We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Princess for 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Champasak Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Springsure, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Princess for 2 nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

It was really as a conversation piece that I chose to stay there- as well as a good deal through agoda. I think most everything has been said- spacious rooms, clean, wi fi even in my room (3rd floor), great views. On the down side- was told the hotel driver would take me to the airport the next day but the next day he was " at school" , breakfast fried eggs were cute in star and heart shapes but stone cold, Tea only Luke warm 2nd day, cold the first, grounds need a lot of work. But as I said, I really only wanted the experience of princess in the palace and the reaction from friends and family. I got that! So down sides are minor.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    81
    64
    33
    10
See reviews for
25
79
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous with manicured grounds, large clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice showers with hot water, and a very good breakfast which is included. Our room was clean and quite spacious. The comfort of the bed was especially good. Free wifi is included but is not dependable. We found the staff rather indifferent and the hotel somewhat overrated for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadhogdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
330 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

But on the outside and at the lobby it looks like maintenance has been done a looooong time ago. Here is a great chance for an big international hotel-chain to re-create that old colonial grandeur again in the fast growing city of Pakse

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangNoi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pakse hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Champasak Palace Hotel in Pakse for two nights. We were booked in a queen suite room. It turned out to be a separate building on the 4th floor which accommodated only two rooms. Our room was very large and nicely furnished. The only negative was that the windows were covered by wooden shutters without any screens. So, we had to rely on the air-conditioning and weren’t able to open any windows due to the many insects in the area. The hotel serves breakfast to order in its restaurant. The restaurant is open (i.e., vented windows without screens) and you can choose to sit inside or outside. There are small shops within easy walking distance. If you want to walk about three long blocks (leave the hotel and turn right), there is a small store on the same side of the street as the hotel called the “Friendship Store.” It sells beer and snacks at very reasonable prices if you want to bring something back to the room rather than eat at a restaurant. The hotel sits on a hill and, from a distance, it looks like one of the many temples in the area due to its varying roof lines. From the 4th floor terrace, you can enjoy great views of the town, a river and nearby hills.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Everything about This hotel is good except the breakfast. The originsl palace built for the King in 1970 was convered to s boutique hotel in 2004 and is dhowing the signs of wera but great experience.

Try not to have the buffet breakfast as it is terrible Order an omelette for breakfast which is reasonable and coffee and bread is Ok. I paid an extra used 25 to get a very large suite. It is worth paying a bit extra to stay on the fourth floor. Only 60 Usd for a very large well decorated atmospheric room. Try 406 the balcony surrounds the room and is bigger than the very large room and adequate bathroom . This place is part of history and although the Pakse hotel and Grand may be more modern do not miss this experience. They staff try hard to please
Just be a little patient and don't expect too much . There are a few good restaurants within walking distance. Na Dao for French food Daolin for Lao cheap and cheerful and the Panorama on the top of the Pskse for Thai and international. Best atmosphere for restaurants however are the seafood restaurants lining the banks of the river
Not as good ad Thailand but not expensive
And some good Laos dishes. Try Lao sausage sping rolls and Steak Lao but set your expectations low and you may be pleasantly surprised. Pakse is a good place for a short break but make sure to arrive early at Chong Mek and take USD for your visa. I had to pay 1500 baht instead of USD
36 and you either pay or don't get in

The bus twice a day from Ubon at 300 baht is the best way to get to Pakse from Thailand It ihas air con old but safe but only runs morning and 3 30 pm.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We actually wanted to go to the Champassak Grand Hotel but booked the wrong hotel... Even though the Champassak Palace hotel looked very nice from outside (it was a palace built by a Prince and changed into a hotel), it is not that nice at all inside.

The bedroom was large and clean, with air conditioning, but there were no windows (except from one opening on the terrace, accessible to all guests).

Staff at reception were smiley but they were unable to help... They did not speak English or any other non Lao language, except from one or two people who could speak a few words. We asked them for advise on transportation and sightseeing: they organised a car rental (with driver) which ended up to be very nice, but they were unable to give us information on buses, mini-vans and other tours we could do. It was quite frustrating not to be able to communicate.

We were also unlucky enough to have one night there when there was a party downstairs... so it was quite noisy.

They offer WIFI but it only works at reception, next to the modem.

Finally, breakfast is not the best one... It's mostly with Asian food, which is at least typical, but it's a bit of a shock when not used to it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosefr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We just wanted to get away from things for a couple of days and Pakse seemed to be just the place. I had seen the palace under construction in the 1970s so was keen to stay at the hotel that had arisen from Prince Boun Oum's grandiose dream. A very attractive low season price was available.

The hotel is certainly different. Huge, spread over three main wings and four storeys, all rooms back on to wide verandahs that provide really nice views over the Sedone river or Pakse township with the Mekong behind it. We had the hotel virtually to ourselves for the first couple of days and roamed the hotel inside and out taking photos and admiring the vistas. It was very enjoyable

The room we had was fairly standard, but perfectly acceptable. It was really a 4 star room. I've given an overall 3 stars because the services and catering only warranted that many. Staff were lovely, but not very informative. We were able to get information we needed about excursions and return transport options from samlor (trishaw) drivers and a fellow traveler. Reception didn't have a clue, and there was no tourism desk. Breakfast was adequate and service very pleasant. There weren't enough guests to have a buffet, but the a la carte was swift and acceptable. The last morning catered for a large group of Vietnamese tourists on their way to Thailand, so an extensive buffet was put on, but it was all Asian food.

I'd like to give the hotel more than 3 stars as it had such a nice feel to it and the staff were so relaxed and pleasant (we both speak Lao, so that would have helped, I guess), but the hotel, other than the rooms themselves, is run down and neglected. I would stay there again, probably because it feels like the Laos I used to know - slow, a bit shabby, but oh, so charming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krungsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pakse hotels
0.5 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.0 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
1.4 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 15 in Pakse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.8 mi away
Champa Residence Hotel
1.2 mi away
Mekong Paradise Resort
Mekong Paradise Resort
#10 of 15 in Pakse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champasak Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champasak Palace Hotel

Property: Champasak Palace Hotel
Address: Road No.13 Ban Prabath P.O.Box 718, Pakse LAO PDR, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champasak Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champasak Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champasak Palace Pakse
Champasak Palace Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing