We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pakse Hotel is welcoming, comfortable and lovely.”
Review of Pakse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2009

I spent 7 nights at Pakse Hotel ~ in part on my own while my husband was trekking ~ and felt extremely safe in Pakse and happy to be at this beautiful hotel. My room was spotlessly clean and well decorated, and the rooftop restaurant was definitely the place to be in the evening. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 595 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2009

This hotel is in the heart of Pakse, just a stone's throw from the market. Our room was quite spacious and had a nice bathroom with a large tub. If you want to retire early, I would suggest not requesting a room on the top floor; we did and the restaurant on the roof was noisy with a party until they cut the music off at 11. The second night there was a large sound system set up on the street in front of the building next door that played unbearably loud music also until 11.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldLadyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at the Pakse Hotel. Stayed in a great room. Staff were very friendly and professional. We also organised a fantastic tour through the hotel to the Boloven Plateau (a highlight of our trip).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlashPacker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

After a night bus trip from Vientiane (11 hours drive) we arrived in Pakse Hotel at 7.30 am and we're shown 2 rooms which we could check into right after at 7.30am in the morning!!!
We choose the standard room, which we found was an excellent value for money, we had everything we needed, little fridge, air conditioner and the room was clean.

We stayed in Pakse Hotel for a total of 3 nights and get to know the manager couple who are really nice and friendly!!!

Don't miss the sunset on their nice rooftop restaurant/bar!!! Food is really good, especially the spring rolls!

We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Our travel plans meant that we returned three times to Pakse Having read lots of reviews of Pakse hotels we stayed at Hotel Pakse on our first visit but were disappointed We thought that it was overpriced

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valmobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were really pleased with our stay in Pakse Hotel. After a few weeks of travelling through the more remote locations in Northern Cambodia and Southern Laos, Pakse Hotel had all the amenities of a modern hotel.

The hotel's location was very good - near the centre of town and the market, plus several ATMs. Internet cafes and travel agencies were also a handy walking distance away.

The rooms were a little on the small side, but absolutely spotless and very comfortable. Cable TV was included, as well as wireless internet in the rooms. The WiFi was very fast and reliable - definitely a good option for internet access if you have your own laptop. Furthermore, the included breakfast was excellent - very much nicer than many buffet breakfasts we've had on our travels.

The staff were very friendly - excellent service.

The price was a little higher than we'd been used to paying, but it was worth it - plus we got a small discount due to the low season and a long stay.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel - it was one of our favourites in Laos.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Standard room with a comfortable big bed, extra pillows provided on request. eng TV = BBC World and Star Movies. Blackout curtain for only one half of the window.Floor mounted mini bar. Clean basic bathroom with minimal toiletries.Mediocre breakfast, basically eggs and toast or noodles.Dining room menu overpriced when compared to nearby restaurants. Complimentary but slow internet available in lobby, WiFi in hotel, high speed internet available at attached travel agency.Good location in town, approx 30000 Kip for tuk tuk to bus station for points north and 20000 Kip to bus for Ubon, Thailand.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMLBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
1.3 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#7 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
14.8 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 3 in Champasak Town
509 reviews
17.1 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#1 of 1 in Don Daeng Island
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakse Hotel

Address: Street No. 5, Ban Wat Luang | Champasak, Pakse 16000, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range: $23 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pakse Hotel & Restaurant is ideally located in the historical heart of the city. Pakse is your gateway to southern Laos. French colonial buildings, evening- and day markets, shops and services (banks, airlines, money exchange, ...), as well as Mekong and Sedon rivers are just around the corner from us. Built in the early 60's by the last Prince of Champassak, Chao Boun Oum, completely renovated in 2003 it now reaches International standards whilst the traditional colonial influence/feel is preserved. The panoramic restaurant atop the hotel has become meeting hub of the city, serving traditional Lao, Western and fusion food, complimented by great wines, cold beers and fancy cocktails. The restaurant is set in a wonderful open-air green environment, away from mosquitoes, air-conditioners and traffic annoyances. The view of the city and the Mekong from here is all but stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pakse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakse Hotel Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing