparent dome so you can see the stars from the bed. The view through the window, overlooking the Toro lake, with the Paine massif behind, is just breathtaking. When you exit your room you are outdoors and you walk on a wooden structure between the trees to go to the dining room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The drivers (five or so hours transfer from Punta Arenas and daily excursions) were careful and experienced. The spectacular scenery of the Torres del Paine National Park added to your cozy "tent", great staff and fine food, adds up to a memorable experience. If you haven't been near a glacier before, don't miss the navigation on the Grey lake (only extra thing we paid). The light trekking was not so light for us, but we had no previous experience. There is no cell phone coverage in the area, but there is Internet (wifi) in the dining room area. Be sure to take with you layers of clothing, trekking shoes, windbreakers, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    45
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
56
272
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this camp for 4 night. The yurt experience was amazing. The staffs were very friendly and highly accommodative. The meals and excursions were fantastic. They took into consideration the weather before planning trips for us which I think is great. No body wants to go and hike the base of the towers for 9 hours on a cloudy rainy day. We got to see the highlights of the park while coming back to the war yurts and hot meals. One day we had lamb dinner, which was out of the world. This facility is location on a beautiful turquoise lake side. Its just amazing to wake up to sunrise here. Loved every bit of our stay.

Room Tip: Yurt 17 and 18 have the best views although all of them are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm gluten intolerant and from the time we initiated our inquiries, through our 6 night stay, the staff at Patagonia Camp were wonderful. Before we booked, we asked online reservations if they could accommodate my diet restrictions. They responded by asking for a complete list of items that I can and cannot eat in addition to my likes and dislikes. Many times when I travel, this means the cooks tell me what I can eat, and what to avoid, but not at Patagonia Camp! Special bread and desserts arrived at my table at breakfast and dinner. They made rice pasta for me at one lunch at camp. Magdalena and Juan Luis were helpful and patient when I asked about ingredients of some dishes I suspected and cheerfully went to check in the kitchen to reassure me. I did bring Udi's french rolls to have for the 'sandwich lunch' on the two long hikes, which worked out wonderfully. I thanked the cooks personally and they said they did research and just learned to cook gluten free for my stay!

I disagree with a previous post that there is no hiking from camp. We chose to stay 6 nights to have 5 full days of hiking and we were not disappointed. We hiked Fauna Trail, Base of the Towers, Grey glacier, and French Valley. On the 5th day instead of a 2 hour van drive to a cave we did a 3 hour hike from camp to mirador Lago Bonita before lunch, then did a two hour hike to the waterfall after lunch. Although the excursions are more structured than we are used to, I would highly recommend Patagonia Camp. Guides were great.

As the guidebooks all say, the weather in Patagonia can change quickly. For our 5 days, we had two beautiful days of summer, then it turned cool and cloudy. The guides were attentive to the forecasts so we saw all the wonderful views.

Room Tip: As others have said some yurts have better views. We had 13 and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you can afford it, Patagonia Camp is excellent in all areas. Unless you are backpacking or want to stay in the only hotel in the park (very expensive, and out of place in my opinion) it is by far the closest facility to the park (20 minutes by dirt road). Located on a beautiful lake, the yurts were very comfortable and weather tight. The lodge/restaurant/bar were excellent---great food, wine, pisco sours and a comfortable lounge for wi-fi and a small library with books about the area, the flora and the fauna. Recommended!!

Room Tip: Yurts closest to the lake have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The overall concept of Patagonia Camp is excellent - beautiful setting, well furnished yurts and a luxury camping experience. Unfortunately it didn't quite deliver on the luxury side.

Our yurt leaked and despite 3 attempts to fix it, our sleep was interupted on 2 nights by a trickle of water from the roof onto the bed. To the hotel's credit they offered a free dinner as compensation, but I'd much rather a good night's sleep!

The shower had a problem in that the water was hot for 10 seconds, then cold for 10 seconds and the pattern continued (if this was a purposeful feature to give you the camping experience, I'd recommend getting rid of it!). Again the hotel tried to fix it, but throughout our six night stay the problem persisted.

On the first 2 nights we were there the heating didn't work. When we were able to finally get a staff member to come and look at it, the problem was fixed within minutes.

Perhaps it was a run of bad luck, but nonetheless it was very frustrating given the considerable charge for the rooms.

The other area that needs improvement is staff service. Some of the staff were very helpful, but others couldn't get the basics right - a classic example was when we were waiting in the common lounge area whilst our yurt was fixed I asked after an hour whether they knew how long it would be until the repairs had been complete. The response I got was a simple "I don't know", instead of "let me find out for you and is there anything I can offer you in the interim."

Other basics that could be incorporated to improve the stay would be;
- provinding umbrellas in the room (guests have to walk from the yurt to the dining room for dinner and given Patagonia's weather patterns it is often raining)
- providing guests with an overview of the property, services and activities offered, meal costs etc on arrival
- getting a map of the property (there are some wonderful walks around the property to a waterfall, lakes and rivers - a simple map would make it easier for guests to discover the wonders the property has to offer)

Despite the problems, the setting is beautiful, the views are breathtaking and the yurt is beautifully furnished. The location is also great and the perfect launching pad for visits into the Torres Del Paine National Park.

With some work Patagonia Camp could be an outstanding place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lake - yurts 10-18 have much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBR1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaManager, General Manager at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Many thanks for your recommendations, we are working on a map/brochure showing the routes and activities that can be done in the nearby areas of the Camp, we have just incorporated this season the Bed &Breakfast alternative and rescued all of our guest comments which will undoubtedly help us improve our services and our guest experience.
We are truly sorry about the inconvenient you had in your Yurt, on those days we experienced very strong winds combined with non stop rain, conditions that hindered the immediate solution, however we have taken all measures to prevent this from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were at Patagonia Camp for 5 nights, which was a bit unusual as we were told most people stayed for three, but the was plenty to do and we didn't want to leave at the end of it.The camp is beautiful and the location is perfect. The food is fantastic and plentiful, the box lunches were great! We enjoyed the outdoor picnics on the excursions. The staff were helpful and always plesant. The drivers and guides were very knowledgeable. We are not eaxctly "outdoor" types but there were enough excursions for us to explore the Park and see all the animals and scenery. The weather was fantastic when we were there with only light afternoon rain on two days. Also try the pisco sours after the excursions, they are great!

The transfer time from Punta Arenas is 4 - 5 hours and though the journey itself is fine, depending on your flight time in and/ out of Punta Arenas, this may mean waiting around for a while in town, so plan for this. Another thing to note, even for a late evening flight, the camp transfer time into Punta Arenas leaves at 8am. Aside from these, we cannot recommend the camp enough. It was a great retreat and definitely a trip to remember. Many thanks to the staff and all the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna_A_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The setting is stunning, nestled in the forest overlooking a lake and the towers of the Torres del Paine whose colour changes as the light moves across them. It is literally miles from anywhere (a four hour plus drive from Punta Arenas which itself is the furthest city south in Chile) and yet you are camping in luxury with central heating, hot showers and huge comfortable beds and Wi FI in your yurt if you are close enough to reception. All things considered, the food is good and plentiful. The guides are excellent and are ready to take you on various trails across the park and fill you in on the fauna and flora and the geology of this wonderful wild place. Yes, the wind does blow and it is not not the Ritz but the beauty, the exhilaration of the weather and the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff make it an unforgettable experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenWhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
6.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
21.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Property: Patagonia Camp
Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Patagonia Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Shore of Toro Lake in a region of extraordinary beauty, Patagonia Camp is the first luxury camp in South America with a chic collection of glamorous Yurts. The camp's 18 impeccable and spacious Yurts are comfortable and stylishly furnished, equipped with central heating, ensuite bathrooms and even views of the stars through a central window in the roof. Activities include kayaking, fishing, scenic tours, hiking and trekking in the Torres del Paine National Park, recently named The 8th Wonder of the World, only 15 kilometers away. The restaurant offers a variety of typical Patagonian food with a gourmet touch, such as King Crab, Patagonian Lamb, Austral Salmon and more! Patagonia Camp is a unique nature experience and a truly different and new concept of accommodation in a close contact with the natural environment and with great comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing