We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting, Great Facility With an Outstanding,Friendly & Caring Staff”
Review of Patagonia Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Patagonia Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile,AL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting, Great Facility With an Outstanding,Friendly & Caring Staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I spent five nights at Patagonia Camp earlier this month based on the great reviews I read on TA.
I could not have been more pleased with this choice. I knew up front that it was about a 20 minute ride on an unpaved road from Patagonia Camp to the Serrano River entrance to Torres del Paine National Park.
I made all my arrangements via direct e-mail communication via their web site. It was easy to arrange my on time pick up at my hotel in Punta Arenas and my on time drop off at the Punta Arenas airport to catch my afternoon flight back to Santiago.
As described by multiple prior reviewers the yurts at Patagonia Camp are unique and well appointed and the views out over Lago Toro are breathtaking.
I thought that the breakfast options were varied and well presented. There were two dinner options each night and each of the varied entrees that I had were delicious.
I have a specific significant food allergy and everyone involved with the preparation and serving of my meals was cognizant of my dietary restrictions and tasty alternatives were prepared specifically for my needs.
I went on walks each of the four days that I was there with two great guides(Mariano & Xavi).
Three of these walks were all day journeys and the lunch that was brought along was well prepared and the guides and drivers went out of their way to accommodate each guest's needs.
The concern and attention to the guest's needs at Patagonia Camp merits special praise from me. My mother developed a life-threatening illness that required hospitalization in the U.S. while I was at Patagonia Camp. I was aware that there is no cell phone service at Patagonia Camp but I was able to communicate with my wife easily and effectively using the computer in the main building that was available to me 24/7 and I could have used the satellite phone had I needed to. It also was made clear to me that if I had needed to leave for the Punta Arenas airport prior to my scheduled departure date(which fortunately was not the case) that someone would have gladly taken me a day or two sooner than planned. Everyone at Patagonia Camp was genuinely concerned about my mother's health and were happy to aid me in any way they possibly could through this troubling time.
When it was time to leave there was not a single additional charge added to what I had prepaid for this stay.
Everything that I had been promised was delivered on.
As my favorite philosopher Yogi Berra might say: You can't make a "wrong mistake" taking any of the outings that the knowledgeable guides at Patagonia Camp recommend to you. The wildfires last year made going on the Mirador Condor walk a poor option. I thought that the three full day trips I took to Lago Grey & Mirador Lago Toro, Salto Grande,Cascada Paine & Laguna Azul and the Porteria Sarmiento to Porteria Laguna Armaga walks were all terrific in very different ways.

Room Tip: All the yurts have great views. I stayed in #10 which was nearer the dining room. Yurts #17 & 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MobileResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    45
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
277
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at Patagonia Camp 15-17/11/12 & was stunned by just how beautiful the camp was. My Yurt (half tent-half cabana) was clean, luxurious & very private. The food is outstanding and the service friendly, timely & courteous. It's location is also handy for the park...I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edshepley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed 3 nights during November 2012 at the Patagonia Camp - a luxury yurt in a remote area north of Puerta Natales and 35 minutes from the Torres del Paine park entrance. We enjoyed full board, transportation to the park, long drives each day to special treks and spectacular mountains, glaciers and wildlife - birdlife, condors, guanaca, hares and a Darwin's fox beiing taunted by a meadowlark. Service at the Camp is top notch - during our stay the staff to guest ratio was about 1.5 to 1 (they could use more guests!), also the naturalist guides were extrremely knowledgable and helpful. We had a choice of excursions each day and the level of difficulty of the hikes could be selected. Be prepared for all four seasons of weather in the course of 4 days - constantly changing. We experienced sun, sprinklig rain and most amazingly, 50 mph winds with 60 + mph gusts. Dress in layers! Loved our cozy yurt with beautiful views.

Room Tip: Yurts # 17 and 18 are 77 steps down-slope from the dining and reception. Yurts #9 and 10 offer a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Really true Patagonia at Patagonia Camp. Amazing hikes with a beautiful view. Excellent service, transfers and delicious foods. Excellent guides with great options for excursions in the park Torres del Paine. Amazing!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcellus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, il USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were blown away when we arrived by the great service and a different kind of room. The yurts were a unique way to stay with great views and amazing sunsets. The hikes everyday were planned out the night before based on what you were comfortable with, the guides were very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. The best part of the hike was our sundowners before heading back to camp :) the food was awesome and the lamb roast was one of a kind. This was a great place to stay while exploring Torres del Paine, just a short van ride to the park. The weather changes on a dime there so layers are key! The wind is always blowing but that is all part of the experience. I highly recommend Patagonia Camp!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

the best place to stay if you want to visit torres del paines great views and exellent food
all the personal make you have a great time
recomended for everyone

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

As a marketing expert and brand developer I can say that visiting Patagonia is one thing, but experiencing Patagonia is a different story.

I have traveled many places and being inside nature, feeling part of its environment and being treated with fine details as an exclusive guest has been part of my objectives when I travel. In Patagonia Camp I found all of these three and more. As I said, visiting Patagonia is not the same as experiencing Patagonia through Patagonia Camp. Patagonia Camp gave me and my family the unique possibility of being “part” of Patagonia, experiencing its true value and magic from its hart, not just as an outsider that “looks and passes through”, but as a true member of this incredible part of the world.

In Patagonia Camp you are part of Patagonia; you live it and enjoy it in a different and unique way.

We can´t be more thankful for the true Patagonia experience that we all lived.

Thank you Patagonia Camp, we will be back.

Cristian, Paula, Diego & Amparo

Room Tip: All rooms (realy yurts...more than a room) are great. They all look at lake Toro with view to "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivanschitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
6.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
808 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
451 reviews
21.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
225 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
449 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Property: Patagonia Camp
Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Patagonia Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Shore of Toro Lake in a region of extraordinary beauty, Patagonia Camp is the first luxury camp in South America with a chic collection of glamorous Yurts. The camp's 18 impeccable and spacious Yurts are comfortable and stylishly furnished, equipped with central heating, ensuite bathrooms and even views of the stars through a central window in the roof. Activities include kayaking, fishing, scenic tours, hiking and trekking in the Torres del Paine National Park, recently named The 8th Wonder of the World, only 15 kilometers away. The restaurant offers a variety of typical Patagonian food with a gourmet touch, such as King Crab, Patagonian Lamb, Austral Salmon and more! Patagonia Camp is a unique nature experience and a truly different and new concept of accommodation in a close contact with the natural environment and with great comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing