We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Stay!”
Review of Pakse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Stay!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The concierge, Monica, is fantastic! She could arrange anything you could image doing in Pakse or the Pakse area. Hats off to her!

The rooms were fine and there is high speed internet.

We enjoyed the roof top restaurant and breakfast which is included in the room rate was good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    276
    127
    27
    8
See reviews for
46
295
94
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Varde, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

First time I stayed at the hotel was 10 years ago. Over the years I have used several other venues, but I keep coming back to Pakse Hotel whenever I want to spoil myself a bit. It is a nice place to stay due to its tasteful interior, polite staff, cleanliness and undisturbed atmosphere. The views over the city from the rooftop restaurant are stunning.
On the other side, the rooms could use some thorough renovation. The breakfast is of surprisingly low quality for a French run hotel, and the whole thing is somehow overpriced. But still my first choice in this price range.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SebastianBehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is right in the center run by French , the buffet breakfast was so so and staff at the front desk was very welcoming. We booked a double room but room is small and a bit date and face to the back of the hotel but I understand they are in phase of restoration. The hotel has a roof top bar and restaurant that you can have a nice view of e city and river .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTaphrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Pakse Hotel is a really friendly place. The french owner , married to a Lao woman , is a nice person and all the staff is helpfull.
Even some rooms maybe be a bit small an without window , the comfort and cleanliness is here.
Have a diner at the roof top terrasse to fully enjoy the place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Echo chamber Hotel woul be a more appropriate name for this hotel. The hallways act as a big hollow chambers. Every noise and footstep is amplified. If you need a quite hotel do not stay here. The maids talk non stop and can be heard throughout the entire floor. The cheaper rooms have no windows and the air conditioning in theses room are old and noisy. The free breakfast is good, the staff is nice but if you can't sleep because of the noise it's all a big negative. Overall very disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room off the main hallway. At the end of the big hallway there a few rooms off to the right si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Pakse s not really a tourist place. Hotel has an old fashioned feel. Room was nice enough. Lacked tea/ coffee making facilities. Amazing views. Good location. The panorama roof top restruant is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitchat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Asia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am staying at this hotel for an extended period. I feel at home. The staff are very helpful and always smiling even when dealing with busloads of tourists.....sometimes two double deckers at a time!! Free wi - fi is available. Desktops are available near reception. No printing facilities but this can be done 2 shops away. A safe is at the front desk.
Breakfast is included in my room rate and can be enjoyed on the entrance veranda (where , unfortunately, smoking is permitted) if you don't want to eat in the dining room.
The room I am staying in has an external window. Internal room windows open onto internal corridors. Ac is very efficient but a little noisy in one part of the cycle.My room is very clean, has a tv and desk.
Fresh white linen daily adds to the appeal.. A laundry service is available
The rooftop garden is very relaxing and a nice place to enjoy an evening meal or drink. The pumpkin soup is to die for and the pizza is freshly made and good.
My room doesn't have an iron or tea/coffee making facilities but two free bottles of water appear daily in the bar fridge. There is a range of room prices and these extras may be in more expensive rooms? Papers are available in several languages but most books to be exchanged are in German or French. Have English speakers stopped reading??

Very welcoming, very clean, centrally located and not far from the rivers, wats, markets, coffee shops and restaurants ,tour providers, recommended massage salons and banking facilities, Hotel Pakse is a very pleasant place to stay a while.

And across from the police station if you want to extend your visa :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
1.3 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#7 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
14.8 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
505 reviews
2.3 mi away
Champa Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakse Hotel

Property: Pakse Hotel
Address: Street No. 5, Ban Wat Luang | Champasak, Pakse 16000, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pakse Hotel & Restaurant is ideally located in the historical heart of the city. Pakse is your gateway to southern Laos. French colonial buildings, evening- and day markets, shops and services (banks, airlines, money exchange, ...), as well as Mekong and Sedon rivers are just around the corner from us. Built in the early 60's by the last Prince of Champassak, Chao Boun Oum, completely renovated in 2003 it now reaches International standards whilst the traditional colonial influence/feel is preserved. The panoramic restaurant atop the hotel has become meeting hub of the city, serving traditional Lao, Western and fusion food, complimented by great wines, cold beers and fancy cocktails. The restaurant is set in a wonderful open-air green environment, away from mosquitoes, air-conditioners and traffic annoyances. The view of the city and the Mekong from here is all but stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pakse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakse Hotel Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing