We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
23
52
15
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
23
52
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle public bus walking distance outdoor onsen next morning one night rooftop futon kyushu mt facilities dinner ryokan baths
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2018

we stayed for only one night, the hotel itself was nice, although a bit old, our room was nice with a great view, very comfortable, the only thing that we did not like much was the smell in the room, it gave my husband asthma ( it smelled like a barn ), also opposite our room was 2 japanese guys smoking and their door was open and you can hear them talking, so it was no fun, none the less we were able to explore aso thanks to all the friendly staff who helped us. breakfast was great too.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROXYLADY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We have traveled to Mt Aso and stayed at the ryokan for one night only with breakfast and dinner included. By far this has been one of the best ryokans we have tried so far.
I think the best features of the hotel besides food are the onsens- rooftop or ground floor with nice views.

There is also a small garden in the courtyard

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank konstya625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017

We like the friendliness the host from the front desk. She welcomed us and brought us to our rooms, explaining features. Made us feel very welcome.
The breakfast was simple and okay. There are some nice restaurants nearby, (not walking distance).
Parking is ample and free.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alextZ3186PZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Medium size hotel with two indoor and two outdoor Onsen. The hotel inside the Aso town but covered by the mountain. Zen cafe just next door to the main gate offering local products and small bites. Very peaceful place to be.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank santhitit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Historic hotel with nostalgic like Japan. Excellent atmosphere, luxury luxury Japanese food, traditional hot springs, tasteful interior.
The specialty is a spectacular open-air bath on the rooftop.
Looking out from the castle in the sky, panoramic nature is a masterpiece. Impression!
Power spot where luck is up!

Room tip: On the upper floor "Premium class annex room = The Premium Aso Plaza" recommended
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TripEditorzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews