We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveler rating
189
330
134
29
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
330
134
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant eco room french colonial nice view standard room in town nice hotel central location breakfast buffet the river would stay again air conditioning travel agent family room stayed nights room was large bolaven plateau
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 690 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2018

Similar to most of the other reviews, I believe the Pakse Hotel is a very nice place to stay for a short visit. The hotel is fine, but there is little to do in the town itself.

The Pakse Hotel is an attractive old French Colonial that has 6 floors and a rooftop bar and restaurant. Check in was efficient, and they served a welcome drink. The staff was very friendly, but their English was rusty. Of course, it is Laos. The main street with lots of local restaurants was only about a 10 minute walk.

Our room, 501, was spacious and had a very nice view over the town. We had a comfortable queen bed and the room was nicely decorated. There was a flat panel TV and a very efficient AC unit. The room was a little dated but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and also very clean.

Breakfast was served buffet style and there was a lot of both Western and Lao options. There was also an eggs to- order station. No problems with either the quality or quantity of the food offered.

The lobby and hallways were also very nice with highly polished floors that accentuated the French Colonial style.

Bottom line is that I would certainly recommend staying at the Pakse Hotel.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018

We only stayed one night and booked an Eco room - which we hadn't realised only had a window to the corridor (but for one night it was fine). Room was very comfortable - working hot water and a/c. We paid $30 including a reasonable buffet breakfast. Fantastic roof bar with river view and sunset. Happy hour between 5 - 6 p.m. There is also a restaurant on the roof - but we didn't try it. There is not much going on in Pakse - it is a stopping off point for other things - but this hotel is a good safe bet.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sue_jewkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in Pakse Hotel. The room was nice and comfy, it fulfils the basic criteria for a budget stay. Free breakfast on a daily basis.

One thing is, there’s a note stating that we need not have a change of towels should we hang them on the racks provided, to help preserve the environment. For some reason, the towels were changed whenever housekeeping was done. Probably the management should look into this. It’s a small issue but if we can do a part by helping to save the environment, why not?

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Gordonlim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Only 1 night here, but Room 301 wasn't too bad. Lots of stained woodwork, terracotta floor tiles, yellow/beige walls...and a view to die for ! (see photo). Bed was firm, room was spotless, and everything worked. Breakfast was adequate, not extensive.Logistically well placed near Champasak S/Centre. Was easy to pick out as landmark.
Views from the Top Floor...particularly sunset were Outstanding. Pretty good value for the price IMHO.

Room tip: Rooms were better than Average...but very good might stretch it
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here twice (before and after doing the classic small motorbike loop!). Once in a standard, once in an economic room. The standard had a window but a bit so nice view and a very small queen bed. The beds in both rooms had one of the hardest mattresses we slept in for a long time, so that’s something to consider when booking. The cheaper eco room just has a ‘window’ to the interior and was a bit louder (sounds from adjoining rooms and the hall!) but the bed was bigger.
Staff at the hotel was outstanding and very friendly. Also, the rooftop bar and restaurant has a great view and nice staff.
Location of the hotel is perfectly situated right in the middle of everything but it is far away from the main road to be too noisy at night...

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank florianfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews