We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Champasak Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We paid $60 for a VIP suite which was a huge room with all modern facilities but the best feature was the terrace that surrounded it on the 3rd floor with a panoramic view of the city. We sat on the seat provided outside our room and watched the sunset and at dawn watched the monks leave the nearby Wat to collect their food for the day. We ate in the hotel and the food was fairly mixed-we had Laotian but it included inedible duck and fish-in our experience the local food was usually good. We also made the mistake of ordering Laotian red wine -it was awful-should stick to Lao beer. It didn't interfere with our pleasure but the hotel seem to cater for Thai bus parties who come across the nearby Mekong bridge for dinner parties. Well worth the money for the fabulous views from the roof top suites

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    84
    64
    34
    10
See reviews for
25
80
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night after staying in Champasak itself and it was a return to civilisation!

The building is amazing, a veritable wedding cake and easy to see that it used to be a palace. We opted for a $40 room as the cheaper ones were all booked thanks to BKK airport being shut. It was fine. Big, comfortable but a slightly odd layout due to doors at both ends. A bit noisy (well not soundproofed) thanks to a tour group departing at 6AM. It wasn't palatial luxury but it was pretty good.

It was great to be able to sit out on the verandas on each floor and to go up to the top floor to check out the views. Use the glass lift for spectaculor views....

The breakfast buffet was OK - not wonderful and probably not up to the standards you would expect of such a plush looking place.

The staff were friendly and kept our bags for us until we caught the mid afternoon international bus to Thailand.

Would echo the top tip of eating at the Delta Coffee place opposite.

  • Liked — The setting and the building
  • Disliked — Noisy early morning tour groups
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze_Cassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed for just one night, but were impressed with the overall level comfort and service. Had BOOKED one of the VIP Suites for $60US, amazed at the sheer size of the suite; the dressing room alone was as big as some guesthouse rooms we've had, and fully kitted-out with dressing table/vanity mirror, suitcase rack, umbrellas, scale, large armoire with robes/slippers, safe. Nice bathroom with amenities, separate shower and bathtub. Spacious sitting area with loveseat, water heater and proper tea pot, good quality local green tea (but instant coffee), large executive-style desk, huge TV and very comfortable bed/linens. The scale of everything here is BIG. I took a walk around the verandas on our floor and some of the upper floors, very spacious and open, fantastic views over Pakse. OK breakfast buffet, but otherwise did not eat in restaurant. Delta Coffee across the street has good, cheap food--extensive Thai menu (mee krob was excellent!) and pizza/pasta/sandwiches. Hotel relatively quiet while we were there. Great splash-out for the end of our time in Southern Laos.

  • Liked — spacious suites, great value, fantastic views!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CunningMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

A converted palace reasonably close to the town centre, perhaps a 6-7 minute walk to the market but I walk quickly. I took the suite on the top floor for $55 a night and it was beautiful. The breakfast and food generally were good with great deals on wine [for a hotel]. At night there were restaurants close by but no bars or shops and the town closed down at 10pm ish. The hotel had only 5 TV stations all in Thai or Lao.
In short the hotel was great but the town was VERY quiet!!!

  • Liked — Classy hotel. A converted royal palace ..what else do you expect?
  • Disliked — TV stations minimal and all in Thai or Lao
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
183 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

A palace for 35$US a night. Best hotel we stayed in Laos, esp in terms of value.
Staff very helpful. Rooms large, comfortable & quiet with good views.
Excellent Asian breakfast.

  • Liked — Excellent breakfast, great value. Just across the road from Delta Coffee
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

As our bus was driving into Pakse after a grueling 12+ hour journey from Vientiane, we saw the Chamapasak Palace lit up on the hill. When it was confirmed that it was where we would be staying that night, people started cheering. Seriously.

You have to take things in context. This is a remote part of a 3rd world country, and it's a true palace that was intended for a king. Some parts of the hotel are truly impressive, other aspects are definitely 3rd world basic. We stayed in standard rooms for about $35 USD per night, and they were pretty much what we expected for $35. They had all the standard hotel amenities, a decent sized room, and a nice hot shower.

We did get bumped to the second building when we extended our stay, and I would avoid that building in general. Also we stayed in rooms 203 and 303 which are directly above the public restroom and there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom at times. Everybody else in our party was thoroughly pleased with their rooms, and we peeked into some of the suites when doors were propped open and they looked to be pretty nice by any standards.

It's definitely worth staying just to walk around the grounds and enjoy the fact that you are staying in a true palace for a bargain price.

We also tried the karaoke bar across the street. It's strictly a locals-only type of place, we felt out of place, couldn't understand anything, and definitely got some strange looks from people, but people smiled and were nice to us, and even gave flowers to the girls in our party (it was around Valentine's day). Definitely a unique experience.

  • Liked — It's a palace!
  • Disliked — Smell in some rooms, dumpy second building
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed here one night and wished we had stayed longer. We had the room with the king bed. Supposedly there is only one king room at the hotel, and it is supposed to be the biggest one in the complex. It was definitely the biggest room I have ever stayed in: the sitting room was bigger than most hotel rooms and the bedroom was even bigger than the sitting room (bedroom had its own sitting area and office area). The bathroom was also nicely done with black marble/granite. The view of the Se Don river from the private patio outside the room was also spectacular - very peaceful.

We did a day trip to Wat Phu Champasak and didn't get a chance to check out the city. However, after a long, hot day, it was wonderful to come back to such comfortable accommodations. We had dinner at the Delta Coffee restaurant across the road - the pad thai was amazing!

Champasak Palace hotel was simply spectacular and I highly recommend booking early and asking for the king room. No pun intended, but it truly must have been the King's room!

Happy travels.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean, great value
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
0.5 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
583 reviews
1.0 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 15 in Pakse
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
14.7 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Champa Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champasak Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champasak Palace Hotel

Property: Champasak Palace Hotel
Address: Road No13 Ban Prabath, Pakse LAO PDR, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champasak Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Feel experience once in your lifetime at the real palace of King Boun Oum" the last king of life in the southern Laos. The palace was built in 1969 and has a main 6 floors building that combines French colony and Laos style. It is elegantly located in the heart of Pakse district the capital city of Champasak province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Champasak Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champasak Palace Pakse
Champasak Palace Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing